We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is nice...but twice the price nice?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Orchha Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It is nice...but twice the price nice?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Perhaps I'm too harsh, but given that this was the most expensive of the hotels we stayed in India (by far!) it by no means lived up to expections.

For a start the room (a luxury tent, technically) was no cleaner than anywhere else and the room was not made up during our 2 night stay. Amenities were good with TV, fridge, relatively inefficient AC but a perfecty adequate fan, then some portaloo-type bathroom installations. The room would have probably been better if the shower didn't overflow every time and flood the 'bathroom area'. Looking at the curtains that separate the 'bedroom area' it certainly wasn't the first time this problem arose and as we were only staying 2 nights we didn't pursue it.
Breakfast was fine - as expected, a buffet affair, full of tour groups, nothing special.
Maybe it's the tour group atmosphere that sucks the life and the character out of this place? And doubles the price of beer??

Redeeming features: the beautiful cenotaphs just behind the hotel that were visible throughout the hotel complex. Swimming & relaxing at the pool.

I suspect there are better value options in beautiful Orchha, closer to the main attractions, but it's a small, peaceful village and this place is OK.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    178
    101
    29
    22
See reviews for
70
176
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on my trip around India.

The hotel i would recommend getting the deluxe room and including breakfast in your rate. My room was great size the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The pool area is a nice place to relax which is what we did as we had been travelling for a few weeks and visiting friends.

In regards to location Orchha is just really a couple of streets with restaurants and is really safe to walk around at night as their aren't too much transport after 10pm.

I was thinking about staying in one of the tents are this resort and another but having seen and heard about them from other quest im glad we booked the hotel.

Make sure if your a couple and need a double bed you email the hotel we put notes in our Agoda booking and the hotel couldn't see them until we showed them the voucher. Its a quick email to them to make sure you enjoy and get what your after.

The Spa isn't that great at the hotel and needs to be improved so be aware and go in a different city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLifeofTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
190 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Slightly run down small hotel with a good pool and excellent (vegetarian) food. It lies next to some of the monuments and is only some three hundred yards from the village centre. The staff were not the friendliest or most efficient that we came across in India but there was nothing particularly wrong with the service. I would happily goback there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our edition of "Fodor's Guide to India" characterizes this property as a "fine resort". We disagree. My wife and I stayed at this property for 2 nights last week. We found the room unclean, saw dead mosquitoes on the bathroom walls, and the staff was not particularly helpful or friendly. The only memorable experience was that the doorman saluted us when we entered the lobby and a fellow came out of nowhere to play the flute at the entrance. We couldn't wait to leave the place. The Orchha Resort is a subpar property, in our view, and compares unfavorably to other properties we visited in India. We would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orchha hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We booked the Swiss Tents which turned out dusty army surplus tents and basically uninhabitable. We were "upgraded" to rooms at no charge but the rooms were small and poorly maintained. Their location near the kitchen made them loud and somewhat smelly. Buffet breakfast was large and fairly tasty.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
0.2 km away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.2 km away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#4 of 9 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.2 km away
Bundelkhand Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
2.8 km away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#7 of 9 in Orchha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
12.4 km away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchha Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchha Resort

Property: The Orchha Resort
Address: Kanchanghat | Distt. Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,313 - ₹ 5,654
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Yatra so you can book your The Orchha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchha Hotel Orchha
The Hotel Orchha
The Orchha Resort Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing