We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like being home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lago Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lago Villa
Ranked #2 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Bhopal
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
“Just like being home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I spent three days at the Lago Villa in late January. I went by the reviews on Tripadvisor because it sounded right. And my experiences confirmed the reviews. Staying there is just like visiting a friend and shacking up in a spare room. There's adequate privacy, even a little patch of green to call your own. Lovely views of the lake too. The bedroom and the washroom are clean and well equipped (as you'd expect at home, not in a five star hotel). There's wi-fi in the room. Great home cooked meals with the option of dessert extras. I tried the chocolate eclairs which were great. The best part are the conversations with the host, Gaurav Khattar and his family. Very friendly people. Quite recommend Lago Villa to anyone who wants a break from faceless hotels

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HariMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
21
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I was influenced by the reviews in tripadvisor to choose Lago Villa. I should say that it went beyond my expectations. I was on a MP history tour with two 11 year old boys ( son and nephew )

First about the facility - The location is nice and easy walking distance to the state museum, Indira Gandhi tribal museum and Bharat Bhavan. The rooms are large, with excellent view of the lake and the furnishings comfortable. I stayed in a ground floor room where you could step out into the lawn facing the lake. The toilets were big, u see this in few hotels / home stays, and clean.

Now about the hospitality - Gaurav Khattar is the very hospitable man and was genuinely interested in the well being of the hosts. Since my train was late he stayed up till late in the night and served us dinner when we came in past 11.30 pm. He has tie-ups with some good taxi services and was able to arrange our local travels in a very good manner. The food, though limited in spread, was wholesome and delicious.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShyamSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was my first trip to Bhopal as an independent traveler. Whenever I travel, what I miss most is coming back to a homely atmosphere at the end of the day. Therefore, I decided to look at home stay options and chanced upon Lago Villa. The website captures the charm and appeal of 'The Lago' and influenced my decision to stay there.

The Khattar family is extremely hospitable. They are a sociable bunch and integrate you effortlessly in their lives. Staying with them is like being with family and you tend to forget that you are a (paying) guest.

Gaurav is an attentive host and can assist with any local sightseeing arrangements if required. My stay was very pleasant. The Lago was the right choice for me and will be for you too if you are looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanthi_kasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We decided on Homestay during our family Reunion trip.We took two rooms at Lago Villa for four days in November 2011. Both room were spacious, comfortable and clean with an adjoining dressing room and marble bathroom.Gaurav arranged taxis for us to pick up from airport. Special thanks to Gaurav's Mom for excellent and delicious food 3 meals a day. Our daughter had a great time with Nysha ( Gaurav's Niece ) & Jinny (Gaurav's Pet). Once more THANKYOU Gaurav for making our family reunion so special.
I would recommend Lago Villa without hesitation for a family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj2009_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Staying at Villa Lago and meeting Gaurav Khattar and his family in this wonderful three-generation household was exactly what we had hoped for and more, when we decided on Homestay, being interested in getting to know people and finding out more about India. We felt very much at home yet had all the privacy and comfort we needed. All our requests were met, help and assistance provided readily, questions answered, conversations welcome. The home-made food was varied, excellent and healthy and the service discreet and efficient. Gaurav is a master-communicator and the week we spent at Villa Lago, with its beautiful and very convenient location, the warm family atmosphere, very considerate and attentive hosts could not have been more agreeable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopi990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhopal hotels
1.3 km away
Jehan Numa Palace Hotel
4.0 km away
Courtyard Bhopal
Courtyard Bhopal
#1 of 41 in Bhopal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
12.6 km away
Hotel Amer Greens
Hotel Amer Greens
#6 of 41 in Bhopal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
WelcomHeritage Noor-Us-Sabah Palace
5.5 km away
Hotel Grand Ashirwad
Hotel Grand Ashirwad
#12 of 41 in Bhopal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Lake View Ashok
Hotel Lake View Ashok
#8 of 41 in Bhopal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Villa

Property: Lago Villa
Address: 17 Lago Villa Shamla Road Bharat Bhavan Road | Close to CM House, Near SBI - State Bank of India, Bhopal 462002, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bhopal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Bhopal
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,384 - ₹ 4,061
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lago Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The villa is centrally located at Shamla Hills - a stone's throw away from the majestic sprawling Upper Lake. Parked smug like a lion’s den by the lake, the bungalow offers the most awe-inspiring & refreshing views of the Upper Lake, the flourishing verdant hills across and the minarets crowning the largest mosque of Asia. The bungalow is near most tourist attractions of the city. Whether your stay is for a day or a month - every moment spent here inspires a thought to reflect upon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla so you can book your Lago Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing