We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets in Hampi guest houses”
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanthi Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Hampi guest houses”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

All accommodation in Hampi is simple, unless you go to Boulders which is way out of the way from anything. Shanti is on the other side of the river...the calmer side. For £10-£20 a night it is as good as you will get. The food was excellent, the staff helpful and the views simply magnificent. I'd spend the extra money and get one of the front facing rooms with the relaxing swing hammock/seat in front of it to while away some time.

Sure the bathrooms are basic but you just need to be mindful of having too much expectation of Hampi in this area as it's all about the place itself. Get a scooter, go driving around, go down roads through villages and see the smiles of the kids faces...the monkey temple, go swimming in the lake and then come back and chill out at Shanti and enjoy the views. I'd also recommend you go to Goan corner to eat dinner one night. The lovely Shamilla has a team of amazing cooks and her deserts are to die for.

Room Tip: Get one by the front for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    118
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
90
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We were a group of 7 people and stayed at Shanthi Guesthouse for 2 nights (Dec 16-18) in the river facing rooms. Pro:
- Lovely ambience, You can sit out on the swings in front of the room, and keep gazing at the lovely paddy field & mountains beyond for hours.
Cons
- Food is not that good (again, the ambeince is) I would suggest trying out the different eating options in Hampi Island. One that I would recommend is the roof top restaurant of the Laxmi Guest House.
- Electricity cuts
- Rooms not soundproof at all. I could easily listen to my friends talking in the other room in the night.

Though I would definitly recommend staying on the Hampi Island, rather than Hospet simply so that you can soak in the hippie influence, and the chilled out atmosphere- hunt around, you could definitely find other guesthouses at cheaper rates.

Room Tip: River facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParomitaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We chose this guesthouse based on favorable reviews in Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor. This place may have once been a good choice, but its days are over! Although we reserved in advance, the room we was noisy, since it was next to the restaurant, near the street and across from the television that the staff plays loudly most of the day. The rooms are filthy and run down. To add insult to injury, the staff was rude and insulting. When we complained about the room, they told us to get out and threatened to put our luggage in the street, although we had already checked in. In the brief time we were there, we saw several guests engaging in shouting matches with the abusive staff. They are living off of their past glory and take advantage of high season tourism by jacking up their prices and giving terrible service. With so many places to choose from in Hampi for roughly the same amount of money or less (such as the lovely Mowgli just next door), why subject yourself to the dangerous wiring (see photo), dirty rooms, noise and abusive staff at the Shanthi?

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are the best, but the staff will most likely lie to you in order to get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Lovely setting and very chill but watch out for bedbugs! Stayed in room number 10 and friend and I were covered with bedbugs after our first night. Complained to management but they said they were mosquito bites...yeah right! As we had another night there as we were part of a tour they said they would "clean our room properly" and to stay in it. We refused and got a different room.

Very nice setting but a bit overpriced especially considering there was not hot running water.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 10 -- bed bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Shanti is across the river, which is a good spot to be in Hampi (I found the bazaar side a bit tiring).
Accommodation: thatched huts on the rice paddies with nice verandas for relaxing. Hardest beds ever but not sure you'd get better in Hampi. Bathroom also not the cleanest, but liveable.
Food: safe bets, nothing amazing but a good variety for the Western palate, reasonably priced
Service: good and friendly service, offer internet facilities and arrange taxi pickups etc

All in all I think its a good spot to be if you're in Hampi (there really isn't much in the way of upscale accommodation there)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
5.7 km away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.4 km away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 km away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 km away
Murali Guest House Hampi
1.9 km away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Property: Shanthi Guesthouse
Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,817 - ₹ 2,011
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Shanthi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi
Shanthi Guesthouse Hampi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing