We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Explore Hampi - Day Tours
from US$ 53.34
More Info
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
122
10
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
10
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage tour village life bullock cart india guide knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My parents and I did both the heritage and cultural tours during our stay in hampi and we enjoyed them both considerably despite the heat! Basava our guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to ensure we had a good experience. Both tours were well organised and comprehensive. Definitely recommended!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

This complex is a well kept secret. Unbelievable ruins best appreciated with the insights provided by a tour guide. The stone sculpture and sheer volume of masonry is mind boggling.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank theonebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Basava was an excellent host and guide during our short time in Hampi. Explore Hampi took care of everything for us.
One day was honestly not enough to see the ruins of Hampi, but our tour guide Basava did a fabulous job of organizing the most important and interesting sites into a full but do-able day. The tour included all the transportation from the station, around the sites, and back to the station in an auto-rickshaw. Basava offered to buy us coconuts as refreshment (which he said is like Coca-cola to Indians) and sugar cane juice. We also opted for the optional lunch and boat ride add-ons. I can say that the fabulous lunch they organized sitting in the shade of one of the ruined stone buildings and looking over the gorgeous landscape was one of the highlights of the day.
We had some (understatement) difficulty with booking train tickets on our own, so Explore Hampi also assisted in booking our transportation. When our bus to Hampi was cancelled, they had re-booked for us and sent new travel details within 20 minutes.
Explore Hampi also organized a room to freshen up before and after the tour and arranged meals for us at a local's home. My husband and I both agree that her meals were among our favorites of the entire trip to India. Thank you all for your hospitality!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Rebekah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We joined the Explore Hampi tours as part of the HeritageRun group. I did the Virupaksha complex, Achutraya temple and the Vitthala temple tour the morning after the run. The Explore Hampi team was very caring and would actually call you around the meeting time to check if you could find the place, if you needed anything etc. Basava gave us the most interesting information about the sites we visited. It was fascinating to see the temples, the landscape, the ruins through his eyes. He would point out small details that most people would just walk past. What I really liked about the tour was that they let us take our time. We were not rushed and Basava was very understanding about the group's needs. His levels of patience were amazing!

I realized you need a good 3-4 days on either side of the river (Hampi side and Hippie Island side) to even get a taste of what this beautiful place is about. Glad that there are passionate people like Arjun and Basava and Explore Hampi that do justice to the place.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Disha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Both Arjun and Basava offered deep insights about the history of Hampi. I am out of words actually. Hampi is so vast, it is virtually impossible to navigate hampi without guidance. Highly recommend it!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank aseembits93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews