We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings: probably better value elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pushpa Guest House & Vista Rooms
Ranked #41 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have very mixed feelings about Pushpa. Raghu, the owner, is a friendly chap, but he tried to charge me Rs 1,000 per night on arrival, when in my confirmation email he quoted Rs 850. He was adamant that he hadn't quoted the lesser amount, something I could easily disprove when I showed him the email. He reluctantly backed down but asked for three nights' payment in advance, which isn't really the done thing.

The rooms are super basic but are cosy enough - there's no way you'd pay Rs 1,000, though. If you turn up without a booking, absolutely do not accept this rate - you'll regret it. I stayed in the downstairs room which had very little natural light and a single fluorescent tube light, so it was a little cell-like. The hot water never rose above lukewarm, but the WiFi is consistent. If you're having trouble connecting it's probably because Raghu has changed the password, which he does every other day, without telling the guests.

It's not all bad - Pushpa's location is great; right in the middle of Hampi village and a stone's throw from the some of the main monuments and the best restaurants. Security isn't an issue here, and the family who live on the ground floor are lovely.

One other word of warning: avoid Prince, who works in Raghu's travel agency around the corner from the guest house. He is introduced to every guest as a guide and will give you the hard sell - not great if you've just got off an overnight train or bus. Myself and another solo traveller agreed to go halves on a half-day sightseeing trip of the Royal Quarter after Prince bigged up his services massively. When he met us the next morning, he introduced us to a 19-year-old rickshaw driver who spoke very little English, who turned out to be our guide (Prince claimed he had to go to the bank). The 'facts' we were given during the tour were totally false - some were so laughable that it made the tour quite enjoyable.

In hindsight, I'd probably shop around before settling for Pushpa. There's better value to be had north of the river, from what I saw.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsciousCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Right in the centre of the village, Pushpa Guest House has four rooms on its terraced first floor.
Immaculate rooms with mosquito net, hot water and fan and AC if necessary.
Ragu , the owner, is dedicated to his guests' well being and who will help you in getting train or bus tickets.

Room Tip: Room n° 4 is the biggest and has its terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Pushpa is situated in the bazaar and the terrace is a great place for watching street life from selling peanuts to milking the cow! Pushpa has 4 rooms and is a very safe place to stay. The ensuite rooms are basic, with mosquito nets, but are clean, Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dahabtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Pushpa Guest House in heart of Hampi Bazar in April 2013. The guesthouse has 4 rooms housed on the rooftop with a large balcony boasting great views over the village and its activities. This is a family run business operated by an honourable and generous spirited family. The facilities are basic, but the experience is the richest you will find. To stay amidst this community is a privilege. Support these people, they are struggling against authorities who day by day are bulldozing yet another piece of this amazing village.

I am very shocked by the previous review as our experience was the complete opposite and we arranged yuk-tuks, guides and private transport out of Hospet for prices comparable to other operators in Hampi.

The location is ideal and just around the corner is the fabulous Mango Tree restaurant, relocated after being bulldozed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivaTravelcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The owner has a bad memory particularly when it comes to prices. We wanted a guided tour for which he wanted 800 rupees for each person, that is 2400 rupees for three people. A privately arranged tuk tuk was 500 for all three of us. His prices for buses out of Hospet was double the price we paid to another agent in the next road and the worst part was when we came to pay our bill the room rates had mysteriously gone up by 250 rupees per room per day. We had an uncomfortable fifteen minutes discussing the matter while all of his family joined in. A horrible experience. We stood our ground and paid the agreed 850 rupees per day.
If you use this Guest house be very careful and get your room rate in writing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3 km away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
10.3 km away
Hotel Priyadarshini Classic
0.8 km away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#4 of 44 in Hampi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#5 of 44 in Hampi
228 reviews
0 km away
Vicky's Guesthouse
Vicky's Guesthouse
#30 of 44 in Hampi
72 reviews
3.5 km away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pushpa Guest House & Vista Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pushpa Guest House & Vista Rooms

Address: Hampi Bazar, Hampi 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: ₹ 1,538 - ₹ 2,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Pushpa Guest House & Vista Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pushpa Guest House & Vista Rooms Hampi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing