We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #10 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

We reached at 5 am and were a little disappointed however when we woke up the view of paddy fields and stream greeted us which was a treat to the eyes. Breakfast was good with good hosts. Room is small and ok ok but felt it was overpriced but the view is great. The spa deserves a special mention and is fantastic. Try out the oriental reflexology. Overall a nice place to be right the heart of hippie land.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Krishnanand_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

I almost left a 5 star review, but the wifi really let the place down.

We stayed in a very clean room for 800 Rs for 3 nights. It came with a nice new hot water shower (solar hot water so only very quick showers!) and toilet, fan, vanity, two single beds put together, two mirrors and one power point.

The restaurant Little Italy has the best menu and food in the area!! They have beer if you ask for it.

We rented a bike for 300 Rs. per day, you might be able to haggle down to 200?

When the wifi was working it was very strong and fast.

Laundry is 10 Rs per piece.

Downsides: Inconsistent wifi (big issue as there's no 3G reception), our door was stiff and hard to lock from the inside, the power socket fizzled at times.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

We drove down to Hampi from Bangalore and the owner of the guest house was kind enough to allot us rooms one day early as we reached in the night. The guest house is one of the biggest in the area, with sufficient parking place. Cottage rooms are comfortable and food is good, but only North Indian and continental food is available. Suggestion: please improve lighting in the rooms and bathroom.

Stayed: January 2015
1  Thank bhagira99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

River view was awesome and you also get a swing with every cottage. But size of cottage is very small. Garden view cottages are even smaller and that too without a wash basin. In river view, wash basin is in room instead of bathroom.

Room Tip: Go for river view cottages and ask for bigger ones, also have set breakfast in resort only but bewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shubhamsoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Mowgli guesthouse has a great location across the river from the bazaar, its quite quiet and has lovely views over the rice fields. The rooms are nice little cottages with a hammock outside,and they supply a large mosquito net - maybe they could do a little more for mice/rat problems though (obviously it can't be helped with the location). They do okay multicuisine food with lots of choice in a nice outdoor area, though sometimes the smoke blows over it from the oven which is quite annoying. The main reason I rated it average is because the service is pretty poor - the reception I'd always a shambles and they take forever to get anything done (like fill in arrival forms or check out). They also didn't really help us with any questions we had about the area. I'd expect better service for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank snoffekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
5.7 km away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.5 km away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
215 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#8 of 43 in Hampi
128 reviews
0.8 km away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#4 of 43 in Hampi
282 reviews
2.0 km away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: ₹ 1,890 - ₹ 2,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Mowgli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi
Mowgli Guest House Hampi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing