We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant service”
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I dint stay at the Mowgli Guest House but ate lunch at the restaurant on the day I was on this side of the river.

Had ordered pizzas and a few non-alcoholic drinks - pretty tasty and value for money. The view was great as the restaurant overlooked miles of green rice fields ...

Place was clean and service pretty prompt.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divisri20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Mowgli Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here in June 2012, and it turned out to be amazing. The rooms are good for the amount of money paid. If you are travelling during season time (November - February) better to book the rooms in advance. The rooms were pretty alright, they had a double bed and a ceiling fan and a table fan. The first morning we didnt get hot water but when we complained we got it in 15 minutes. The view from the hotel balcony where the swing is, is amazing. The cool breeze which blows when you are sitting outside is very refreshing. Its only couple of minutes walk from the river and right next to the paddy fields.

The only let down was there was no generator and there were a number of power cuts at all possible timing. Even though there was a table fan, which runs on Solar power it didnt help much when the power went off at 2am. Also, the food in the restaurant is alright, there are several other places within a 10 minute walk which serve much better food.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which has the swing on the outside, also the rooms facing the paddy field have the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakirmeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed in the cottages along the river with the swing bed. The highlight of our stay there was sitting there every morning and evening with the cool breeze coming off the river. It was a nice place to observe the "action" in the rice fields and just relax. The cottages themselves are clean, but small. There is no space to put an extra mattress, so if traveling with kids it may be better to stay in the rooms (which had bamboo chairs on the verandah and good views as well).

The food was good, and the location of the guest house is also OK. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the boat (at the pace of a small child). We were happy we chose to stay across the river since it was a nice place to be with the rice fields and river breeze. We arrived at Hospet in the evening and the guesthouse arranged for a car to drive us there the long way. It took about an hour and we chose to return the same way since the boat and auto route seemed too complicated with two youngish kids.

The main negative point we found was dealing with the management before arriving. They took days to reply to emails (if at all) and didn't often answer my questions. Since we were arriving at the possible start of the monsoon I wasn't sure if the boats would be operating (we had traveled there before when the river was a raging mass of water!). After several emails we finally established that it is only later in the monsoon that the boats stop.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The best way to have a beautiful expierence with the hampi tour and the best homely place to stay is to stay in the mowgli guest house.
the rooms here are of south indian style(huts) with a sleeping chair in the front.
there is a good cool wind from the tungabadra river which makes a pleasant environment.
the rooms are installed with solar power which is eco-friendly
i stayed in many hotels but never experienced such a great feeling that i have experienced in this restaurent
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel
The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home
i liked the sleeping bed in front of the hut which is the best relaxing spot
i recommand everyone to stay in mowgli guest house

Room Tip: take the rooms at the back of the restaurent to have a grat experince with the river and hanpi city...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This guest house comes very close in a lot of ways to being good if not excellent. The rooms are big and quite nice, the views are great and the food at the restaurant is ok. But what really lets the place down is the completely missing in action management. Everything that you ask gets the reply "I'll have to ask the boss", who is rarely if ever there. Simple things like late check out, organising taxis, laundry etc all have to be referred to the boss who seems to show up for about 10 minutes a day. The boys working there seem to be trying their best but have no authority to answer anything on their own.

When we did eventually meet the boss (on day 5 while checking out) he didn't say one word and just handed us a bill. No hello, no thank you for staying, not even a break down of what the bill was actually for. The whole experience really turned me off this place and I wouldn't recommend this to other travelers.

It must also be noted that this guest house is on the other side of the river to the temples and requires you to rely on a group of exceptionally lazy boat men.

Room Tip: The huts overlooking the rice field have a great view, but watch of for bugs and snakes.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
5.7 km away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.5 km away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#14 of 43 in Hampi
258 reviews
0.8 km away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
281 reviews
0.3 km away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: ₹ 1,867 - ₹ 2,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Mowgli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi
Mowgli Guest House Hampi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing