We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Hampi”
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed four nights at Mowgli, and by far this is the most scenic and beautiful resort in Hampi. It is the otherside of the river, but if you want to relax and chill out after a hot days sightseeing this is the place. You must book the best rooms, ours was no 19 and overlooked the emerald green rice paddies and river, with gorgeous sunsets complete with front porch swing. Don't cheapskate and make sure you go for the more expensive rooms and you won't regret it. The staff were all very friendly and the food was of a high quality, but again order Indian not european, as it will not taste anything like home, whereas the Indian food was good. It is also very clean kitchen and I had no worries about eating here. All in all a fantastic place to enjoy the joys of Hampi. Don't do Hampi in two days, stay 3 or 4 nights to get the best out of it.

Room Tip: Room 19 or 20
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossybear665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Mowgli Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at the Mowgli Guest House for four nights. I had planned to only stay for three but the relaxing atmosphere was too good to resist. The rooms were clean and tidy and really well priced. The staff were fantastic - very friendly, only too willing to help and provided good advice on the area.

I ate here every night because the food was so good (try the Vege Jalfrazi) and made fresh right in front of me. I will never forget staring across the ricefields as the sun set behind the boulders reflecting bright red off the river. I really enjoyed my stay here and was sad to leave.

Room Tip: Aske for a river view - the sunset is worth paying a little extra for!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Probably the best view you get, north of the river in Hampi. Very friendly people working in the restaurant, fresh food, clean kitchen and fair prices. Nice and shady garden, amazing sunset every evening!! Peacefull, clean and friendly place :) We definately enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms to the left of the kitchen
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mira Valentina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My boyfriend and I and some friends, all in our mid-30s, and one friend's parents, stayed at Mowgli this week for 5 nights. I felt compelled to write a review as I was impressed with the value we experienced for the price we paid (Rs 1000/night). The beach huts are simple, cozy and well-kept, the food (prepared by Dinesh and his talented and extremely accommodating team) was fantastic, and the service went above and beyond (the owners and staff, including Winder at the front desk, were exceedingly helpful on several occasions). The location was very convenient for us; about a 10-minute walk from the ferry from Hampi Bazaar. Every evening, we got a couple of cold Kingfishers from the restaurant and retired to the swinging hammocks in front of our rooms, watching the sun set over the rice paddies before heading back to the restaurant for dinner.

Hampi itself can be on the tourist-y side, especially for those who haven't come to party it up, and we particulary enjoyed having Mowgli as our refuge from the madding crowds.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had rooms 22, 24, 25 and 26 and they were all great.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceC1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed at Mowgli for one night and two days with wife and had a wonderful experience.
Excellent location. just 5 minutes walk from river crossing area and well connected by road to Hospet.
The guest house itself is very clean and kept very spiffy. The service staff are couteous although the owner sulks and growls a bit.
The food is very nice and reasonably priced. Try their Israeli dishes and pizza.
We stayed there for a night and were very happy with our room which overlooked the paddy fields. Felt at one with nature. Very nice view from our first floor room.
We are very happy with our stay at this Guest house

Room Tip: Definitely try the river view rooms or cottage. Very nice view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
5.7 km away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.5 km away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#14 of 43 in Hampi
258 reviews
0.8 km away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
281 reviews
0.3 km away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: ₹ 1,867 - ₹ 2,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Mowgli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi
Mowgli Guest House Hampi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing