We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Guided, India's Own Mini Tibet Mcleodganj- Culture Tour
10

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Library of Tibetan Works and Archives
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020

This place preserves all the history of Tibet be it in the form of texts or sacred tibetan manuscripts . Its gives a good glimpse into the olden times

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Sightsee737349
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2019

Excellent library of books and recordings as well as museum of precious items saved by individuals when they fled Tibet. Also a bookshop selling the books they published.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2019

We visited this venue with a guide who was able to provide more information about the books. There are nice postcards and books on sale at very god prices. The museum upstairs is beautiful and worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

I went to Library of Tibetan Works and Archives. With artifacts and manuscripts that date back to the 12th century, the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives is one the pioneering institutions in the study and research of Buddhism. It is great place to go.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Footprints727663
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2019

While visiting "Little Lhasa, we had the opportunity to go to the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives that houses thousands of objects that had been hidden away from the Chinese upon their invasion and ultimately transported over the Himalayas by pack mule and upon people's backs. These have been houses in a climate controlled building and painstakingly restored and placed on display. These include ritual dress, masks, mandalas as both two-dimensional paintings and three-dimentional works of art, scriptures and photos of Tibetans in worship and traditional life work.

We were able to secure special entrance to a locked vault room where a monk-librarian showed us boxes of manuscripts and hand-painted scriptures wrapped in muslin cloth for protection. He proceeded to unwrap one so that we could view the unbound individual pages. He also obliged us with the reading and translation of a passage in the sing-song Tibetan language that is the only language with diacritical markings (letters) that provide sound to the text.

We were most appreciative of this honor which is not usually extended to foreigners much less anyone else other than researchers and educators who come to study the texts on site. This was the highlight of our visit to the archive center. However, the museum type displays that are open to the public are well worth the visit

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Marvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews