We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Guided, India's Own Mini Tibet Mcleodganj- Culture Tour
10

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Library of Tibetan Works and Archives
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2014

this is a place full of knowledge. you cont go around and finish viewing around in just one day. learning the language felling the spirituality wondering the art and lot more to go...place to know all and even more

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank lakshmikandappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Great collection of photographs of buildings and architectural features in Tibet and the Himalayan region

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank roshan2975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The Library of Tibetan works and Archives is a beautiful building complex, nestled amonst the Tibetan Government in Exile buildings in the area called Gankyi, halfway between lower Dharamshala and McLeod Ganj.

There you can study Tibetan language, Buddhist Philosophy or Hindi language with incredible teachers for very low prices.

The main building also houses an extensive library and a shop which sells books published by the Library. They've newly built a beautiful museum in the main building which is definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank Ascetylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are visiting Dharamshala and interested in Buddhism, I would highly recommend taking/joining the classes on Buddhist philosophy at the Library!

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank SarjuSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A visit to the Linrary of Tibetan Works and Archives is a wonderful way to learn about Tibetan Buddhism, enjoy seeing the masterpieces of Tibetan painters and statue-makers, admire the scriptures that were saved from China's descent into insanity and experience how the exile community reconstituted its institutions to preserve their culture and way of life - and the teaching materials and wisdom inherited from the great Indian Buddhist monasteries of the past. There is a nice cafe - Nechung - and a canteen, and the nearby monastery of the State Oracle, Nechung, is well worth a visit too.

Date of experience: March 2014
3  Thank Tica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews