We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Guided, India's Own Mini Tibet Mcleodganj- Culture Tour
10

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Library of Tibetan Works and Archives
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
14
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are visiting Dharamshala and interested in Buddhism, I would highly recommend taking/joining the classes on Buddhist philosophy at the Library!

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank SarjuSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A visit to the Linrary of Tibetan Works and Archives is a wonderful way to learn about Tibetan Buddhism, enjoy seeing the masterpieces of Tibetan painters and statue-makers, admire the scriptures that were saved from China's descent into insanity and experience how the exile community reconstituted its institutions to preserve their culture and way of life - and the teaching materials and wisdom inherited from the great Indian Buddhist monasteries of the past. There is a nice cafe - Nechung - and a canteen, and the nearby monastery of the State Oracle, Nechung, is well worth a visit too.

Date of experience: March 2014
3  Thank Tica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This library contains very good holdings, very informative and authentic collections. If you have interest in knowing history of Tibbet or Tibetans, this is the most appropriate place to visit.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Aaditya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The library is a treasure -house of Tibetan art, history and Buddhism. If you want to develop a deeper understanding of what you see from outside this is the place to visit. Not surprisingly they also have a lot of books on various aspects of China ranging from art, history, society, politics etc.The main library closes early at 5 pm and the smaller one around 7 pm. It is located in a fairly large compound with main building housing the library and offices. Invariably Buddhism marks it's presence with different type of stupas constructed all-around the main building each with it's own philosophical symbolism.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank Joy_Ghosh_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2012

An eye opener. You will get to see the the true Tibetan culture here. Again approach is the problem, a steep and narrow road to climb.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank VillaSantushti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews