We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally beautiful !!”
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Totally beautiful !!”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

What an amazing place with the most fantastic views...... the service, the food, the accommodation and the views were exceptional !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWWKWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
50
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Although the lodge is one of the cheaper options when visiting the mountain gorillas (you can opt for 5* - at a price) we were amazed by this place. we had one of the private "tents" (canvas sides, corrugated iron roof) which came complete with proper beds and en suite facilities. Meals were communal and although basic and with only 2 choices the food was wholesome and filling. There was also dormitories for those on a smaller budget but all tents and dorms were well spaced out giving you a real sense of remoteness. We were really lucky with our gorilla trekking as we only had to walk for 5 minutes - the troupe was making its way down to the lodge & apparently its not unusual for the gorillas (and other wildlife) to take a stroll through the grounds. This is a basic style accommodation but its very well run, the staff are really friendly and the food is good and plentiful. We really enjoyed our stay here and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsgbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge has a breathtaking location. The views from the main area and the individual bandas are stunning. It is an eco-friendly lodge, which may take some getting used to, but isn't really a hassle given the environmental benefits. Of all the places we stayed at in Uganda, this lodge had the best service. The staff were friendly and paid attention to the details (including a hot water bottle to warm the bed). The food was excellent, especially given the remote location. I'd commented on a beautifully carved box in the main area, and the staff arranged for one of their colleagues to pick up a similar box in Kampala for me, which was really nice of them. I'd highly recommend this lodge (and the company Volcanoes Safaris).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sennenhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

At first glance, this was the best Volcanoes Eco-Lodge we stayed in, out of the 3 of them. The scenery is breathtaking, the rooms are spacious with lots of natural light, the bathrooms are nice - spa like eco-shower anyone?, and the common areas are gorgeous - fireplace, huge stone veranda overlooking Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and plenty of sitting options to gaze at your beautiful surroundings. We walked the nature trail down to the river in hopes of seeing Gorillas because they are known to show up and hang out by the water. Breakfast was very good every morning - perfectly brewed coffee, if you prefer it stronger than most or weak, ask and you shall receive, nicely toasted breads (with Nutella), tasty hot porridge, amazingly sweet fruits and freshly-squeeze passion fruit juice, and the eggs are almost shocking yellow-orange because they are so fresh. As for dinner, I wasn't so impressed but I don't eat meat and the cooks didn't know how to accommodate a vegetarian. I found out later that if I let them know before hand that I was fine eating local food, they would have served me what they eat, which is mostly vegetarian. Instead they tried to make food for a Westerner and didn't know what to make for me, aside from overcooked veggies. But the homemade soup and fresh rolls were perfect every night.

As with all Volcanoes Lodges, they are powered by solar electricity and use environmentally friendly practices, i.e. no running water. But these lodges do not lack in comfort or service. The staff is super friendly and so very accommodating. At night they will escort you back to your room with a lantern and they are happy to share stories with you about their surroundings. But beware of the cockroaches that will happily greet you upon arrival in your room at night. Keep in mind you are in an eco-lodge, in the jungle, by the equator so bugs could be part of your experience. I wasn't prepared for this because somehow, I just didn't think bugs would be IN my room so I screamed a little bit when there were 6 very large cockroaches on the wall of our beautiful little hut like room. The first night, I wasn't able to sleep because I was so freaked out. I highly recommend using ear plugs in this place b/c the sounds of nature at night are loud and could interfere with your sleep especially if you are afraid of bugs (like myself) and think every noise is a bug coming to get you! But the second night there was only 1 bug in our room and I took a sleeping pill, and slept through the night.

I also recommend going through your bag like a fine tooth comb in the morning outside on your deck because these bugs will gladly hitch a ride home with you. I shook 3 of them out of various bags (including the toiletry bag) but one of the girls we met while traveling brought one home with her, all the way to Missouri!! Aside, from the bugs, the lodge is gorgeous, the staff is hospitable, and you can't beat the surroundings. But it would be nice to have some bug spray on hand!!

For photos from the trip check out our Flikr page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nitsujmai/
If you have any questions about this property or others in Rwanda and Uganda or gorilla tracking, please feel free to contact me. I HIGHLY recommend traveling with Volcanoes Safaris for gorilla tracking, they are local and really know how to make your trip a once in a lifetime experience!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelGirlBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Bwindi Lodge was fantastic. Beautiful setting, very comfortable room and excellent food. Everyone on the Bwindi staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They made you feel very much at home. The lounge area is a great place to relax and admire the view of the Impenetrable Forest. The bird-watching on the grounds of the lodge was superb. We saw a huge variety of birds just sitting on our front porch. The lodge property extends down to a river and there is a very nice walking loop. We only have 1 minor complaint about the lodge. Our drinks were included in our package, however, one evening we invited some friends from another lodge over for a drink. We were shocked to find that a beer or a glass of wine was $7.50. That seems wildly excessive. Drink prices aside, we would have been happy to stay at Bwindi another couple of weeks. One suggestion - there is an orphange about 5 minutes away and at 5pm every day the children put on a song and dance show. It is really quite good and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.4 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.5 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
11.4 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.7 km away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 km away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Property: Bwindi Lodge
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the primeval Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge offers a truly unique Uganda jungle safari experience. Separated by nothing more than an idyllic stream, the gorillas themselves are frequent visitors to the finest lodge in Bwindi! The adventure lodge in Uganda boasts eight bandas facing the forest canopy, each with a private terrace from which you can spot wildlife, including chimpanzees, mountain gorillas, and monkeys jumping from tree to tree mere metres away. Each room in our gorilla safari lodge has en-suite bathrooms and the eco-luxury comforts are all provided in eco-sensitive ways. A cosy fireside bar and lounge in the main building offers the chance for you to relax while sharing stories of your gorilla tracking experience with other guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing