We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 300
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bwindi Forest Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 98
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Bakiga Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 36
US$ 19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albertine Gorilla Campsite(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 60
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$ 465
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$ 1,175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$ 1,265
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buhoma Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$ 560
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
135
22
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
22
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolcanoes safarisimpenetrable forestgreat night's sleeplets talkhighest level of serviceincluded hotcommunal dining tablenational parkhot watercomplimentary massagesafter darkriver walkday safariindividual bandasthe main houseevery morningwake up call
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lodge was great -- akin to most of the upscale lodges you find on safari in South Africa, Kenya or Tanzania -- hot water bottles in the bed, butler service, mosquito nets, free laundry, large suites, meals and drinks included. Beware that the showers are fun on solar power so you could run out of hot water after dark. We worked through Volcano Safaris and they organized the gorilla permits and ground transfers from the airstrip in Kahihi. Note that the transfer is about 90 minutes and on a very bumpy road, but well worth it and fun to acclimate to the local cultures and villages as you drive through them. There are only eight cabanas there and each is thoughtfully named after one of the gorillas in the 14 families that live in the park. On the days you don't go trekking, you can get a message, visit the team plantation or take a trip to neighboring waterfalls or forest hikes. The meals are served at a large communal table and you order your breakfast and dinner in advance. Usually a choice of 3 western meals and one local meal. Special shout outs to Ronald, the property manager, Fred for his great tour of the tea plantation, Adolf our butler, Anne the server for all of our meals, and our amazing driver who was with us the entire time (sorry, can't remember his name). The gorilla trekking experience is not to be beaten by anything but maybe the Great Migration. The rangers and trekkers are so knowledgeable and they let us stay with the gorillas about an hour and 15 minutes. Luckily for us, we only had to trek for about an hour. That said, be sure to get a porter for $15 to carry your day pack, water, etc. and to help you up and down some of the slippery parts of the path and the vine and grass covered machete clearings. Two of the babies in the Rushegura family actually came up and touched me. It was the most amazing experience ever. And absolute MUST experience.

Room Tip: There are only 8 cabanas and all are near the central lodge where pre-dinner drinks, game playing and meals occur.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travellingellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear travellingellen,

Thanks a lor for your amazing review, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Bwindi Lodge and that you could find the same level of comfort that you could find in luxury lodges in other popular safari destinations in Africa. Thrilled to read that you also had a great gorilla experience and that our wonderful staff took such great care of you, we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the whole team!

As a company sensitive to sustainability, solar power is used at all lodges for heating and electricity. If weather conditions are not allowing this, our staff is happy to provide hot water buckets to guests' bandas.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back at Volcanoes lodges soon

Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Adolf & Anne, in particular, took such wonderful care of us!!! The team there was amazing & we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the lodge. The trek with the gorillas was well worth the permit fee & coming from Bwindi Lodge, we were the best prepared for the treks with great gators & packed lunches.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but you can get 2 with a fireplace.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolculshawp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear carolculshawp,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bwindi Lodge!

Thanks also for the compliments to Adolf and Anne, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to them and the whole team.

Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here whike going to the gorilla trek.
Stuff is amazing. Food is very good.
Complimentry drink wine massage.
Excellent massage
Rooms are so big &comfy.
Good Wifi.
Get your gopro for the gorilla trek. As well as good hiking shoes. Pents. Rain coat.
Enjoy!

We just loved it!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nira k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nira k,

Many thanks for sharing your kind feedback with us, we love to read that you have had a good stay at Bwindi Lodge.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed for four nights at the Bwindi Lodge which we can highly recommend. It is a two minute drive from the park. The main terrace and communal living room are fantastic with stunning views of the forest and a great selection of interesting books about wildlife and Uganda. The staff are very friendly, young and well-trained and quite fun (they did an African dance with singing as a birthday surprise for a guest) . We had a luxury room which was very comfortable and charming and were assigned Adolf as a personal butler who was very helpful. The food at the hotel was very good and everything was perfectly co-ordinated for Gorilla Trekking with our friendly driver Robert Volcano Safaris. The hotel masseuses are excellent . We particularly liked the fact that our fllthy boots were cleaned each night. There is very good internet coverage in the communal areas but none in the rooms. Unlike the main terrace / lodge the rooms do not have views of the forest. Things to improve would be having more than one key per room and supplying hairdryers in each room.A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Richard T,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your stay at Bwindi Lodge, we are glad to read that you have had a good time and you have enjoyed all aspects of the Volcanoes experience, as well as your gorilla tracking!

Thanks for your suggestions, we will make sure to pass on the comment to the team and have more than one key per room. We do supply rechargeable hairdryers in each room for the comfort of our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming back at Volcanoes lodges again!

Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

I can’t give it a good enough rating amazing views saw monkeys and a million birds just sitting in the main room staring out to the Forrest Between our knowledgeable driver Joseph to our amazing butler Francis I felt like an absolute rockstar it was like they could read our minds the duty manager approached us at least twice a day to make sure everything was ok only bad thing I could say is they fed me way too much food! I admit I was a tad apprehensive coming to Uganda especially being so close to the Congo but not once did I feel unsafe definitely coming back only did the gorillas and there is sooo much more to see

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lucite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Lucite85,

Thanks a lot for your kind review, we are happy that you have enjoyed your experience at Bwindi Lodge and its incredible setting just bordering the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest!

We are looking forward to welcoming back at Volcanoes lodges!

Best wishes
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews