We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for seeing the gorillas ”
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Bwindi Lodge for 2 nights in October 2017. An amazing place to stay if you’re going to see the gorillas. Nearest park entrance and Bwindi village are within walking distance. Lodge itself is beautifully presented, with stunning spacious rooms and lovely attentive staff. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

One of the best lodges we have been to. Located on the forest near the gorilla park. The lodge has good well trained staff, and the room are very clean, well spaced and well managed.
The food, prepared well and served on time. The night was incredible as we looked forward to the gorilla trekking the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cedricemboma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We were met at the Kihihi airfield by Robert, our guide and driver for the whole stay, who took care of our luggage. There is an hour and a half drive to the lodge itself, but Robert kept things interesting with information on the area we were passing though.
On arrival, we were offered cold drinks and refresher towels, whilst our luggage was transported to our Banda. We had Mama Bwindi (each Banda was named after a different gorilla from the area), which was spacious and comfortable. We were well looked after by Joseph, our butler for our stay, who organised our meals, wake up calls and laundry (complimentary). In spite of their own website, there was a power point in the room with a power board to charge all the usual electronic devices, so there was never a need to charge at the main lodge.
Every morning, Joseph would wake us up with a cup of tea and biscuits, before having breakfast in the main lodge. With trekking days, the lodge would prepare a packed lunch, then Joseph would proceed to carry our packs up to Robert. Just before departing to the Park (less than 5 minutes away), staff would fit gaiters over our boots. Robert always ensured we had sufficient water and walking sticks if we needed them.
After the trek, staff would take our boots away to be cleaned, to be returned after dinner.
The communal dining table was a great place to compare notes on the trek taken.
The Banda we had was spacious and comfortable, with quality toiletries and plentiful bottled water (tap water was deemed not potable).
It was heartening to see the lodge supported several local community projects, putting money back into the area.
Tip: Ask your guide to negotiate a trek suitable for your ability. And use your guide if you are walking around the village so you’ll not be hassled into buying things.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PHL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Words cant fully describe Bwindi Lodge: On arrival you are blown away by the modern country chic decor, it simply feels like home- A beautiful home. The staff charm you with their warm smiles, they are literally excited to host you. Our dinning experience was simply Unique; A banquet setting, Visitors to the lodge come as strangers but leave as friends, The Chef fed us to an exquisite dinner, the surprise at the end was entertainment from the lodge staff. The rooms were elegantly redecorated too and with modern charming elements and lighting. I would recommend this lodge for a mid range client who wants to have a luxury experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluey256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I can't say enough about Bwindi Lodge - the service, the lodging, the surroundings, the food, the staff - they all were incredible. From cleaning our boots after gorilla trekking to offering free massages it doesn't get better than this. I loved sitting in the common area after a hike and drinking a glass of wine or just getting to know fellow travelers (or falling asleep for a pre dinner nap). The food took me by surprise and ended up leaving behind all the protein bars I had taken with me anticipating I wouldn't have enough to eat! Agree with other comments that the photos provided on the site do not do it justice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
18.5 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
104 reviews
0.4 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
11.4 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
235 reviews
11 km away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
166 reviews
21.7 km away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#5 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the primeval Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge is the finest luxury lodge at Bwindi. With dramatic intense views of the forest canopy across a serene stream, it is one of Africa’s unique properties. The gorillas frequently come to relax in the verdant bush around the lodge! The lodge is perfectly located for a Uganda jungle gorilla tracking experience. The lodge boasts eight large bandas facing the forest. Each of the guest bandas has a sitting area, a terrace and an en-suite luxury shower room. The main living area has a central fireplace which acts as a focal point for guests to relax and discuss their gorilla tracking experience. A large terrace overlooking the forest is a great place to spot the monkeys and birds hidden in the foliage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing