We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
156
24
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
24
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews volcanoes safaris impenetrable forest river walk bad road included in the room rate great night's sleep lets talk highest level of service included hot communal dining table tea tour complimentary massages personal butler national park day safari individual bandas beyond words
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

One of the best lodges we have been to. Located on the forest near the gorilla park. The lodge has good well trained staff, and the room are very clean, well spaced and well managed.
The food, prepared well and served on time. The night was incredible as we looked forward to the gorilla trekking the next day.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cedricemboma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Cedricemboma

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that Bwindi Lodge is the best lodge you have been to.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the food, rooms and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Bwindi Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda (Kyambura Gorge Lodge, Mount Gahinga Lodge) and Rwanda (Virunga Lodge).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We were met at the Kihihi airfield by Robert, our guide and driver for the whole stay, who took care of our luggage. There is an hour and a half drive to the lodge itself, but Robert kept things interesting with information on the area we were passing though.
On arrival, we were offered cold drinks and refresher towels, whilst our luggage was transported to our Banda. We had Mama Bwindi (each Banda was named after a different gorilla from the area), which was spacious and comfortable. We were well looked after by Joseph, our butler for our stay, who organised our meals, wake up calls and laundry (complimentary). In spite of their own website, there was a power point in the room with a power board to charge all the usual electronic devices, so there was never a need to charge at the main lodge.
Every morning, Joseph would wake us up with a cup of tea and biscuits, before having breakfast in the main lodge. With trekking days, the lodge would prepare a packed lunch, then Joseph would proceed to carry our packs up to Robert. Just before departing to the Park (less than 5 minutes away), staff would fit gaiters over our boots. Robert always ensured we had sufficient water and walking sticks if we needed them.
After the trek, staff would take our boots away to be cleaned, to be returned after dinner.
The communal dining table was a great place to compare notes on the trek taken.
The Banda we had was spacious and comfortable, with quality toiletries and plentiful bottled water (tap water was deemed not potable).
It was heartening to see the lodge supported several local community projects, putting money back into the area.
Tip: Ask your guide to negotiate a trek suitable for your ability. And use your guide if you are walking around the village so you’ll not be hassled into buying things.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PHL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear PHL16,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you were well look after by your butler Joseph.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the service, communal dinning area and the community projects at Bwindi Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Bwindi Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda (Kyambura Gorge Lodge, Mount Gahinga Lodge) and Rwanda (Virunga Lodge).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Words cant fully describe Bwindi Lodge: On arrival you are blown away by the modern country chic decor, it simply feels like home- A beautiful home. The staff charm you with their warm smiles, they are literally excited to host you. Our dinning experience was simply Unique; A banquet setting, Visitors to the lodge come as strangers but leave as friends, The Chef fed us to an exquisite dinner, the surprise at the end was entertainment from the lodge staff. The rooms were elegantly redecorated too and with modern charming elements and lighting. I would recommend this lodge for a mid range client who wants to have a luxury experience.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluey256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Bluey256,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you had a unique experience while staying at Bwindi Lodge.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the charming staff, modern country chic decor, the exquisite dinner and entertainment by the staff. The chef and the rest of the lodge staff will be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Bwindi Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda (Kyambura Gorge Lodge, Mount Gahinga Lodge) and Rwanda (Virunga Lodge).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I can't say enough about Bwindi Lodge - the service, the lodging, the surroundings, the food, the staff - they all were incredible. From cleaning our boots after gorilla trekking to offering free massages it doesn't get better than this. I loved sitting in the common area after a hike and drinking a glass of wine or just getting to know fellow travelers (or falling asleep for a pre dinner nap). The food took me by surprise and ended up leaving behind all the protein bars I had taken with me anticipating I wouldn't have enough to eat! Agree with other comments that the photos provided on the site do not do it justice. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaM4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you loved sitting in the common area after a hike with a glass of wine while getting to know other travelers.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the service, lodging, surroundings, food and staff . The lodge staff will be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Bwindi Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda (Kyambura Gorge Lodge, Mount Gahinga Lodge) and Rwanda (Virunga Lodge).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful facilities and impeccable service!
It's a well-maintained property with great view of the Bwindi forest, from almost all spots within the property. We spent three nights here and were deeply impressed by the warm hospitality, besides the comfortable facilities. The staff team was more than helpful, they treated us like family and friends, all the time went extra miles to accommodate our wants and needs, and they kept in mind our preferences.
This trip coincided with the celebration of my parents' wedding anniversary. The team gave my parents a very pleasant surprise by placing a cake in their room with very kinds words written in Chinese! (They told me that they took the time to learn from internet!) This was just one of the many things that made us feel it's a "home away from home"
What I found special about this place was that they also has great initiatives to involve and benefit local communities. For example they set up the Bwindi Bar to provide free training to the local youth so upon graduation, they could have the chance to be employed by the lodge or by other lodges. We visited Bwindi bar during our stay, which was a nice and cozy place, they made great coffee!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JCYZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear JCYZZZ,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that the staff were more than helpful and that you were treated like family and friends whilst staying at Bwindi Lodge.

We are also delighted to read that the staff went extra miles to accommodate your wants and needs, and that they kept in mind your preferences.

We happy to read that your parents celebrated their anniversary at the lodge and that the cake offered was one of the things that made Bwindi Lodge feel like a home away from home.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the great coffee served at Bwindi Bar.

The lodge staff will be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Bwindi Lodge, or one of our other lodges in Uganda (Kyambura Gorge Lodge, Mount Gahinga Lodge) and Rwanda (Virunga Lodge).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews