We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highlight of my 4 week Uganda trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nshongi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nshongi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of my 4 week Uganda trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I had an amazing time at Nshongi Camp... the staff was amazing, the community is truly incredible! The community walk was a completely unexpected highlight - learnin g about the Batwa, seeing the school children, etc. Everyone was so welcoming. I would recommend this place to anyone!!! The setting is incredible, just beautiful! I could hear elephants outside my banda the first night - so amazing! Two nights was just not enough - I guess I need to return :) Also, this camp is a 5 minute walk to the briefing banda for the gorillas, that was great! Stay here for any of the Rushaga gorilla groups!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict001122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Nshongi Camp for one night, to visit the gorilla's the next day. Nshongi camp has the most ideal location, only a 15 minute walk from the meeting point where the gorilla tracking starts! Since the condition of the roads toward Bwindi is questionable, this is a much better option then getting up early in the morning and still being afraid you will be late because of the roads. Also, the location is absolutely beautifull! Bwindi National Park starts right next to your banda, which is amazing. And instead of paying lots of dollars a night, like you have to pay for all the lodges that are close to Bwindi, you pay a very reasonable price. The camp is simple, but good. We even got a hot shower in the morning! And the food (that is included in the price) is good. The staff is friendly and made sure that all our batteries were recharged before we started the gorilla tracking, though they had to run up and down the hill for it. So I can definitely recommend Nshongi Camp!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed at Silver's (the manager) place for only one night after walking for five days with Nkuringo Safaris. The rooms are basic but very cosy and with magical view at the park! They are build in a well maintained garden.

All you hear are the sounds of the forest.

Wish I could stay there a little more...

Peter
Netherlands

Room Tip: Take the room at the end of the garden for it feels like being in the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetervanderGiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Nshongi Camp.There's no electricity or running water, but this is to be expected in a remote location like this. The setting is beautiful, down the hill from Rushaga village beside the river and surrounded by forest. The staff were very friendly (thanks Silver) and the food was excellent. The room was very basic but clean enough. The camp's location is fantastic if you have to register at the Rushaga UWA office (Nshongi or Mishaya groups) and is literally 10 minutes walk from registration. This was particularly helpful for a couple like us who had no transport of our own.

Prices for accomodation around Bwindi forest are massively inflated compared to the rest of the country, and Nshongi Camp is no exception, costing around US$65 a night for a banda in a camp where there is no electricity or running water. However compared to other options this still works out as one of the cheapest.

Basically, I would recommend Nshongi Camp to those lacking transport who would like to stay close to the forest itself without completely breaking the bank. As I said, the setting is really pretty and the staff make you feel at home. However, if you don't think that you can take not having electricity and running water, then maybe you'd be better off with one of the more expensive options.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The entertainment by local singers and dancers was amazing! The site is very beautiful and optimally situated for gorilla walks.

Room Tip: Avoid the banda closest to the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaesUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 km away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#6 of 11 in Kisoro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 km away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nshongi Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nshongi Camp

Property: Nshongi Camp
Address: south gate Bwindi Impenatrable Forest NP, 500 meters from gate park and UWA visitors center, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Nshongi Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing