We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serena Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Castle Forest Lodge(Mount Kenya National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdare Country Club(Aberdare National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outspan Hotel(Aberdare National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treetops Lodge(Aberdare National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
156
164
44
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
164
44
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain lodgenature walkrooms are smallone nightwater holewatering holeunderground tunnelviewing areasykes monkeyscape buffalotree houseslide showsalt lickrooms facecakeegyptian geesebush bucks
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed here for 1 night
we expected alot more we paid extra for a suit room it was average but had a good view of the watering hole
the watering hole id very small not what i expected
building made of wood which is not a problem but is very old and need an upgrade
we saw buffalo, elephants, hyena ,warthog

if you are doing a full trip and have the Masai Mara in cluded swap this night for an extra night in the Mara

Room Tip: Max 1 night swap for extra night in Mara if possible
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bobq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

An interesting hotel built around a waterhole where all rooms get a view and a small balcony - did we see much - no; but an enjoyable experience and great to see Mt Kenya and the Kenyan Highlands
Brilliant meals - the best on the whole tour.
Small hotel room with an even small bathroom and a shower which even for one person was a challenge. But there was hot water - great to have when ever you want it
On the afternoon we arrived we paid extra for a 3 hour guided walk and saw little but learnt much about the vegetation.
Afternoon tea was provided which include a sample or two of Kenyan Brandy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Great to stay for a day and watch the waterhole and the animals come and go.. the slide on show on Kenya and the wildlife at night was enlightening. The staff are courteous and helpful and the hot water bag at night in bed was just what we needed

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Visited this place in the hopes of getting a clear view of Mt Kenya, but I was wrong. First the weather played spoil sport as it was cloudy and visibility was poor and second the Mountain was no where in sight. Other than that the location was pretty good being out in the wilderness where one can enjoy the true meaning of nature. There is a water hole right on the premise where, elephants, buffaloes, to name just a few. Each room has it's own private balcony with viewing area over a waterhole. The staff ask you what animals you want to see and they will come and knock on your door to let you know they have been spotted. There were a few monkeys around. I only stayed one night and that was enough. There was nothing really to do except enjoy the tranquility and peace. If you are looking for a room with TV and a bar and all the other perquisites we have grown accustomed to then this is not the place for you. This is more like the rustic log cabins of Canada. The neighbours can he heard as the rooms divided and not very sound proof. The service is very good as the first thing when you arrive you are given warm towel to freshen your face and then a welcome drink is served. Rules are explained and you are then taken to your room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoying our stay at the mountain lodge, as always Serena Hospitality at its best.
Nice watching of animals at the waterhole.. Buffalo, rabbit and many more... Hot water bottles in the bed as in the evening it really gets very chilly...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank slofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews