We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
163
176
48
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
176
48
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature walk rooms are small one night water hole watering hole viewing area sykes monkeys tree house cape buffalo slide show salt lick rooms face egyptian geese bush bucks rooms overlook cake water buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We went there as a group to get away from busy city life , lovely drive in and more recently the road to the lodge has been tarmaced so didn't struggle with car getting stuck . Rooms are small but have everything you need plus a lovely balcony to view the animals, don't expect a palace it's a lodge. Amazing time here , we didn't leave the lodge , we just viewed the animals and all the beautiful nature from the viewing decks . There's also a viewing bunker closer to the watering hole so you can get reasonably close . No complaints just a perfect way to go and switch off !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kasukusays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The Mountain Lodge was a lovely break from the heat and dust of Tsavo and Amboseli - Mt Kenya is lush green and the air is cool.

As reported before the rooms are wooden and the walls are quite thin. We met out neighbours for dinner and complimented the gentleman on his singing - to learn that they were married for more than 50 years and the song was a romantic one for his wife!

There were not too many people at the lodge and we settled to a fascinating chat at the bar with the barman - James covering history and ornithology.

The plated dinner was one of the best during our trip to Kenya.

The nature walk in the morning with the guide Benson was a fantastic experience - the weather was cool and the we had a great time identifying the birds and the shy Colobus monkey. Bird watchers - the birds here are very small and hard to spot in the canopies. A challenge you will enjoy. The walk ended in a lovely surprise arranged by the the Lodge. Recommend 'elephant milk' to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vyraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the service! Staff were amazing and so generous of spirit. The hike through the forest was spectacular with sacred trees and colobus monkeys flying above us in the trees. The beds and rooms are luxurious and spacious. Watering hole visible from all parts of the lodge. Loved it!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SHAANTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our safari. The rooms were excellent, well appointed and clean. At night we returned from dinner to find lovely hot water bottles in our beds. Perfect as it got quite nippy. During dinner you are asked if you want waking for certain animals visiting the water hole. We did this but were unlucky as the only things during the night were antelopes and buffalo.During the day there were also a lot of Bushbuck, Water Buck and Buffalo. A hyena also paid a fleeting visit. There is a platform that a member of staff puts meat on and a Genet visits at dusk. There is a very cheeky Sykes monkey that is used to popping into rooms where the unwary have left the balcony door open and stealing their sugar. He then sits on the balcony eating it, packets and all! Make sure you keep that door closed.The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make the stay a happy one. My husband did an early morning bird walk with Benson, the resident naturalist (and an armed guard). He said it was excellent and worthwhile doing. Benson also did an evening talk and this was really informative and we learned a lot. Shame we were the only ones that went.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank monkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

This is completely different to any other safari lodge. Tucked away on the mountain overlooking a watering hole, this lodge is unique and perfect for relaxing after a long flight. We were here for one night and never experienced anything so peaceful. Drinks are a little pricey but the food was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful. Perfect start to our honeymoon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serena Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking time out to share with us your experience.
Your feedback is of great value to us as we strive to offer the very best to our customers.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sylvia Mbugua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews