We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serena Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2017

The mountain lodge is a great place to chill out and relax. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.The food is good and varied. As mentioned earlier, the walls are quite thin and it is definitely not a place for light sleepers. There really should be a mention when booking that because the lodge is within the national park, there is an extra daily charge for each adult and vehicle . There is a very very rude KWS guard who wouldn't let us in for a long time because we dared to get lost in a foreign country and come in late. So if you must go out, get a local line and a number so you can call the lodge to let you in just in case you're late. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from people walking. Do not get room under reception lounge because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serena Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience.
We highly appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Every guest is important to us as we endeavor to offer you the very best and exceed your expectations.
We have noted your comment concerning the noise from the next room and sincerely apologize for any discomfort this may have caused.We have also noted your feedback in regards to KWS;please rest assured the matter has been addressed appropriately.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sylvia Mbugua
Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We went there as a group to get away from busy city life , lovely drive in and more recently the road to the lodge has been tarmaced so didn't struggle with car getting stuck . Rooms are small but have everything you need plus a lovely balcony to view the animals, don't expect a palace it's a lodge. Amazing time here , we didn't leave the lodge , we just viewed the animals and all the beautiful nature from the viewing decks . There's also a viewing bunker closer to the watering hole so you can get reasonably close . No complaints just a perfect way to go and switch off !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kasukusays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The Mountain Lodge was a lovely break from the heat and dust of Tsavo and Amboseli - Mt Kenya is lush green and the air is cool.

As reported before the rooms are wooden and the walls are quite thin. We met out neighbours for dinner and complimented the gentleman on his singing - to learn that they were married for more than 50 years and the song was a romantic one for his wife!

There were not too many people at the lodge and we settled to a fascinating chat at the bar with the barman - James covering history and ornithology.

The plated dinner was one of the best during our trip to Kenya.

The nature walk in the morning with the guide Benson was a fantastic experience - the weather was cool and the we had a great time identifying the birds and the shy Colobus monkey. Bird watchers - the birds here are very small and hard to spot in the canopies. A challenge you will enjoy. The walk ended in a lovely surprise arranged by the the Lodge. Recommend 'elephant milk' to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vyraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the service! Staff were amazing and so generous of spirit. The hike through the forest was spectacular with sacred trees and colobus monkeys flying above us in the trees. The beds and rooms are luxurious and spacious. Watering hole visible from all parts of the lodge. Loved it!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SHAANTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our safari. The rooms were excellent, well appointed and clean. At night we returned from dinner to find lovely hot water bottles in our beds. Perfect as it got quite nippy. During dinner you are asked if you want waking for certain animals visiting the water hole. We did this but were unlucky as the only things during the night were antelopes and buffalo.During the day there were also a lot of Bushbuck, Water Buck and Buffalo. A hyena also paid a fleeting visit. There is a platform that a member of staff puts meat on and a Genet visits at dusk. There is a very cheeky Sykes monkey that is used to popping into rooms where the unwary have left the balcony door open and stealing their sugar. He then sits on the balcony eating it, packets and all! Make sure you keep that door closed.The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make the stay a happy one. My husband did an early morning bird walk with Benson, the resident naturalist (and an armed guard). He said it was excellent and worthwhile doing. Benson also did an evening talk and this was really informative and we learned a lot. Shame we were the only ones that went.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank monkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
31.4 km away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
24.5 km away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
332 reviews
38 km away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
345 reviews
25.6 km away
The White Rhino Hotel
42.4 km away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Mountain Lodge

Address: PO Box 48690, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range: ₹ 13,439 - ₹ 23,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 2,194 metres on the slopes of Mount Kenya, Serena Mountain Lodge is surrounded by a dense rainforest that comes alive at dusk with a myriad of sounds that make the African bush so special and exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Jovago.com so you can book your Serena Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Hotel Mount Kenya National Park
Serena Mountain Lodge Kenya/Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing