We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Special”
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Gate Hotel
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Basic but Special”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

One of the first hotels you encountered as you enter Wadi Moussa near the roundabout and adjacent to a great Chicken Swarma restaurant. Hotel and room is basic but this is more than compensated by the friendly owner (who is charming and inquisitive and always at the lobby) and friendly staff. The owner personally drives guest to the entrance of Petra every morning. Breakfast is basic but adequate.
The hotel has a special family like ambience between staff and guest and this is what makes this place special and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    89
    35
    11
    14
See reviews for
18
82
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights. The location isn't bad. It's about a 20 minute walk to the Petra park entrance. There are many restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity.

One of the best things about the place is the service. All the staff are friendly and eager to give you advice about everything. The owner speaks great English and can arrange side trips for you (of course, this depends on getting enough people together. It didn't work out for me because I was traveling alone.) You can access free wi-fi from the lobby and cafeteria. For about $5 USD, you can buy a pretty good lunch in the morning to take with you while in Petra.

The place has a nice rooftop terrace where you can unwind at night and chat with other guests. It has a great view of the city and the mountains in the distance.

My room was very basic. It was a private room with two beds. The beds were made of foam, and not real mattresses, so if you're one of those types that needs a firm mattress for your back, this might not be the place for you. The bathroom wasn't the greatest. Even though it was clean, it had a run-down look, and I immediately wished that I had packed some flip-flops. It was as bad as it looked though, and I realized you didn't really need to where slippers in the shower (not like in China, where I've done most of my backpacking). It had hot water, which was the most important part. The toilet didn't have a lid. This turned out to be an advantage because the lever didn't work, so to flush the toilet you had to manually pull on the chain inside the tank. (Again, not as bad as it sounds.)

All in all, it was more than adequate for the few nights that I stayed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliotTempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Good basic Hostel.
Rooms are basic but you get what you pay for.
Very friendly owners who can't do enough to help.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArgyleRich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
517 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed here on our middle eastern trip. We decided to stay at a basic accommodation in Petra as we knew we would be out exploring most of the days. Our room was very basic but the bed was comfy and we both slept really well.
The owner of the hotel organized for us to go with another couple to see little Petra, if he had not mentioned this we probably would not have gone to see it and it was a highlight!
The bathroom is probably the biggest downfall, no shower curtain and the hot water is not on at certain times.
It certainly suited our needs though as all we needed was a bed, you really don't spend much time in your hotel whilst seeing the sights of Petra.
I would recommend this hotel for backpackers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryMegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in november and paid 30JD/night for a double room with en-suite. The rooms are tiny and are bit run down, but clean,
The staff is friendly, but didn't clean our room or gave us fresh towels.
Overall an OK place, but don't be fooled by the name of the hotel. It is a long walk from the gate and of all the hotels in Petra probably the furthest from the entrance.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra on another hotel closer to the gate, after a day walking it pays off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Park W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 km away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.3 km away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.1 km away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 km away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 km away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Property: Petra Gate Hotel
Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,233 - ₹ 2,984
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel the customers can enjoy the roof terrace and see the sunset and the view of Petra Mountie and same time can enjoy the dinner at our rood terrace - see the photos in this website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing