We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real country pub”

The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oaksey
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Michaela and Mike welcome you to the Wheatsheaf Inn at Oaksey. The menu we offer will boast fantastic,mouthwatering, homemade and locally sourced dishes. With a great choice of cask ales and fine wines, you certainly have plenty to indulge yourselves in. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Six adults and four children for lunch, we enjoyed warm hospitality, a comfortable room with lots of character and great, tasty food. A choice of non alcoholic beers is a rarity anywhere. But the Wheatsheaf offers two popular labels. And the menu was all very good including soup, Brie wedges with a difference, steak sandwich; mains fish and chips (wonderful), chicken tandoori (lovely, I’m told), steaks (reportedly perfect). And much more. I can only strongly recommend a visit. The children agreed!

Thank Jorgeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Wanted a country pub for a good Sunday lunch and we found this at the Wheatsheaf Inn. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere and delicious food. Good portion sizes and homemade. Would recommend, we will return!

2  Thank Abi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your kind words and fantastic review. It is always nice to hear that our customers enjoy the food and the atmosphere while visitng us.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Sunday lunch
The pub seemed nice and the staff were pleasant albeit service rather slow unfortunately the food was disappointing . We ordered the chicken which came in dry chunks smothered in gloopy brown bistro .
Roast chicken needs at least chicken gravy.

3  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

HI Kathy

It is very disappointing that these issues were not raised at the time you dined with us as we would have resolved these issues for you.

Our gravy is not "bisto" as you exclaim it is. The gravy is actually made on the premises fresh in the morning before service with the meat juices from the meat joints.

For the chicken chunks are actually a chicken breast sliced into 3 so its presented better than just the whole breast on the plate.

For the chef (landlord) to make 3 seperate gravys for each sunday meat dishes we offer is a bit over the top considering the size of our kitchen being no bigger than a shoebox and him being the only chef on site at all times.

Thank you for the kind comments about my staff!

M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We visited mid afternoon had a drink and was tempted to eat by the lovely menu. The food was delicious I had Venison my husband steak they were both beautiful. Only tho g is there is no specific child’s menu so ended up paying £9 for a jacket potato with cheese and beans for my son and he only ate half of the potato. Other than that the place was lovely, staff friendly and the food delicious.

Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Hello Kerry

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

We do not provide a childrens menu however we can provide smaller portions for children. If you had let me know you wanted a smaller jacket potato we would have happily provided this for you at half price as we do with other dishes for children.

Either way we are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and we do hope to welcome you back very soon!


Michaela & Mikey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Booked this restaurant on the phone, for a birthday dinner. When we arrived they took our drinks order sat us down and left us with the menus, they then came to tell us that they are going away in January and half the stuff on the menu wasn’t available because of this - which they should of mentioned on the phone when we booked. They never then came to the table to take any further drinks orders. The food was not good, not what we wanted and they forgot side orders. I personally wouldn’t recommend.

2  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

It is with such disappointment to finally realise that you are indeed a local pub called the Nelson Inn, Cirencester. We find it extremely disrespectful and disappointing that local pubs are willing to post false reviews.

We are all suppose to work together and support eachother in this difficult industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey also viewed

Somerford Keynes, Cotswolds
 
Ewen, Cirencester
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing