We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family fun”
Review of Blackburns Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackburns Resort
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mountain Home
Reviewed 17 September 2014

My family and I stayed at Blackburn resort this summer for three days and had a blast.the cabins were nice and we rented a pontoon and swam and fished and my boy caught his first bass.I was very impressed with the staff and the swimming pool and the game room .the owner treated everybody to a fish fry and the resort was very clean and manicured we will be back next year I recommend this resort for a vacation.

Room Tip: Any cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2014

Customer service?? anyone ever heard of it? Not these people. Stayed 2 weeks.
First the good:
Bed was comfortable, and the cabin was clean on the surface.
Now the rest:
No customer service. My wife tried multiple times to wave down the people working, they would just look at her and keep driving. My wife had to ask one of the construction workers to tell the lady running the place for a broom and mop. She left them on the porch without a word.

When is the last time you stayed somewhere that didn't give soap or coffee?
This place has no soap, no shampoo, no conditioner, no Coffee and no coffee filters (though did have a coffee pot). All those items are extras sold in the shop. The microwave didn't reach the plugin (See pic), had to move it to either on top of the stove or on top of the refrigerator to plug it in. They do have WIFI but it didn't have signal to cabin 12 where we stayed. At 7am they had construction workers beating on a new roof. So no sleeping in, this lasted most of the 2 weeks. At the end of week one I wanted to cancel the 2nd week of my trip, because the service was so bad. However,they have a STRICT 60day cancellation policy so we were stuck for week 2. Once they have your $ they don't care about you. Pay when you leave you might get better service!?! The pool hadn't been vacuumed in a long time, plenty of bugs dead in it (was clean other than that). DON'T LOOK UNDER THE BEDS!!!! DUST BUNNY AND DEAD BUG HEAVEN!!!! Front door had a big cobweb in the corner (See pic), back windows had LOADS of bugs between the screen and the windows (See pic). Had the "Deluxe" cabin; one small window A/C unit for 3 bedrooms. Because it was just me and my wife they asked us not to use the other bedroom so they didn't have to clean it (though we paid for the whole cabin). They never once came to check on us and see if we were OK or needed anything (not that they provided anything). Check out is at 9am. Just left the keys, to much trouble to track them down and turn them in. To sum it up, this place is 2 steps above camping in a tent. The only reason I say 2 steps and not just one is because it has a comfortable bed, Cable TV (Small TV), running water, and a fridge.

Those who left good reviews must be friends of the family, or they knew something we didn't. We spoke with several other people staying while we were there, they were all just as disappointed as we were (Felt bad for those who were there from Florida, this is their first impression of Arkansas). If the pay by the hour motel is booked and I don't have a tent I may stay again, but EVERYWHERE else would have to be booked. There are plenty of resorts in the area for the same price and I checked out many of them while I was there making sure I knew where to stay next time.

If you want to check into a place and be left alone and self sufficient, this is it. If you want to sleep in and have ANY customer service you better go else where.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diverdave19, Owner at Blackburns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

The people did not stay two weeks. They stayed 3-days the first week and came back for four days the next week. If it was so bad why did they return to the same cabin a second time? Wanted a refund and then when we refused said they would do this. There was no construction on their cabin. All about the money. The review after this stayed in the same cabin no problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I have stayed at many places over the years and in my opinion Blackburns resort ranks right up there with the best of them. the owner (steve) is constantly pumping money into the resort with new beds, new tables, new chairs, new roofs on cabins, new microwaves, new ovens, new a/c units, new this new that I and I know this for a fact because I stay there quite often now, and see him constantly bringing this stuff in.( by the way everyone there are great people) Steve takes special care of his boats which he has many for rental. he has everyone of them checked and maintained at a local marine shop (independence marine, who by the way also do a great job) and with all of this stuff going on they have managed to keep their prices the same as they were the very first time I went there! I can't possibly say enough good things about this resort you need to check it out for yourself, if you are looking for a 5 star resort this is not your place, but if you are looking for a really nice place to get away for a few days and spend it with some very nice folks this is it. I will be back many times!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jbornhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Blackburn's resort in Mountain Home has some of the worse customer service you can find. We told them our air conditioner was not working and their response to us was if we wouldn't touch the buttons it would work just fine. We didn't touch the air conditioner at all! Then we rented a pontoon from them the first one they gave us wouldn't start because the battery was dead which the lady was very rude and blamed us for and said we kept cranking on it when it NEVER cranked the first time. Then they gave us another pontoon which we though would do everything we wanted but it only ran at about half speed because it cut in and out so we could not pull tubes like we wanted because they gave us a bad boat. THEY BLAMED US FOR EVERYTHING AND NEVER TOOK RESPONSIBILITY!! WE WILL NEVER GO BACK TO BLACKBURNS.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diverdave19, Owner at Blackburns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Mother, Sister and Son have all made separate reviews for the same stay. This is the first time I have had anyone say bad about Manager. I have never heard her raise her voice in the 12 years here. They are correct about one thing.They will never be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

For Labor Day we rented 3 cottages. The accomodations were old which we were ok with, but they needed some maintenace --flooring rolling up in lumps in cabin 12 , stove didn't function right in cabin 14, but the major issue was terrible customer service from the manager Debbie. One cottage #14 again had no airconditioning for 2 of the 3 days we were there, and repeated request for Debbie, the office manager, to get this fixed only resulted in us being told how it was fixed and 67 degrees. When I stated it was set on 67 but the temp in the cabine was 89 we were blamed for tearing it up by adjusting the fan speed button. It needed to be on 3 not 1 when I checked while on the phone with Debbie it was on 3 and had not been touched. We rented a pontoon from the resort. The first boat would not even turn over when we got there. I called Debbie again and when she arrived at the dock she assured us we were to blame yet again as we had probably flooded the boat and then ran the battery down. Not so the battery was flat dead when we arrived at the dock and after a couple of attempts to get it to turn over we knew it was useless. After 2 hours of listening to Debbie rant and rave we were finally given another pontoon which started beautifully but would not run on the water, bogged down, cut out. Having owned and operated boats all our lives my siblings and our spouses are pretty savvy about boats . Didn't take long to discover the problem a visible fuel leak that was allowing air into the fuel line so after 2 and 1/2 hours of nursing it back to the dock we gave up on that endeavor. Part of the cottage rental agreement is a slip for your personal boat on their advertised "the only secure dock on this part of the lake." We had 2 personal boats there one of which had it's brand new bought it Saturday morning deep cycle marine battery stolen. When we inquired about the security camera we were informed they never had problems with theft so they had no battery in the camera. I have suspicions that an employee or another guest thought our fishing boat was a resort boat and when their boat would not start they took our new battery to put on the boat they had rented. In speaking with other guest at the dock, one had boat problems like we did and one had lost an anchor because the rope was dry rotted and snapped the 1st time he tried to throw it out. By the way the resort charges $65 for a lost anchor which the other guest did not intend to pay. The advertised 24 hour a day pool while open 24 hours had no lighting not low lighting no lights period. At check out after listening to Debbie for 3 days tell us how the airconditing, theft, non operational boats were all our fault and how they were just doing "the best we can" I tried to discuss the issues we had with Debbie and was rudely told that I just needed to listen to her. At this point I had had it with her blaming us, and statements about how they were just doing the best they could, and the sheer fact that we paid this resort a good chunk of money for cottages without air, boats that don't run and on top of that a theft and told her I had heard enough and just wanted the deposit I paid against prop damage back. When I was given that I left. My family and I are good guest, we don't drink and party, destroy property or bother anyone. We take 2 to 3 trips like this a year spending 1500-2500 each time for accomodations and more for amenities like boats etc.... We have never encountered this total lack of customer service response at the beach , in the mountains or anywhere we have gone. Had Blackburns offered good customer service instead of a manager that constantly blamed everyone for what were obvious maintenance issues most of which could have easily been resolved, we would probably have made this one of our yearly destinations. We will be making more trips to the lake in Mountain Home but never again to Balckburn's Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Deniseia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diverdave19, Owner at Blackburns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Same family deem it necessary to write three reviews for one three day trip. Is this allowed? I hope they feel better now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mountain Home hotels
11 km away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
63 reviews
11.6 km away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
459 reviews
8.1 km away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
6.8 km away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
343 reviews
8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackburns Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackburns Resort

Address: 734 County Road 989, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7157
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mountain Home
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Blackburns Hotel Mountain Home

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing