We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
42
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the owner his wife villa bungalow western food living room standard room banda aceh short walk terima kasih big thanks great food sam scooter pak locals paddle
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Incredible location on riverside, an oasis like resort, the most welcoming staff you could ask for (Sam and his family / Alice - thank you!), high quality kite surfing instructor (Regis - i´ll conquer the airtime jumps next time!) and a selection of picturesque kite surfing spots....what more does one need? An absolute gem of a place - completely blew my expectations away. I have just unpacked my bags and Im already looking at flights for my next trip back to Aceh...says it all!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiChiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lhoknga Riverside resort is special place with a lot of space. A kitesurf school with a IKO kite instructor. Beautiful, clean rooms, bathrooms and family houses, hammocks everywhere and a nice terras alongside the river. The owners (Sam and Cici) make your stay unforgettable. Breakfast is great! Especially Cici's Oreo pancakes (or eggs), lots of fresh local fruit and juices and Sam's fresh coffee. They arrange boat trips along the river or nearby islands. If you want to kitesurf: they know the best spots in Aceh!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very nice and clean place. The rates are very reasonable. Owner Sam and his wife Cici are extremely friendly and welcoming. A French couple, Regis and Alice, operates the kiteschool on site, but are also very helpfull with organising other activities.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have been one month in Sumatra traveling by bicycle and this is the place I enjoyed the most staying.
The rooms are very clean with nice design. In fact it is more than a room because you have a living room a small kitchen, a nice modern (I mean with everything working!) shower room and aircon bedroom. You can probably find cheaper place in the area but I found the value very good compared to what I have seen on the road.
The place is used by surfers and kite surfers (French instructor living there) but even if you are not surfers, it is a real pleasure to stay there and I dont see any reason to stay in Bandah Aceh.
Last, Sam and his wife are very kind, speak very good english and provide a terrific breakfast on the riverside!
Not so many rooms so probably a good idea to contact Sam (+62 8116 70314)

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I stay at this resort several times a years. The rooms are clean and comfortable... as I said, a repeat stay whenever I am in Banda Aceh at Lhoknga Riverside Resort.
The atmosphere is wonderful with helping you with fresh air and quite places all your need. The owners is very friendly which is very hard to find. If you are looking for a place to stay close to the beaches in Banda Aceh, the Lhoknga Riverside is the place to go the owner is so friendly and the customer service is the best around which is so hard to find now. They really make you feel at home the resort is beautiful inside and out I will tell all my family and friends to book and stay at the Lhoknga Riverside...

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Dellyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews