We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
73 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$ 280
View deal
Barcelo.com
US$ 280
View deal
Traveluro
US$ 272
View deal
PricelineUS$ 280
TravelocityUS$ 280
travelup.comUS$ 285
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24,190)
Filter reviews
24,190 results
Traveller rating
12,784
5,782
2,751
1,492
1,381
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12,784
5,782
2,751
1,492
1,381
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club premium barcelo bavaro palace deluxe la fuente coral seafood santa fe steakhouse sports bar spanish restaurant jacuzzi on the balcony beautiful resort language barrier family vacation junior suite make reservations seafood restaurant ocean front a la carte restaurants dinner reservations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 24,190 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2019

We asked upon check in not to have a bottom floor room after being assured that we did not have a bottom floor room we were taken to the room which was on the bottom floor. The people above were moving furniture every day starting at 6:00 am and again until midnight each night very very annoying. We asked to move and we're told there were no other rooms available.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank gsarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Firstly we thank you for making our Barceló Bavaro Palace your choice hotel for a 6th visit, although we regret that we fell a little short of your expectations this time around.

We lament that our staff could not meet your expectation in regards to the requested room; however, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that room’s requests are subjected to the availability, and we apologize for not having a top floor room available during your stay.

It is our sincere desire to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, so we can have a chance to show you our commitment to your satisfaction. We firmly believe that on the next occasion by putting our best effort, we will be able to exceed your expectations by offering you the most memorable and pleasant vacations that our little Paradise in the Dominican Caribbean can have in this.

Regards,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

Amazing resort and service is excellent. I definitely recommend this resort to family and friends all the time. I have been going to this resort for many years and was extremely happy my daughter and her friends were able to have the same positive experience I have had throughout the years.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2019

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that your family and friends, enjoyed your stay in our little paradise. Our main objective is the total satisfaction of our guests is an honor to know that we fill your expectations 100%.

We would like to express our gratitude for considering us as amazing; we hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.

Regards,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

We arrived at the Barcelo Bávaro Beach Palace in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic on Tuesday, November 12th. The hotel is beautiful and in immaculate condition. The staff are welcoming and spoke good enough English. We had reserved a Junior suite with the Jacuzzi on the balcony with an ocean view. When we arrived in our room in building block 2000, the floor was so damp that as you walked in you had to be careful not to slip. The smell of dampness and mold in the room was almost overpowering. We were instructed to keep the balcony door closed at all times with the fan and the air-conditioning on to dry out the room. We did this and the following morning a pool of water had accumulated in the short corridor leading to the front door. We asked for a room change the next day and were accommodated. The next room was remodeled and brighter and was in building block 6000. Our only complaints with this room was the water leaked from the shower into the toilet stall leaving a huge puddle. This was fixed soon after we notified housekeeping of the situation. The tv did not turn on but we didn’t need it as we didn’t watch any tv. Two days we had to ask to get our room cleaned after 6pm as it hadn’t been done yet. They asked us to put the “please clean” sign on the door but we didn’t have one in our room to hang on the door.
One night our beach purse was left poolside as my wife became sick and had to be taken to the hotel infirmary. The next morning (Thursday November 14th), at 7:30am, it was turned in by security. It contained everything except for my wife’s iWatch and approximately $15US that was taken out of my wallet. We reported the watch and my money stolen and completed a lost/stolen property report to initiate the security processes to try to find the watch. The security supervisor said at the time that if the watch was not in the purse, then my wife didn’t lose it. We had to show him pictures of my wife wearing the watch earlier that day to get him to believe it was in the purse. We were told that the security department would review the camera footage and let us know within 48 hours. On Saturday we went to Guest Services to inquire about the process and asked to speak the Guest Services Manager. We were introduced to Miriam, a manager, and we had to tell her the whole story from the beginning as she knew nothing about the missing watch and money. She said to come tomorrow, and we did and spoke to another manager, Bernice. She was unable to tell us anything about the process the security team was doing to find the watch. We were called in our room later in the evening by Miriam and were told to come to the Guest Services on Monday morning after 9am to meet with Miriam and the security manager. We arrived at 9:30 and had to wait about 30 minutes to speak to Miriam and were told that the security manager had another meeting and would not be available until later. Finally, at about 3pm we met with the security manager and Miriam. We relied on Miriam to translate as the security manager, whose name was Junior, did not speak English. We leaned absolutely nothing from this meeting other than the security manager was not able to tell a consistent story. We were told that my wife’s purse was found by the security by the pool and then told it was found beside the beach. He told us that there were no cameras that could see the pool and then we were told that there were indeed cameras, but they were only a panoramic view. We were told that because the purse was found on the beach there are no cameras at the beach because it is public. When we confronted Junior on the confusing stories, he was telling us, he would not clarify where the purse was found. Being unsatisfied with the explanation, we asked to speak to someone in a higher position. It was only after being demanding that we were given the name of Javier Cordero, the resort Director. We made an appointment to see him at 10am on Tuesday. We met Javier together with Junior, and we were able to get some facts confirmed. The purse was found at the pool and was given to a security supervisor. We questioned whether they had been able to locate this moment on the video to see if anything suspicious was on the camera footage. The security supervisor was unable to say. Javier then said he would look at the footage himself and let us know. We arranged to meet with him that evening at 8pm. After waiting until about 8:15 for Javier, he showed up and had two photos of the footage of the pool where the purse was found, but the technology they have was unable to expand the footage to be able to see any detail. So, if any type of crime were to occur in the pool area, the cameras are not good enough to be used to identify anyone. In addition to being very disappointed in the communication we received regarding this process; we were also disappointed in the effort that was put into trying to find my wife’s watch.
The reason we had travelled to Punta Cana and the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Palace was to attend our friend’s wedding. We were part of a group of 65 people that were there for the wedding. By the night of the wedding, Saturday November 16th, about 40 of our group had experienced either vomiting or diarrhea or both. We were also very unimpressed by the food. While the restaurants are all well decorated and the staff well trained, the food tastes very much like dressed-up cafeteria food. The food in the formal restaurants was much to be desired.

Room tip: Rooms in buildings block 5000 and 6000 are much better than rooms in block 2000 and 3000
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Canadian_travel_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2019

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel.

In regards to your wife’s loss, we apologize for any inconvenience this situation may cause and we apologize if you did not receive prompt and timely attention from our employees and our Hotel. Allow us to inform you that for the Barceló Hotels & Resorts, we have a great commitment to the safety of our visitors and we regret to hear that you did not feel sufficiently assisted in this delicate situation. We want you to be sure that we assume the Safety of our guests very seriously, and that with all the resources in our hands, we provide a safe environment for our guests.

We regret that your overall impression of our services, and especially that our gastronomic offer has not been to your liking, since we work hard for our guests to return back home with the greatest holiday experience; we sincerely lament that with you and your whole group we have not achieved our main objective on this occasion. It is important to address that we have an internal Quality Control Coordinator to ensure all Hygiene & Sanitary procedures are been met according to the company policies, which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures. We can assure that our hotel is a safe and disease free complex, since we follow a very strict hygiene program and constant monitoring of all standards of quality in our Hotel is been recognized by Cristal America Consulting - Check Safety Group, for our effort and performance in hygienic and sanitary.

We apologize that your vacation did not turn out as you expected. We remain committed to ensuring that Barceló Hotels & Resorts´ reputation will reflect the excellent standards that we advertise and hope that despite the unusual circumstances surrounding your visit, you will consider Barceló Bávaro Palace again when planning future Caribbean travel

Regards,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

We felt welcomed from the minute we walked in. The service and attention from all the staff was superb. They were friendly and professional, always greeting us with a smile on their face and making sure our expectations were being met. Our room was clean and had a great view. The bed was so comfortable and the jacuzzi in the room was perfect to unwind and relax after a long day at the beach. The food at the resort was exquisite, it didn't matter if we ate at the buffet or at their different restaurants. The entertainment was also fabulous! We did not want to leave this hotel and we are planning to come back soon! My husband and I highly recommend it!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yazmirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2019

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our hotel and we are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our infrastructure as well as our facilities, were of your satisfaction and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. Thank you for your kind note, we are proud of having met your expectations.

Hoping to be part of your next memories in the Dominican Caribbean, we will be waiting for your news whenever you decided to repeat your experience in our little paradise.

Regards,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

I enjoyed the entertainment with anhyela Aquino, edisson Gomez, and malvin valdez...on stage. I felt comfortable enough to dance on stage in front of everyone. Food and drinks are amazing! My room is beautiful. They are very welcoming

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 165ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2019

Dear Guest,


We are glad to know that we were able to provide you a delightful stay and that you enjoyed most our services and facilities having a wonderful holiday. At Barceló Hotels & Resorts we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guest’s expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the hard work and commitment of our staff; we will inform them about your kind words, and thanks for recommending.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again during a future visit in the Dominican Republic.

Regards,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews