We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17,913)
Filter reviews
17,913 results
Traveller rating
9,503
4,569
1,957
1,029
855
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,503
4,569
1,957
1,029
855
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club premium la fuente santa fe steakhouse coral seafood sports bar family deluxe spanish restaurant jacuzzi on the balcony language barrier beautiful resort seafood restaurant dinner reservations ocean front make reservations a la carte restaurants family vacation adult pool
Filter
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 17,913 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Punta Cana is a nice destination, the highlight of this hotel is with out a doubt the beach.
Staff overall VERY friendly.

Worse part of this property is trying to get a table at a specialty restaurant for dinner. The system favors those who pay more (premium level/barcelo club) than the average joe. I have stayed as an average joe at other big Barcelo properties and never had a problem getting a table. Here I had to literally go from place to place and beg for something I suppose to have already paid for. Not a fair system. I was told that because the hotel is at capacity it is hard to get a table. This system needs to be improved as the "average joe" is the majority of hotel clientele.

I do not plan to stay at another Barcelo, even if the management post a reply "please give us a chance" blah blah. There are more options out there, with nice beaches like Rui and Iberostar that have better customer experiences.

Room Tip: Hard to recommend as unless you are in a premium room, you will be lost in the maze of rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganzueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having selected Barceló Bávaro Palace as your holiday destination and for taking your valued time to share your experience with other travelers on this page.

We are very sorry for the impression that has been taken from our team and from the services received. For Barceló Hotels & Resorts satisfaction and quality of service are our priorities, so we are taking their comments in special consideration as well as their impressions that will be analyzed with the executive involved As our main objective strives to have a great atmosphere to meet the needs of our guests.

We lament not having met your expectations at all, because our main goal strives in having a great ambience to satisfy our guest’s requirements.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Staff lacked friendliness. Room was just okay and frequently housekeeping staff missed replacing items. Additionally, we suffered in the heat of our room until we called because no one told us th patio door had to be lined up exactly in order for the air conditioning to work. Bar and wait staff across the property were very, very slow. At times I left without a drink. Entertainment at the theater was very poor and unbearable to be near when it was going on. Beach was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank MBD0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First at all, please accept our sincere apologies for the entire inconvenient encounter during your stay in our resort, we are deeply sorry for the unfortunate situation surrounding on this visit.

We are very sorry for not having met your expectations; we strive to create the best possible experience for our guests. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the drinks and service issues you encountered throughout your stay, this certainly does not reflect the overall service that we are recognized for. Please be assured that we will never cease in our efforts to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests.

We lament not having met your expectations at all because our main goal strives in having a great ambience to satisfy our guests requirements; we regret that we were not able to fulfill We do not want to stay with the wrong image of the hotel. We invite you to return to visit us the next time you decide to return to the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I travel quite a bit and this was my first time to Dominican Republic. The resort was absolutely beautiful and very big. The food was amazing so much to choose from. There are so many things you can do here. I stayed for 6 nights on the adult side but majority of the things to do are on this side. Easy to walk to or you can take the train.

The staff was perfect. They were always cheerful and saying hello. At the pool and theater Jose Fermin García was very helpful. Always smiling and eager to get everyone to join in to the pool activities, dances, contests and karaoke. He would assist in any questions we had and would let my friends and I know the activities that were coming up during our stay. It was amazing to feel so welcomed. Yenifer Moreno was very pleasant and willing to help my friends and I. A few times I went to events alone when friends did not want to go and she would insist I join in on the fun. The staff made our trip an even better experience. 5 plus stars for staff. My friends and I loved it so much we are coming back in September!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank DianaVictoria914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First, we may thank you for the time taken to write us your experience at our Resort. It is pleasant to hear that our facilities and installation were of your liking. Thanks for chosen us for your holiday’s in the Dominican Republic.

We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the hard work and commitment of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal and provide you a delightful stay. Thanks for letting us know their names, now it would be easier to reach them and make them notice about your wonderful words.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we are looking forward to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is a massive mega-resort, with golf course, casino, a number of restaurants, a theater that holds thousands, and lots of areas for hanging out and just relaxing.

The staff are probably some of the best in Dominican, and do not suffer from the slowwwww Dominican worker attitude that exists at many resorts.

Dining options are plentiful. Lots of others have mentioned already, but be sure to try them all. Buffet gets repetitive, but the a la carte's make it nice. If you're club premium, make sure you eat at the French, otherwise, don't bother. Try the restaurant in the golf center, a hidden gem with quick service, especially if you have kids.

The resort is huge, but never feels crowded. The beach is beautiful, Bavaro is one of my all time favourite natural beaches (Cancun is my favourite, but it's manmade now).

The resort suffers from the Barcelo management curse, namely, the management at these Spanish owned properties are arrogant and think they know better than their North American clientele.

If the price is right, book this resort, but, there are better options in the same luxury range if the resort happens to be full and prices are high.

Room Tip: For regular Jr. Suites, try and be as close to the central area as possible
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace as your holiday’s destination!

We are pleased to hear that you spent wonderful holidays in our resort and that you enjoyed the time with us. It’s a pleasure for us to know that the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people made a memorable holiday for you. We are glad to hear that our services and facilities met your expectations, especially your impressions in regards to our grounds, beautiful beach and landscape.

In the same way, we were very saddened to read your disappointment with our food. in Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services.

Thanks for take the time in letting us know your impression, it a pleasure to know that despite some situation you got a great family vacation, we hope welcome you to show our improvement.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We selected Bavaro Palace because it fit our goal of having a resort vacation, with kids, where we could have separate sleeping areas from them. The kids pools looked fantastic so we went for it. We booked a 2br family room conveniently located near a great kids pool.

Pros: 2br room was great. No common area but we’re grateful to have separate bedrooms. The facilities are beautiful. I walked or ran most mornings and there were dozens of people tending to the grounds. Beach is gorgeous with palm trees providing shade. Multiple pools for us to explore, all quite nice.

Cons: the food is universally rather poor. We could find things that we could stomach at the buffet for breakfast and even lunch. For dinner we made reservations at most restaurants. The seafood place was terrible (but with great views). Steak place was the best (we ordered filet and it was fine, so ‘best’ is relative). Most promising was the smaller place on the golf course, 19th hole. We had a few pleasant meals there - again all relative. Really nice view. And please know that for perspective when I say the food is universally poor, it’s not like the difference between a fast food burger and one from a top notch steak house. It’s more that when you see the food it’s questionable - the color, the cut, the freshness, etc.

Also please note that you have to fight to get reservations - keep asking for the times and places you want. You’ll see most restaurants are not very crowded yet the concierge services (no matter who you talk to) always say there’s no availability. We kept asking questions about times and days and the restaurants we wanted - eventually we got reservations for every night at a time that worked for us. We didn’t understand why they would withhold reservations but they do- just keep trying. Any of these restaurants will beat the buffet for dinner.

The service, as you read elsewhere here, needs some work. It’s very spotty. People are kind, mostly, but the quality of the service was frustrating. They just don’t know what they’re doing from a service standpoint. Wait staff would leave to get water but not come back. Or they’d have enough water for a portion of our family and then forget to come back. Or on our last night, we arrived early for our table and were told we needed to wait at the bar (for 15 mins) for it to be ready - only to be seated a few feet away at a table that was fully set where no one had been seated the entire time. It was so odd.

Wine - they have two choices “white” or “red” so don’t expect a great wine list that’s included.

Overall we had a great time but the food and service got real old, real quick.

We highly recommend the Scape Park VIP day excursion that we booked through Costco/Blue Travel. And also use the free day at the pirate ship pool, it was very fun for all 4 of us.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank chesleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Bavaro Palace for your holidays, and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.

From what you describe, it seems that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual service standards; please accept our sincere apologies for not making your stay with us a perfect time. In the other hand we would like to let you know, that we appreciate the part that you and your family did enjoy; at least we have the satisfaction that not everything was a total failure.

We would like to have the opportunity to receive you at the next opportunity, in this way we can demonstrate our commitment to our service and satisfaction of our customers, seal of guarantee and quality of our company.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews