We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveller rating
1,968
530
162
45
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,968
530
162
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bellini restaurant breeze spa hong island happy hour the general manager sunset lounge national park our honeymoon different levels bedroom villa every evening private beach beach front tub kaek beach italian food rose petals long tail
Filter
Updating list...
1,399 - 1,404 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was the second of two hotels we stayed at during our honeymoon in Thailand.

The hotel as a whole is very nice, staff are more than friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is perfect. There are a total of 80+ steps to climb down if you are in one of the standard rooms, or if you are like us staying at the beach villa then you will have to less occasionally climb them to eat at the Thai restaurant, have breakfast, go to the gym, leave the resort, etc. Generally I think it's better being at the bottom as it's closer to the beach, the pool (and private pool!) and the Italian restaurant.

STAFF

Friendly and helpful. Newspapers delivered in the morning, cakes delivered in the evening. Fantastic service. They even let us drink our own beers at the pool or by the bars.

FOOD

The Italian restaurant was amazing, they had a green curry pizza that was delicious and had lots of (expensive) sea food dishes that were exotic. The squid was very tough but apart from that I had no complaints. The Thai restaurant made cheaper and even nicer food, the curries were cooked perfectly and the staff in both restaurants were welcoming and charming. Breakfast was nice but could be a little inconsistent. One day it will have great selection and on another day it will be average.

GYM

Decent selection of equipment for a holiday. The cold towels in the fridge are refreshing after a work-out and free water is provided.

INTERNET

Free WiFi but only one PC working with free internet at the internet room. This room doubles up as a bar where you can really relax well whilst watching the sunset (although it's even better at the Italian restaurant).

ROOM

The room was brilliant, had a jacuzzi (which admittedly wasn't very good at all and only used it one during our eight nights), private pool was great in the evenings when lit up, the honeymoon food spread (surcharge) was delicious and balanced well, the bathroom is spacious and warm. The bedroom itself was great (and perfect for 'you-know-what') with a mosquito net and a fan (fan was blowing into the top of the cover on the bed, rendered useless TBH). There were some beastly creatures wandering around outside ( a giant lizard, snakes, giant moths) but we enjoyed the excitement very much! There was a cockroach in the room on one day but I killed it and none returned after that.

SEA - loss of star

The sea is one of the reasons this review is not five star. It's unsafe and smells slightly of sewage. The sewage smell is coming from the Amari but the safety of the beach is really the responsibility of all the hotels along this beach. There are BROKEN bottles amongst wood and trash all over the place. Down the far right of the beach there is a little camp with a hammock full of trash, etc. If the Amari and the other hotels chipped in a little amount of money this beach would be clean after a few days, it's not acceptable. We did not go swimming in the sea once.

POOL

Is great, a little small but when staying in the villa you do not have to worry about getting a sun bed!

SPA

World class spa, great value and skilled staff. A MUST.

LOCATION

Far away from anything decent, the free shuttle bus takes you to a touristy dump not worth visiting unless you want to change up money or go on a boat trip to Reilly Bay.

ANOTHER STAR GONE

The reason the review is three star: We had paid extra for a taxi to pick us up from the airport, displaying our name on a placard. After aware this taxi was not at the airport (bearing in mind this is Phuket airport: 2.5 hours drive away) we rang the hotel who had forgotten to arrange the taxi for us that we had paid for three months in advance. We were very stressed in finding a legitimate driver and were on edge the whole journey, especially considering he stopped at a house on the way and picked up a burly lad who he claimed was his son (at the time we could not be sure!) before driving the rest of the way. He kept using our phone to call the hotel which took at least twenty minutes per phone call discussing with the clerk at the front desk (not the first time we would have problems with this staff member, we would often have to call him multiple times to get things done of which he would often promise he was doing but was in fact not doing). When we arrived we were made to pay for the taxi driver who charged 3500 Baht (£70) even though we had already paid for this service. Eventually they refunded the second trip but not at any point did we ever receive an apology from any of the front desk staff.

Overall, this could have been a top contender. We would like to say we'd visit again (the Tubkaek resort down the road doesn't seem as good. We actually ate there one night and it was vastly overpriced) it would be in the distant future based on whether the reviews of the time show improvement in the highlighted areas. Other than that, thank you to the staff at Amari Vogue for making our honeymoon wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariVogueKrabi, General Manager at Amari Vogue Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Mark R,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you loved the atmosphere, the service, the staff, your room, the pool and the food.

We are very sorry about the incident on arrival as our car was not at Phuket airport as promised. This happened because you arrived at 00.50am at Phuket airport on the day of arrival and we thought you will arrive the following night as normally rooms are not ready to check in at 03.00am. Lucky the team had your villa ready as you arrived 10 hours before check-in time. We expected you the following night. We need to apologies that we did not carefully double check with you as the flight arrival and check-in day was confusing. We all learned a lesson and we double check more carefully again in a case like this.

Nevertheless we are pleased that you were very happy with your stay and we hope to see you back by another occasion. Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Michael Vogt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent 8 nights here and it lived up to all expectations and more. We requested an ocean villa, 1103 which somebody had recommended on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. It was beautiful with a huge comfy 4 poster bed and our own private pool, heaven! All the staff were wonderful, headed by Michael the Manager who was always on hand to answer any queries etc and who made us feel very welcome and at home. We ate at the hotel for a few of the nights and the food was really good at both of the restaurants. Other nights we took the complimentary shuttle bus into Ao Nang which goes twice a day at 1300 and 1600 returning at 1630 and 2000 respectively. We also hired a scooter which was great fun from Ao Nang although the hotel has scooter hire available but as it was out of season we negotiated a good price in town. Didn't want to leave and definitely would like to return but would choose to go later on in the year as September was very wet and as its low season there is no band playing or BBQ arranged due to low occupancy of the hotel which is understandable. Thanks to Michael and his amazing staff for making our holiday a great one.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariVogueKrabi, General Manager at Amari Vogue Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Tim M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay. It was a pleasure for us to have you both here and I am sorry that you missed the staff party on the day you left.

We all hope to see you back by another time, hopefully you will be able to make it in high season (November to April) when we don't have that much rain.

Best wishes,

Michael Vogt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel with three children
They have absolutely no regard for basic health and safety.
We were never offered car seats depsite requesting them.
On one occasion while taking the shuttle to the town, they overbooked the minibus (as children appear not to count). They expected us to have one of the children on our lap.

Food was ok.
No Interconnecting rooms despite our request.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariVogueKrabi, General Manager at Amari Vogue Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Philippa R,

Thank you for sharing your views about the question if the resort is suitable for children or not. Facts are that the resort is build on a hill with many steps and therefore not suitable for a trolley. The resort has only 57 rooms on a small piece of land and has no children playground. But we have a children pool right on the beach. Rooms are unfortunately not interconnection. The only option we have is to take an Ocean Villa consisting of a bedroom and a living room. The living room can be modified into a bedroom for children.

We need to apologise about the transfer and the overbooked shuttlebus. As baby seats are not very common in Thailand, the team has tried to follow your requests. As this was back in May, I recall that we were able to provide a baby seat on your way back to the airport.

Thank again for sharing this important information with following families to Amari Vogue.

Best regards,

Michael Vogt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here for a short honeymoon trip and it was the perfect peaceful beautiful place for us. We had a fantastic room on the top floor with amazing views and a little hot tub to sit in whilst enjoying the view. The staff were friendly and helpful and brought us drinks when we were relaxing on the little beach.
The pools are quite small and not a lot of loungers but not really a problem for us. We found the food at the thai restaurant tasty although a little spicy for our own tastes. And although it might be strange to eat Italian food in Thailand, their italian restaurant by the beach had absolutely delicious food and beautiful views. Unfortunately, our planned romantic dinner on the beach on the last night of our stay had to be cancelled due to a storm but the manager refunded us no problem and we are eager to return one day so we can experience it and spend more than 3nights there! :)

Room Tip: Room 5401 is the honeymoon delux room on the top floor in the middle of the hotel. Excellent views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariVogueKrabi, General Manager at Amari Vogue Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Wendy04_12,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and posting a great picture on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for my team to learn that you enjoyed your stay and plan to be back soon again. Once again I am sorry that we had to cancel your romantic dinner on the beach due to the weather conditions, but I am sure we can catch up by the next occasion.

Thanks again for taking the time to write about us.

Best wishes,

Michael Vogt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and although the hotel was lovely we just didn't love it like the one we stayed at in Koh Samui the week before. To be fair this was mainly due to the hotel being quite empty and therefore having no atmosphere.

The hotel arranged to pick us up at Krabi airport and the transfer was done well. We checked in efficiently and taken to our room. The room was nice and had all you would expect from a quality hotel. The bed was easily the widest we have ever slept in! There was a nice balcony from which we had a good view of the sea and the many islands.

We ate in the Thai restaurant the first night (and again later in the week). The food was good but needed a nightly special to bring us back more often. As with breakfast there were never more than 2 other tables occupied so it completely lacked the atmosphere we like.

The grounds are beautifully designed on many different levels and with lovely plants and Asian elephants spraying water into the pools. There seemed very few beds for sunbathing so in this respect we were pleased there weren't many residents - if the hotel is full I would imagine there isn't enough space around the pool.

I tried the gym most days and although was small it had enough equipment in it for a holiday workout.

Most nights we left the hotel - on 2 nights we caught the free shuttle bus into Ao Nang (approx 20-25 mon ride) although as it returns at 8pm you have to eat early. The other nights we took a taxi to the Frog & Catfish restaurant (which is excellent and thoroughly recommended).

So overall this is a good hotel and great for relaxing in a secluded spot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariVogueKrabi, General Manager at Amari Vogue Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Neale1810,

Thank you very much for your review and the comments about your stay from September 2012. We can understand that you felt a lack of atmosphere as the hotel was running on a low occupancy due to the seasonality in Krabi. September is one of the months with the lowest number of tourist visiting this area. Our high season is running from November to mid April.

We hope to see you back again by another occasion and hopefully during the high season next time.

Best regards,

Michael Vogt
General Manager
Amari Vogue Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews