We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
7
19
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
19
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews during our stay samsara restaurant nice view rooms are spacious dinner show the hotel staff nice stay i'm glad interior design dinner buffet live music year old daughter robinsons mall super typhoon yolanda typhoon haiyan deluxe room ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile



It markets itself as a 3-star hotel but based on our recent experience, it seems more like a pension house with a lousy customer service.

In fairness though, food is great.

Pros:
• Delicious dinner, ala carte at the Sand Bar restaurant
• Breakfast Buffett with lots of choices
Cons:
• Only 2 towels were given, for a room good for 4 persons (we had to pay an additional 200 pesos when we asked for additional towels!)
• No hand towels were supplied in our room
• Late check ins -we arrived promptly at 2 PM but our rooms became ready at 3 PM

Overall, don't even bother to book in this crappy hotel - you can get more bang for your money in other better hotels, at cheaper prices. The food though is great so I would recommend that you just walk-in as restaurant guests.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank chinookguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, General Manager at The Oriental Leyte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi chookguy,

Greetings from The Oriental Leyte!

We regret to hear that you experienced inconvenience while staying with us and we sincerely apologize for it. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for providing us a review and for letting us know your concerns so we could correct all lapses that occurred during your stay and improve our services to meet guests' expectations.

Regarding your concern with the towels and late check-in, I spoke with the Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper to discuss this matter and come up with the best solution/strategy on how we can improve our service recovery procedure on recurring concerns from our valued guests. We will also conduct training on customer service management to all staff in order to handle guests' concerns efficiently and effectively.

We're are very much appreciative of your commendation with the food that we offer. The Oriental had been working really hard to improve the taste and presentation of our food and be able to compete with the best restaurants/hotels in the region.

Overall, we would like to express our gratitude for choosing The Oriental Leyte as your home away from home and we're still hoping that you'd give us a chance to showcase an improved service on your next stay.

Best regards,

Anito L. Lanticse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We heard a lot of good and bad about this place. Because we couldn't get our favorite place, we decided to try this one out, prepared for the worse. All in all, our stay was made enjoyable, mostly because of the very friendly staff and the unexpected evening entertainment by staff and a team of fire dancers, on Saturday they even threw in a little fireworks display at the end. The positives: staff, staff, staff, they really go out of their way to make you feel happy, the room size id also above average (compared to most upmarket hotels in the centre). The negatives: construction noise from the seawall being build, which will, once finished spoil the beachside location beyond repair (the management could mention these works and the noise they create from 7am to 7pm). Surprises you don't expect: when were 3, when we asked for extra keys, we had to deposit 500php guarantee per extra key. More surprises in the bathroom: only 2 bath towels, nothing else (when challenging the housekeeping, they apologized stating they had problems with their laundry). Rooms are advertised as being 40square meters, but they actually are 32 square meters (the missing square eters are probably counted for the outside terrace). The parking lot is full of water puddles and hence cars are haphazardly parked to avoid those puddles. Will we come back: probably we will. The wifi was agonizingly slow (less than 0.5mb up and download), barely enough. Will we recommend this hotel to others, yes but with reservations as mentioned above.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maylaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, General Manager at The Oriental Leyte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Hi Maylaka,

Greetings from The Oriental Leyte!

Thank you so much for providing us an awesome review here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable through our hospitable staff and a unique entertainment that we showcase regularly. Your commendation about our staff is highly appreciated and we would love to share it with them and they'd be happy to hear about it.

As much as we're delighted to hear all your positive remarks, your concerns are also very important to us. We regret to hear it and in behalf of The Oriental Leyte, please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience that we've caused you. The ongoing construction of the seawall is a government activity to ensure the safety and security of the community for the upcoming typhoons to hit the region and it is undoubtedly beyond of the hotel's control. We will do our best to notify all our valued guests to be fully aware of this government program through our online travel agencies until the end of the construction.

Your feedback regarding the service and the parking lot are also well noted. Please do understand that we only give 1 key card per room, regardless of the number of guests, and if would request for another one, key card deposit is refundable upon checkout. We may also have encountered some issues regarding our laundry during your stay, but that isn't a valid excuse and we will do better on your next stay. Regarding wifi, we only limit our internet for surfing and messaging in order to accommodate all our valued guests. But rest assured that we're currently processing our internet upgrade the soonest possible.

Most importantly, we are grateful for your recommendation of our hotel. It would truly be our pleasure to be of service again to you on your next stay and hopefully, we'd be able to deliver an excellent hotel experience.

At your service,

Anito L. Lanticse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Went here with my Mom and overall we had a nice stay. However, we experienced a few issues during our stay. The room that we stayed in was really nice. The room is new, the interiors looked amazing and it was very clean. However, the door to the terrace can't be locked and it took some time before it got fixed. My Mom was not able to sleep because there is one door that can't be locked.

Another issue that we had was they seem to have a problem with the generator. There were a few times where the electricity got cut during the night due to rain. But they weren't able to use a generator. The wifi is a bit slow also.

Overall, I still had a nice time. The hotel is really nice but there's a lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, General Manager at The Oriental Leyte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Anissa V,

Greetings from The Oriental Leyte!

First of all, thank you for your awesome review regarding your overall stay with us. It is very delightful to know that you were satisfied with the facility that we're offering. We cannot thank our competent housekeepers enough for doing a great job for a consistent maintenance of our rooms and its cleanliness to deliver a highly satisfactory service to all our valued guests.

On the other hand, we truly apologize for the inconvenience that we've caused you. Please do know that addressing our guests' concerns are always a top priority and we're very much appreciative of you for letting us know your feedback to make them our reference for improvements.

Most importantly, thank you for choosing The Oriental Leyte and we're hoping that you still had an amazing time with us. Rest assured that we'll do our best to meet your expectations the next time you visit our hotel for a total pleasurable experience.

At your service,

Anito l. Lanticse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel had a lovely pool, spa and dining area for the price you pay - however, we were made to feel like an inconvenience during our stay due to the poor service from the majority of the staff. This gave an uncomfortable atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank lauren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, General Manager at The Oriental Leyte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi lauren w,

Greetings from The Oriental Leyte!

We're so pleased to hear that you appreciate and enjoyed the exceptional facilities that we offer and we would also like to thank you for choosing The Oriental Leyte as your home away from home and for writing us an awesome review. It is very unfortunate to hear that you experienced inconvenience while staying with us and we sincerely apologize.

Your concern regarding our staff and the service will be discussed with our management team to execute a more intensive training and be able to maintain and deliver an excellent and quality customer service. The Oriental Leyte has been committed to making improvements in all aspects for the satisfaction of our valued guests and your review is highly appreciated on this matter.

We do hope to be given a chance to make amends on your next stay with us and we'd love to welcome you again at The Oriental Leyte with high hopes of meeting your expectations.

Best regards,

Anito L. Lanticse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

With the 5th year anniversary of typhoon Haiyan, Tacloban looks like it's getting back on it's feet. There are a few resort style hotels on offer around Tacloban and The Oriental is one of the best around. The rooms are spacious and facilities, such as pools and spas are a treat. When we stayed in April 2018, the gym was under construction, the walk way, which runs along the beach line was being built but the water and mountain views still was stunning. Don't expect too much in terms of service and knowledge from the staff. They are friendly and welcoming but that's about what your going to get from them. The clientele consist of ex pat and their family and a handful of actual tourists. It's still a bit expensive but if you hunt around for deals online, you'll find one. Will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Tacloban.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, General Manager at The Oriental Leyte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hello Marcus R,

It really is remarkably flattering and honoring to be dubbed as one of the best hotels in town, especially if such statement comes from our valued guests. Thank you for the wonderful review. We are also happy that you enjoyed our facilities and services that we're offering. Our gym will soon be opening so it'll be available for guests use maybe once you decided to come back and visit us again. We'll keep you posted thru our Facebook page. The tide embankment construction is still ongoing, but we're hoping that it'll be finished before the end of this year.

We've been conducting customer service and product knowledge training to all our staff to ensure that the hotel standard will meet the expectation of our guests. This program has been a part of a continuous progress of The Oriental Hotels and Resorts to keep up with the trend and demand of travelers and tourists both local and international.

Please visit us again soon and we can't wait to welcome you again at The Oriental Leyte.

Best regards,

Anito Lanticse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews