We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2019

We hail from Mumbai, a place of concrete Jungles. Coming to Kerala, especially Alleppey is refreshing. The Marari beach(Chethy beach)which we visited is one of the finest sandy beach in Kerala. And this place, "The Canaan" is very rejuvenating. The aura, the garden, the calmness, the natural ambience, the airy rooms and the homely food is all that one requires for a quick break from our busy schedules. The owner is also friendly and caters to our needs showing excellent hospitality.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mareenamarydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mppaulson, Owner at The Canaan Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Come again Mary thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2019

I stayed here for 2 nights with friends.
1. The place is located on the outskirts of the Allepy town.
2. The Beach is a walkable and not very crowded place also.
3. House has a total of 5 rooms and a kitchen.
4. The rooms are very nice and neat.
5. There is a tiny pool inside the house where you can chill out.
6. The owner was very friendly.
7. The food was very good. They provide stomach full home-cooked authentic Kerala food.

I loved this place, Place was cam and peaceful.

We had booked Indus Go self-drive car from Kochi to roam around. Cars were delivery and picked up from the railway station and the service was very nice. We have paid only 4000/- for 2 days 15 hours per car.

Room tip: The first floor is good for couple
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hegvin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mppaulson, Owner at The Canaan Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

The Canaan Marari is an amazing, beautiful homestay, a place to unwind and relax completely. The home is a Kerala heritage style home and the food is authentic, tasty Kerala food. The rooms were spacious and clean. There were many other recreational activities like carrom, badminton, etc and an old style swing as well. The stay is also at a walkable distance from Chethy Beach. We enjoyed our stay here and had no issues at all since the host graciously made all arrangements for us. Would love to visit again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sertina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2019

This is a great place to unwind from the busy hustles of the city. The place is filled with greenery and it's a quiet and calm place. The food was tasty and homely Kerala food and the room was spacious, clean with good hygiene. The homestay is also at a short distance from both Chethy and Marari beach. Mr. Paulson and his staff welcomed us and made all the arrangements to make our stay a pleasant one. He also arranged for our houseboat experience. Overall, we felt right at home and totally enjoyed our trip! Would love to come back here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Augustine2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

A great place to unwind with authentic Kerala cuisine. The stay is fabulous as you would see an old kerala style heritage home being converted as home stay. Clean hygienic with excellent service along with many recreational activities. We enjoyed with our team as we did not have any kind of limitations on having a party out there.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank georgekoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mppaulson, Owner at The Canaan Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Thanks for review Mr koshi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews