We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2019

The Canaan Marari is an amazing, beautiful homestay, a place to unwind and relax completely. The home is a Kerala heritage style home and the food is authentic, tasty Kerala food. The rooms were spacious and clean. There were many other recreational activities like carrom, badminton, etc and an old style swing as well. The stay is also at a walkable distance from Chethy Beach. We enjoyed our stay here and had no issues at all since the host graciously made all arrangements for us. Would love to visit again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sertina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2019

This is a great place to unwind from the busy hustles of the city. The place is filled with greenery and it's a quiet and calm place. The food was tasty and homely Kerala food and the room was spacious, clean with good hygiene. The homestay is also at a short distance from both Chethy and Marari beach. Mr. Paulson and his staff welcomed us and made all the arrangements to make our stay a pleasant one. He also arranged for our houseboat experience. Overall, we felt right at home and totally enjoyed our trip! Would love to come back here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Augustine2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

A great place to unwind with authentic Kerala cuisine. The stay is fabulous as you would see an old kerala style heritage home being converted as home stay. Clean hygienic with excellent service along with many recreational activities. We enjoyed with our team as we did not have any kind of limitations on having a party out there.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank georgekoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mppaulson, Owner at The Canaan Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Thanks for review Mr koshi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

We visited Allepey with as a team outing. Mr. Paulson helped with all arrangements of boathouse and transport. We even spent a relaxing day at his homestay. Mr. Paulson and his staff were welcoming. We had homely food. The accomodation and place was extremely clean and hygienic. He even arranged for ayurvedic massage at a nearby centre for those who were interested. All in all, we enjoyed the team outing!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rinurebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mppaulson, Owner at The Canaan Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Thanks Rebecca, welcome always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Had a great experience at the Homestay. Our Host Pauline and Paulson were exceptionally warm providing us everything we needed including the sightseeing we asked for and arranged transport for us with excellent and well mannered Driver Zubin. The home stay itself is very comfortable with spacious room in a beautiful and peaceful environment and very homely with sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner.And of course, I would definitely recommend this place to everyone I meet. The home stay is also walkable distance to Chetty beach and also very short distance ride to Marari beach far away from the hustle bustle of city. I would thank you both once again for making our stay memorable. Would love to come back soon.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IamSRB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mppaulson, Owner at The Canaan Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Thanks for the review,you are welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews