We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$105
View deal
Booking.com
$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$74
View deal
Hotels.com$105
Travelocity$105
Trip.com$105
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
65
26
5
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
26
5
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la plage beach facing decent spread exotic location open to sky shower local fishermen room service beach resort walk along the beach awesome experience arabian sea cottage sand kerala waves hospitality fishing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at La Plage. We have a great stay. A lovely place to chill after you have had a busy sight seeing tour.
We had two adjoining double rooms for 4 adults. Comfortable beds , great air con and murals on the walls . The bathrooms were covered but open aired . Not as plush as some hotels but large and had everything you ask of a bathroom. Only criticism was lack of space for clothes. A few draws would have been good.
The staff were friendly and helpful. It was my birthday whilst I was there and the staff managed to find a bunch of roses for me and created swans from towels.
Food was excellent.
The beach in front of the hotel was clean and as seen on the photo. A few fishermen work from it from time to time. The sea can be rough but we managed to swim most days.
They have been putting up a new fence and painting exterior whilst we were there. The garden is tended daily and the sand areas raked.
Overall we loved it and would be happy to return.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank SteffLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sajan Joseph, Owner at Azure Tides Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

Dear Patron,

Greetings from La Plage Marari , Kerala !
Thank you so much for your review and ratings. We look forward to be your host during your next visit to Kerala.

Best wishes.
Sajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Totally disgusting property. not worth of money cheating people show something and give something and not support at all. Take money for unused services we have not checked in their property due to unmatched things which we see online and they take our full amount of 2 night (INR16000)

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 478gauravt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 January 2020

We had 3 nights at this hotel.
Just what we wanted right on the beach. However walking further up the beach it is sad to see the sewerage..
We had a lovely spacious room, however the bathroom let it down. Very much in need of an update. We couldn’t get through the door to the outside shower and didn’t put any clothes in the wardrobe as it was so musty. Shelving and hangers would be quite adequate..get rid of the wardrobes.
Also we felt the communal areas and grounds needed a bit of tlc
The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. There is no bar at this property.
We would go back.
Thank you for a very relaxing stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E2983WLbrianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sajan Joseph, Owner at Azure Tides Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

Dear Patron,
Greetings from La Plage Marari , Kerala !
Thank you so much for your review and ratings. We look forward to be your host during your next visit to Kerala.

Best wishes.
Sajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

The location is perfect, empty, clean beach, modern, perfectly functional cottages with amazing aircon and open air bathrooms make this a very comfortable place to stay.

The food is brilliant, all the a la caste dishes are delicious and well priced. The staff make the stay even more perfect. Bibin the manager and his team are attentive and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.

It is an isolated paradise for chilling and contemplating life...and relax...

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank judithc300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sajan J, Director of Sales at Azure Tides Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Patron,

Greetings from La Plage Marari ,Kerala !

Thank you so much for choosing us as your host and we are glad to know that your experience was good.Many thanks for the positive ratings.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Sajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

La Plage Marari

This is a long and detailed review, but the upshot is that La Plage was the best place to stay in the area! Location location location! If you want to be right on a beautiful beach with direct sea views and pure relaxation then this is the place for you!

Hospitality
Sajan Joseph, the director, was helpful and reassuring in his communication prior to our arrival. He was quick to reply on WhatsApp. He arranged a car to collect us from Cochin airport, although it was very expensive. We were unable to find any Uber, Ola or other options for the journey (it was Xmas eve).
La Plage does not serve alcohol, but we managed to arrange to buy some beers to keep in the fridge in our room.

On arrival, we were met by Bibin, the hotel manager, who is the absolute epitome of excellent hospitality. He was polite, friendly, very helpful and regularly checked in on us throughout our stay

Accommodation
Our room (114) was lovely, sea facing with a huge picture window and beautiful view of the beach. An individual ‘cottage’ which comprised a large room with a big four-poster bed, plus an extra bed which we had requested. This was just a camp bed, but ok for a few days. Really good air conditioning. Lots of wardrobe space. A little fridge. A kettle. A chaise longue in the window from which to admire the view.
The bathroom out the back was huge and semi open, which I liked (good if someone makes smells!). Two wash basins. Lovely big open shower which you step down into. Plus a deep bathing area which we didn’t get around to using. Toiletries were provided.
If I were to make suggestions for the bathroom then nice additions would be: soap dishes, toothbrush holders and hand towel rails by the basins.
Another suggestion for the room would be more comfortable mattresses.

All rooms face the sea, although some were set further back and some were smaller. Ours was at the front and had a great direct view of the sea. All cottages had an outside terrace to sit and relax. Watching the sea and listening to the waves crashing. Soooo relaxing! Great sunset spot too. There were sun loungers in front of the restaurant facing the sea. It would have been nice to have loungers on the cottage terrace as well as chairs. Also a gate to the beach from outside the cottage would have been nicer than walking past the restaurant. The wire fencing obscured the view a bit if sitting down. Just small suggestions to make the place even more perfect, but really didn’t detract from our enjoyment!

Housekeeping was excellent, with daily cleaning if required (good to get the sand swept up) and fresh bottled water provided (we were sad to use so many plastic bottles though).

Food
Waiting staff will bring food and drink to you on the terrace or you can go to the restaurant only a few steps away.
The restaurant has inside and outside seating, all of which has a view of the sea.
The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive.
Breakfast buffet was standard Indian fare with freshly cooked dosas and omelettes on request. Fresh fruit, cereal, toast etc.
The A la Carte menu for lunch and dinner was really good food! The best we had in Kerala, in fact the best for our whole trip to India! And we did try several other local places for dinner, including Marari Beach Resort, but La Plage was hands down the best for traditional Keralan fare. Prawn, squid, fish and veggie dishes were all delicious. Chicken options also available. Recommend the onion pakoras, squid roast, prawn masala and vegetable jalfrezi!

Location
The location of La Plage is actually on the beach of Omanapuzha. Not Marari.
The beach at La Plage you get pretty much to yourself, apart from the fisherman who were interesting to watch, and few other guests and a few locals at sunset. It’s idyllic. The sand is pale gold, soft and clean. Surrounded by palm trees and no other development. We didn’t see any excrement, as many other places around had noted. The sea was lovely and warm. Some people would find the rip and crashing waves difficult, but they were no problem for confident sea swimmers.
There is nothing else around in the form of beach bars or cafes. For that you would have to go to Marari beach or Alappuzha (Alleppey).

Marari beach itself is actually 8km north of La Plage, a 15 minute auto-rickshaw ride, which the hotel can arrange and should only cost 200 rupees. Marari beach has a few cafes and restaurants and more going on, but is more busy and littered and to be honest we weren’t that impressed, compared with our lovely beach at La Plage.

Alleppey is about 8km south of La Plage. Again an easy auto-rickshaw ride. From there you can take the famous Kerala backwater boat trips.

All in all, our stay at La Plage was wonderful and having looked around at other places in the area we definitely picked the best! Beautiful location and pure relaxation!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 721claudinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sajan J, Director of Sales at Azure Tides Marari, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear Madam,

Greetings from La Plage Marari ,Kerala !

Thank you so much for choosing us as your host and we are glad to know that your experience was good.Many thanks for the positive ratings and the detailed review.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Sajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews