We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
49
21
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
21
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Our stay was excellent, the home stay was spotless, housekeeping delightful, breakfast great! other facilities are in excellent shape. A traditional style home stay in Kerala with all its value and tradition implemented originally. A minute distance to beach with shining ivory sands. Tasty traditional foods, especially the Stew and appam was very delicious..and forgot the name of some dish with rice flour, a kind of noodle, cooked in steam..really mouth watering…Ayurvedic centre and the owner was very kind to arrange a two wheeler for us that made our week worthy around the towns hot spots and a nice boat trip across the backwaters fringed with coconut trees..and the elephant ride..Thanks to everyone especially Anil, the Director, who was really helpful.. thank you! Our next trip to Kerala will be by the end of the year and definitely would stay here again!.. John and fly...

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designerjohnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We arrived late at night and the owner arranged a driver for us who was lovely. Jiji the host (not the owner) was very king, very helpful and sometimes a little too helpful. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. We stayed at the house for 3 nights, it's a short 5-10 minute walk to the stunning marari beach which is a must see. We personally weren't a big fan of the food at the home stay but gave it a go. Marari itself is a tiny village so I recommend using trip advisor for restaurants etc. The home stay was a great experience but I think i'd recommend maybe 2 nights which would have been enough for us. Definitely would recommend if you want to try the real india way of living.

Room tip: Jump on a tuck tuck or taxi and go to Alleppey, not far at all for more restaurant choices
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Our 1-night stay at heritage haven has been great. The host is a really nice and courteous guy. The whole property had a great flair and the building itself felt like a tree-house. The dinner he prepared for us was really rich and delicious, as well as the breakfast.

Althought the location was not right next to the beach it was only a 10min walk to get there.

Overall we would definitely recommend to stay here.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjo72, Owner at Heritage Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you Martin for your valuable review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

It was a nice experience to enjoy the owners´friendly hospitality in the pretty traditional Kerala woodden house.
We enjoyed sitting on the big swing on the verandah watching a kingfisher and herons by the pond in the garden.
The bed is comfortable, good mattress, and the food is delicous, served on white china porcellaine.
We wish Anil and Archana all the best, also for their plans to provide Ayurveda on the property.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silvia_and_tobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjo72, Owner at Heritage Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you Tobias and Silvia for the review.
Happy to know that you enjoyed the stay in our homestay.
See you later

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

A little hard to find, but with help from the locals, our rickshaw driver soon found the place and we were greeted by the wonderful Joslin. What a great host he is - full of information and suggestions as to where to go and what to see. Also, having studied Conversational English at university, we were able to have some lovely discussions with him on a variety of topics (Indian culture, English culture, education, religion, food etc etc). The room was fairly big, the hot water was plentiful and the air conditioning worked very well. Also, Wi-Fi was available in the room, which was a bonus.
The food was amazing, and freshly prepared and cooked every day by one the local ladies (by local, I mean she lives about 20 yards from Heritage Haven !). We stayed here for seven nights, and we had a different breakfast every day (always traditional Keralan) and at dinner, I cannot remember a dish being served to us twice, such was the variety (again, traditional Keralan, made with local ingredients). The homestay is about a 6 - 7 minute walk from the excellent Marari Beach (make sure you turn left at the big white cross as you reach the beach - the right side is not so nice) and within a couple of minutes walk, there are a few shops selling basics, as well as a sewing place, a barber and somewhere to get manicures and pedicures done.
Also, Joslin can advise you which temples to visit and when, so you can see real traditional dancing and ceremonies, not just the ones laid on for tourists.
So, to sum up, this is an excellent place to visit for a few days or even more, just to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Joslin is an excellent host who will look after your every need and will ensure you have excellent food. (PS, beer can be available if you let Joslin know). HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews