We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
69
21
18
19
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
21
18
19
30
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Was denied request for printing Flight tickets. Hotel didn't have printer I was told!
Couldn't get Coffee at 7pm, was told only Buffet available.
No electric kettle, hence no tea packs, absolutely no toiletries except a lowly soap, .
No Room service available.
No a la carte Meals in the evening, strictly buffet priced at Rs. 500pp. Priceless!
Worst breakfast. Milk had 80% water, Indian railways serves better tea. Bread was served cold.

What was most hilarious was the Manager's tepid attempts to suck up to caucasian tourists. He wasn't even looking at Indian guests, forget hospitality or any service or even a Hello!
Had a growl on his face even when we were checking probably considering Desi crowd as good riddance.
Mid way through the stay, I got a sinking feeling that Indian guest are considered a nuisance for
the management, who are looking to capitalise on foreign crowd, something I have also experienced while visiting UK/US themed Restaurants owned by expatriates in india.
Prices in this resort are kept higher compared to facilities on offer probably to keep Indian crowd at bay. Can't question the commercial logic since Indian are miser lot and tip conservatively I wouldn't have complained if I was visiting UK and subjected to this feeling, in India its bit of a shocker.

The resort is right on the beach and has enjoys privacy and private beach like atmosphere which is why I chose the resort.

Accessibility is an issue, its hidden from the main marai beach road and a winding kacha road connect it to main road. Choose Abad if travelling with family, desi couple may still find the privacy this resort offers tempting.

Food is absolutely limited, menu prices for a la carte are not light on the pocket but quality is pretty questionable.

The Manager needs to smell coffee and appreciate Indian guests presence.

Room tip: Choose rooms far from reception, closer to pool.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aKs_indi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is only the second review I have written on Trip Advisor but I feel compelled to write about this place in case anyone is thinking going. Please don't.

The first thing to say about this place is that it is very remote, so remote that it took our taxi an age to find it. When he did find it the beach itself was stunning and the rooms comfortable. That's as far as it goes for positives.

The service is appalling, lazy and sullen - save for the one charming, hideously overworked waiter. You don't get any complimentary water - the only place I have been to in India where this is the case. The restaurant is abysmal, all the food tastes the same - which might be good were that one taste not so revolting. This restaurant is not open all day, so if you're thirsty in the middle of the afternoon....bad luck. By a distance, this place represents the least value out of all the hotels I have been to in India.

As I mentioned, this place is remote - so there really is nothing you can do apart from suffer the miserable service, horrid food and needless expense.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orlando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location of this resort is in the middle of nowhere. The beach is ok, but it's not swimmable. The steep slop and undercurrent are too dangerous. The beach has a nice sunset though.

The room is a basic room with uncomfortable bed. The air-con didn't work. The bathroom doesn't have any shower curtain so the toilette is wet from the shower splash. If I value this hotel with $, this should be less than $25/night. The pictures on their websites are much better than the actual resorts.

The tiny swimming pool is full of bugs; it's more like a pond. There are lots of weeds on the pavement. The plants are not properly trimmed. The restaurant is ok. The Ayurvedic treatments cost twice as they are in Cochin, so I didn't try them.

The staff tries really hard but I think the owner/manager if this hotel has a lot to learn about running a resort.

I will NOT recommend this hotel to anybody.

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunnocolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel was a big mistake. It was chosen for us as part of a packaged tour. I would absolutely never stay here again. While the location is great, with the beach and all, nothing is maintained in then hotel
BAD
- the A/C does not work in the rooms. Even after we complained and they changed our room, the new room"s A/C did not work. They blamed it on power fluctuations and did nothing about it.
- the rooms are not cleaned during your stay, so the large number of ants in the rooms are never swept away
- they have a pool, but it is infested with bugs, so you wouldn't want to swim in it. I guess it is just for looks?
- we ate three meals in the restaurant, 2 breakfasts and one dinner. The staff tried hard, but the food was certainly not up to the standard you would have expected.
GOOD
- there is a nice beach in front of the hotel. You cannot swim in he ocean tho because of the strong undertow current. Be careful!!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_guru2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It was one of my worst stay throughout...this totally spoilt my whole kerela trip...the cahrges were high and so expectation were there...they were as good as any one star service...management,service,food everything was terrible..the property had some villege theme but everything had a problem.beach which say always put as their USP...u cant even go to beach as there are so many crabs all the time...in the room,phone and hot water doesnt work.for food...you have to give order at 11 for lunch..No room service.hotel is located deep inside..no local people knows about this resort.we tool long time to find out.rooms are of any 1 or 2 start quality.Management is poor..and service is horrible...They don't have any eminities and they call themself as 4 star.they dont have any indoor games as well as outdoor games,,Swiming pool is the smallest i have seen..it starts and ends at the same place..pool is full of mosquitos..they dont clean at all...basically its totally waste of money.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SushilSurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews