We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
18
31
17
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
31
17
16
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Let me get the good out of the way first... great view of Sosua Beach, nice lobby, and the room was generally clean. Now for what matters....

Checked in and the check in staff was okay. Went to my room and immediate went to the bathroom after a long day of traveling, and the toilet would not flush. Okay, sh** happens. So happened this was a 2 queen bed room and I reserved a king room, so I went back to the lobby and they accommodated me with a new room.

Went to the new room... king bed as ordered. Couldn't get the lamps next to the bed to come on. After trying everything, i finally noticed the problem (see pictures). One of the lamps wouldn't come on at all.

Inside the new room's bathroom, one of the bulbs was burned out, and the shower/tub was old. Later if discovered, there was not hot water... maybe luke warm at best depending on the time of day, but morning or night it was cold. The valve to divert the water to the tub vs the shower did not work...so i was basically only a shower.

There was no telephone in the room, so if you needed anything, you had to walk.

There was a fridge.. mine worked fine.

Room had wifi... worked fine, but slow.

Took a swim in the pool.. water was comfy and it looks great, until you get a closer look at the pool light with is open exposing potential wires??? I guess they want it to be shockingly beautiful.

Ate one day at the restaurant. Had breakfast... I figure who can screw up breakfast right? They did. Bacon, eggs, and toast. Eggs were okay, toast was hard as a rock, and I didn't see any actual meat on my bacon... it was 100% fat. Needless to say, with many other good restaurants in town, we never ate there again.

Bottom line... this place is O-L-D and in need of some serious updating. I will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own hot water!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a place right on the ocean, this is perfect. It has an amazing pool and the restaurant is decent. That's where the good review stops. Wifi is terrible and it is everytime we come. The rooms are outdated and 1-star at best. Hard beds, thin pillows. Don't stay on the beach until after dark because they close the gate coming into the hotel and you have to walk around the street.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rexanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Beginning at reception, they take your bags and tell you to be seated and then call on you over the course of an hour. Afterwards, you arrive at your room without towels nor functioning internet. When you report the situation to the manager, they blame housekeeping and the internet company without taking responsibility. Also, saying that you're can't be moved and are obligated to have internet in room despite what website States. The general manager ( Lisa polanco) deals with situations by playing in her iPhone and trying to out wait your patience.
A horrible experience for all!!!

Room Tip: Do not spend your money here!!! The Worst Customer Service Ever!!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JJ I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I stayed here a few times. Good Location, close to the beach. nice room with views. need a bit updating, but price is okay. service was okay. security on site. small reception area. you can get breakfast included and dinner for more money or you can pay for it separately. good restaurant and massage on site as well.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ccL6091KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The hotel is at the end of the street away from all the loudness and craziness of the Sosua main street where all the bars are located which is one of the best things about this place. The other good thing is the view, you absolutely have one of the best views of the ocean at this hotel...The people who work here are also friendly and most speak a bit of English...That is about it as far as positive things about this place. It is a decent place to stay if you are traveling alone if you can get the place for a deal...The place has huge potential if they would just update some of the basics and invest in upkeep of their rooms. I will list the pros and cons.

Pros
Location, away from all the noise and I believe all rooms are beachfront views
Staff are friendly and helpful and speak English for the most part
Sometimes they have a $45 deal per night
Walking distance from the main beach and walking distance from the Sosua strip where the bars, stores, casino, etc is located
Each time I have visited, the place has been generally clean inside the rooms.
The grounds/landscaping is very nice here..
Security available 24/7.

Cons
-Rooms are EXTREMELY OUTDATED..I last rented the Penthouse 1BR Suite which has TONS of potential but, furniture is extremely outdated, no HDTVS and the TVS are still the big back tv's from the early 2000's...The stove did not work...The shower barely puts out a decent stream, light bulbs were missing from lighting fixtures everywhere... I regretted renting this room because it was 5x the amount as the standard room and definitely not worth having all of these problems...This place needs to invest in the basic things for their rooms such as the lighting, towels, etc.

-I dont necessarily use washclothes or towels at hotels, but each day housekeeping left ONE wash cloth...and two towels... The room had a in-room jacuzzi, but no towels for it.. Come on VH, get some towels for your guest!!

-Wristband...This is the only place that I know of that requires its guest to wear a wristband...What this does is put you had a huge risk...you are wearing a wristband that says "VICTORIAN HOUSE", so EVERYONE knows where your hotel is.. Walking down the street, people see the white wristband on your wrist and know where you sleep..that is a huge security risk... This is not an all inclusive property...wristbands need to be eliminated...I would much rather flash my ID and check in with security when I return to my room instead of letting everyone on the strip know where I am sleeping at night. The rooms use keys with the room # on it, so again, this goes back to the hotel being extremely outdated...

-Kitchen in the penthouse suite...stove did not work, the sink did work...and it did not have a microwave, I am guessing because it had a non-working stove?

-Accessibility, some rooms are on the first level, but the rest are either upstairs or downstairs with no elevator..so if you are reserving a room and cannot do stairs, you will need to reserve a specific room type on the ground level. Penthouse suites are up 3flights of stairs..and some other rooms are down three-4 flights of stairs...spa rooms are on the ground level.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is quiet which is good.. If you are handicap, you need to choose a room on ground level as there are no elevators..
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank waynel779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews