We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive!”
Review of La Casita De Papi

La Casita De Papi
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casita de Papi has been serving the finest seafood on Cabarete Beach for 20 years. Join us and dine with sand under your feet, the sound of ocean waves gently rolling and the stars and palm trees above. See you soon!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Food and service was good but the prices are ridiculous. The also automatically tack on a 10% gratuity and a 16% tax. There are many other places for much less money that are every bit as good or better.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    191
    60
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“amazing fish and seafood”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Fish and seafood were so fresh and delicious. Right on the beach. Thier white wine sauce is out of this world, as is their Cream Coconut curry sauce. yum!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smarties43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A group of us went one evening and were seated at a table closest to the water. Musician's went from table to table and would play for you if payed. We ordered various appetizers, 4 platters of the baby lobster, spaghetti, 2 bottles of red wine, cocktails, desserts, and coffee. It worked out to $50pp which included a tip. The food was amazing and I came very close to licking the bottom of the platter that held the lobster with cream sauce as it was to die for. I found the service attentive and had no complaints. I would love to go back and highly recommend this restaurant.

I will say that I do agree with an earlier review about the state of the washroom.....it WAS gross.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank w0rld2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good good, bad service”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Food here is excellent, but service is terrible. Not only is it slow but they are unaccomodating. They made each of us have three separate checks, one for food, one for drinks, and one for dessert. We brought 25 people in for dinner and they told us to never come back because it wa thats too much trouble to handle that many people. I wished I had a business where 25 people came at a time to spend that kind of cash on a meal. Thumbs down; you should be ashamed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ala Papi is Delightful”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We ate dinner here one night. Cool place right on beach in Cabarete. We sat upstairs, which has a cool view of the ocean about 100 yards away.

We got the Shrimps ala Papi. The sauce is like a champagne cream sauce. There is a lot of garlic in it, but a bunch of other stuff too. They serve it right in the pan. If you like serious flavor you can't go wrong eating here.

We received very good service here as well. The DR like many Caribbean countries has a very slow pace of service. While we've come to respect it, Papi did have a little quicker service (like in the US) than you usually get in the DR, which we thought was good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frostdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casita De Papi also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to La Casita De Papi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing