We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return many times and always bring more friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
CAlgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will return many times and always bring more friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Initially we searched for a place to stay in Cabarete that would be great for our young family and close to friends who were all staying at another location. Lets just say the friends were all so impressed that they all decided to stay in Nanny the following year for a friends wedding. I believe we rented almost 50% of the units. We will be back year after year with our family. All units have a view. The staff are great. We now have new friends that either live there or return year after year. On the beach... great to launch a kite or if the wind dies down a quiet beach to relax. A shared community pool. Quiet evenings away from the hustle of Cabarete but close enough to join into the festivities at a moments notice. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

After several days at Cabarete, walking the beach, my teenaged son said, "we definitely got the best spot!" To be sure, CBH at Nanny Estate is an ideal location, close enough to walk to town and the beach restaurants, or Kite Beach in the other direction, and just far enough away for a tranquil setting (except for the steady beat of music at night down the beach somewhere). The condos are spacious and comfortable; the gardens are pristine and lovely. A perfect base for kiteboarding. And we loved the lounger chairs overlooking the beach. Plus Lourdes, Rubin and the other staff were friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.

There were, however, a few missteps that could be improved. For example, there were no welcome drinks on arrival, as promised. There was no binder of handy information on the property, tours and restaurants in our condo, as promised in a welcome letter. (It would have been nice to see some menus of restaurants or a listing of recommended ones, maybe a map of the local area, where to get groceries, details on the condo's and property's services, etc.). Beach towels that cost $4/week each were never replenished. Curtains on the back bedroom failed to dull an outside bright light at night. And the airport transfer covered in the price was one-way only (on arrival), a misunderstanding we realized only when our taxi driver called back to the property manager Maria as he dropped us off at the airport! Finally, while all the other staff made us feel very welcome, I can't really say we felt the same warmth from Maria (whom I might have expected to glance up from her computer when we arrived). These are small things really but they do leave an impression.

All in all, I would highly recommend CBH - it was exceptional value and an excellent option for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D3TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed at the nanny estates for 10 days in August. We rented the Poolside villa that had 3 bedrooms and a huge living room and kitchen. At approx $100/night is was an amazing bargain. We found the location to be perfect. Slightly out of town, the beach was less crowded and did have all the beach vendors which could be annoying at times. However, it is only a 10 minute walk along the beach to the center of town. At night, it is only a $5 cab ride back to the estates. Most nights we ate in town which was reasonable (considering the 36% tax rate was very good). We took a taxi back since we did not want to walk on the beach ate night.

Right outside our door was a pool and a few hundred feet the beach. The staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. They supplied tennis racquets and balls, boogie boards, and would arrange just about anything you could want. The staff was always cleaning, including the villa. While there I would suggest horseback riding on beach ( they will bring horses right to estate) and the beach at Sousou. They also arranged a great driver for airport pickups . Contact the estate or call Aviles directly at [--].

I read the message boards about safety but we really had no problem with safety. The locals were always nice and helpful. The country is 3rd world so it is different. Bring your kids here instead of going to something like disney. We went right to Atlantis in the Bahamas right after Cabarete, and to be honest we had a much better time in DR for 1/4 the cost.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtonmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

My wife and I and our 16 year old daughter just returned from a one week stay at the Cabarete Beach Houses at the Nanny Estates and we were pleased enough that we decided to do something unheard of for us--submit this review. I will try to make it helpful in the areas we lacked info in for those considering future travel to Cabarete in general and this place specifically, especially for travel in the summertime.

First, a general comment on the Caribbean and the DR at this time of year: yes it is hot, and it is definitely humid. But we were pleasantly surprised that as long as we were down by the beach, with the winds that blow this time of year in Cabarete, it was very comfortable. Walking around town during the afternoon on the pavement was not pleasant, and we ended up doing very little of that. We found the evenings to be comfortable even in town. Considering that we are from Arizona and are not at all used to humidity, we did just fine with the weather conditions and would definitely go back this time of year.

As to Cabarete specifically as a vacation destination, we loved it and found it a perfect blend of still small enough to have real character and culture/ yet developed enough to have anything one needed at their fingertips and PLENTY to do. We found the people there to be warm and engaging, although the people hawking stuff on the beach and the streets can wear a bit thin. We tried to keep in mind that they are just making their living, and we found that the vast majority of the time a polite 'No gracias' sufficed. The fact that the tourist base is very international, with Americans making up a small percentage, especially at this time of year, made it all that much more interesting to us. It was helpful that I speak some Spanish, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to non-spanish speakers as well. The beach here by the way was great--Bozo beach, the main beach area in Cabarete for swimming/body surfing etc, was beautiful and the water was great. We have heard some people make negative comments about the beaches here but we strongly disagree, and feel they are first-rate as long as you're not looking for white sand.

Now, specifically to the Nanny Estates. We originally had traded a timeshare week through RCI for a different place in Cabarete, but had read some pretty unfavorable reviews and really thought we could get more value by just paying for a better quality of place--the rates in Cabarete are after all very competitive. The decision turned out to be a good one. The freedom of having a condo with a full-service kitchen is great in a place like this, and we did some grocery shopping upon arrival and prepared our own breakfasts and lunches. We really wanted to enjoy dinners at the great little local restaurants on the beach in Cabarete, and not having an all-inclusive that we felt obligated to get our money's worth for freed us up to do so. A word on the supermarkets--I really don't recommend the closer of the two 'supermarkets', Rosa's. It's small, it smells, some of the groceries are questionable as to their freshness. And it's quite a bit more expensive than Janet's, which is down at the end of the main strip in town. Janet's is a real grocery store with real aisles and a real produce department and butcher counter, and things look fresh and safe.

We found the accomodations at the Nanny Estates to be even more than we had expected. First, we have to give big kudos to Maria and Lourdes for really making us feel welcome, and for being there with helpful advice and answers whenever we had questions (tours, restaurants, shopping transpo, etc). We had asked Maria to arrange for our transportation from the airport at Puerto Plata, and it went much more smoothly than we expected. We have a timeshare in Puerto Vallarta and we have always hated being mobbed by people trying to sell us rides from the airport immediately upon getting through Customs. Here, there was none of that and the driver was waiting for us with a little card with our name on it. The cost of this ($35) was just added to our bill--well worth avoiding the hassle. By the way, as others have noted there is a fee for going through Customs here, it was $10 per person. No big deal and it added maybe 2 minutes for us.

Upon arrival Lourdes showed us our unit, #A-6. It was not one of the deluxe units, but it was clean and well-furnished, with everything we needed including nice portable phone, computer modem (wired in this unit), dish soap, a water cooler with a full 5-gallon bottle on it, full-sized refrigerator, TV (we never even turned it on), small stereo, and even quite a few paperback novels on the shelf. There is AC in both bedrooms, room-sized units that operate with remote controls. They do a great job for the bedrooms, which are upstairs, really don't have an effect on the downstairs living area. We found that by keeping the front door open and the back door also (it had an iron-bar security door), and with the two ceiling fans downstairs, we got plenty of air movement and even at this time of year it was comfortable. For my money, AC in the bedrooms like this is definitely preferrable to make nights sleeping more comfortable.

The maid service each day (except Sundays) was wonderful, and our lady did a great job. As others have noted, a small tip for the staff members goes a long way. We left a couple of hundred pesos (about $5) each day for the maid. Up to you what you choose to do. We always had fresh towels and she even put any dishes we had in the drying rack away into the cabinets.

Some others have touched on the safety/security issue, so I will too: we never, ever felt unsafe at any moment during our stay. We did pay for the safe in our room ($3 per day), and kept our valuables in it. Didn't bring a laptop, wouldn't fit in the safe unless its a netbook or such. There is security very apparent (a man at each side of the complex--beach and street) from around 6pm to 7am each night, and during the daytime there is so much staff always cleaning, maintaining the landscape etc, it's hard to imagine much of a problem. We took care not to take unnecessary risks, for example we took taxis home after going out each evening rather than walking home along the beach. Honestly we saw many others on the beach at night though and really didn't see it as a major concern. Taxis by the way are 200 pesos for anywhere to anywhere in Cabarete (for a car) and 55 pesos for a Moto taxi (a motorbike) which we were not brave enough to try (and there were three of us so that was out). The walk to the restaurants on the beach from Nanny Estates by the way is an easy one, and we found it pleasant to start out just before nightfall, a little after 7 or so and it was a 15 minute walk.

Finally, a word on tours. We took the snorkel tour offered by Mel Tours (take a 1-1/2 hour 'safari' to a small marina where you board a Catamaran for a 1-1/2 hour trip to a small cove). If you expect the unexpected and can roll with the punches you'll probably enjoy it. If you expect it to be just as advertised you will feel ripped off. The snorkeling was basically a joke but we really enjoyed seeing more of the area and interacting a bit with some locals during the trip.

Bottom line we loved our stay at the Nanny Estates in Cabarete and will almost defintely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We just came back from Cabarete where we rented a condo at Nanny Estate. This is a really good place where to stay with a family for the following reasons:

- Excellent and friendly staff, although it helps to speak Spanish.
- Safe area for little children.
- Quiet place at night.
- Lots of knowledgeable people living here for years.
- Charming area.
- Nice condos.

The condo was clean, the sofa was brand new, the kitchen well furnished, and all the electronics were working. Our bed was very comfortable and there was ample storage room. There is a safe for your valuable in the main room.
We missed a little more of "personal touch" in the decoration, but that did not alter our stay! One should also beware with the stairs, as children may easily fall. The room facing Cabarete (not the beach) was not dark enough at night, because of a light right outside the house. It's also a little noisy, because there's a Dominican bar not too far away. This did not affect our son's sleep by any mean :-)

Some kiteboarding comments:
- One can inflate its kite right in front of the house, on the lawn (awesome!). The staff knows how to rig, start and land kites (really awesome!).
- Cabarete kite school is about 5 min walking down the beach.
- The beach in front of the condo is mainly used by beginners and there can be (too) many kites in the air when the wind is good.
- The water is choppy this time of the year.
- The location is about 5-10 min away from Kitebeach...

Other comments:
- Major restaurants are "downtown". This means a 15 min walk by the beach or a 25-50 pesos moto ride, or a 30 pesos 'guagua' ride or finally a 200 pesos taxi ride. There's a good Japanese about half way between the condo and Cabarete center. There's a delicious restaurant about 2 min away by the beach.
- Supermercado Rosa is good compared to others and not far away (5 min walking along the main street). The Pharmacy is right next to it and it has a lot of goods.
- The walk at night along the beach seemed safe (although people tend not to recommend it). There are armed guards (yes armed with shotguns!) in front of the Ocean Dream resort and in front of the Tangerine (ie: 2/3 of the walk). Furthermore you will meet a lot of other tourists.
- The whole condo is very secure too. The staff runs after any unauthorized person, whether this person is a Dominican or a tourist. So beware if you bring any friends!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will probably come back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikotttin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.1 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 km away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

Property: Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Address: Calle Principal - Area Bahia De Arena | Cabarete, Cabarete 11111, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,121
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean two story two bedroom townhouses are surrounded by beautiful tropical landscaping on private oceanfront property overlooking Cabarete Bay . Our property offers a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and free parking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabarete Beach House At Nanny Estates Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing