We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Del Carmen
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Not a bad place to be but the rooms can be a little noisy at times. Could hardly close the front door. Not much in the room but the beds were OK. Breakfast not too bad. However had a hard time to find this hotel until a taxidriver drove in front of us to tell where it was. So get yourself a map or directions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Hotel Del Carmen is located in the best possible location in the center of Tuxtla, just a couple of blocks from the Parque de la Marimba, the only nice place in this not very pretty city. From reading the reviews from others, I had set my expectations up for "roughing it" a couple of nights, but the experience was still a shock. The hotel is in desperate need of upgrading and the rooms/bathrooms need cleaning. In addition there was a strong musty smell which went into my clothes. The staff was friendly and helpful though, and the restaurant was not bad and it was definitely very convenient to have a restaurant on site. The price for staying in a musty, dark little room was very high however, like another reviewer said, for $25 a night it would be OK to rough it for a couple of nights, but this hotel was the most expensive of all the ones I stayed in during my 3 week trip, and the other ones were great! It seems that there is nothing better available though in the center of Tuxtla, and the lack of tourism and competition lets most of the hotels get away with this. So given the choices, I was still happy to be in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salsaretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Place has a good location, quiet rooms but is in desperate need of upgrading. The bathrooms, the room, everything is old and very worn. I wouldn't have minded if the price would have been about half of the $45 +/- USD we paid. We talked to travel agents and taxi drivers and they all said the place has had it's day. There is a new hotel a couple of blocks away, closer to Parque Mirimba (a must visit in the evenings) called Parque Mirimba. We didn't check it out as our stay was ending but everyone was recommending it. The restaurant Jaquar, caddy corner from the park was wonderful, great service, try the cream of Chipolin soup, but stay away from the beef (overcooked) The town square and cathedral was a disappointment, but the canyon is a must see.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovinvallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This is a more of a "nice budget style hotel", but the rooms are clean, (bathrooms are just ok), the courtyard is pleasant, it feels very safe, and the staff was super nice. The little restaurant attached served up some really good food- we had an amazing lunch there. I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
2  Thank crwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I spent two nights at the Hotel del Carmen. It is a budget hotel, so its amenities are limited, but it is clean, the bed was comfortable, and an interior courtyard offered a pleasant place to sit in the evenings. And the staff—Ma and Luis in particular—could not have been more helpful despite a language barrier (they did not speak English and my Spanish is extremely limited). My room did not have air conditioning, but did have a remarkably effective ceiling fan; unfortunately, the heat was even more remarkable, so I did have a few uncomfortable moments. The hotel’s location suited my interests quite well—it is just a few short blocks from the pleasant Parque Marimba and a relatively easy walk to the main Plaza Civica. One small note of caution: The hotel’s web-site indicated that the room rate includes breakfast; it did not.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#11 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
12 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#10 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
95 reviews
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#6 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#4 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
287 reviews
2.2 km away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
500 reviews
2.2 km away
Quality Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Quality Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#12 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Carmen

Address: 2a sur Poniente No. 826 | Excelente Ubicación en el Centro de Tuxtla, a dos cuadras del Parque de la Marimba., Tuxtla Gutierrez 29000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range: ₹ 1,955 - ₹ 2,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the best location at the center of Tuxtla Gutierrez, only two blocks down from the famous Marimba Park, around restaurants, shops, we offer tours everyday to the best atractions, internet for free, valet parking ( not charge) . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Carmen Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing