We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
9
2
0
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
2
0
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This is a great family owned and operated hotel. Great service, great room, great location and great people. The food was excellent and a full breakfast was included ! The only regret is that we could not stay longer ! We would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: They were all great rooms !
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GlenM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We recently stayed at the Mayan Secret Hotel Boutique in order to explore the beautiful Bacalar lagoon and its surroundings. Sadly this hotel is tremendously overpriced for the quality of the rooms. It advertises itself as a boutique hotel, and they charge you as if it were. Unfortunately, the hotel is in urgent of a renovation and get rooms and dinning area to the level they should have in order to charge the prices they are paying for.

Luckily, we didn't have dinner there, but went into town. Breakfast turned out to be horrible. The chef doesn't know that eggs need to be scrambled before putting them in the pan. The only nice thing is the location just outside of the city of Chetumal, and its pool area. All in all, a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leticiaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayan Secret H, Manager at Mayan Secret Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We're very sorry for your bad experience, we have a new management and we're taking care of your comments, we would like to invite you as a courtesy for you to try our new service and renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
Mayan Secret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We were looking for a get-away over Christmas that allowed dogs - we could not leave our little pooch behind! Comfortable room and bed, with great jetted soaker tub in room. Quiet off the highway location, with pretty groomed lawns. Good swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mayan Secret Ecoturismo Boutique Hotel opened recently (december 2013) just beetwen the city of Chetumal and the heavenly lake of Bacalar.
I had a great stay. Rosa, the Owner and Director warmly welcomed me.
They are building a spa, which will be operating by the end of summer.
And also, a gourmet restaurant should soon opened within the hotel.
They offer a nice pool, spacious and confortable suites, and there is even a chapel within the hotel domain.
All the ingredients to escape beaches resort and enjoy quietly the nature in Chetumal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Florie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Me gustó mas la planta alta con la vista del balcón
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax819351, Manager at Mayan Secret Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews