We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Los Cocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Cocos
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Great location in Chetumal, Good onsite restaurant, comfortable rooms. Only possible drawbacks are small pool and wifi issues (slow wifi), I've stayed here multiple times and it's a great value for the nightly rate.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Was there for the night only, checked in very late and left early. Room met our needs. Water was hot, towels were a bit old. Did not use any facilities - everything was closed when we got there and were just opening when we left. We had early appointment so couldn't stay and enjoy. Maybe our next stay will be better.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Modern clean hotel with simple restaurant not delicious. But nice rooms with good functioning sanitair and airco. Quiet so you sleep well. WiFi available. Many rooms, not a family
Hotel, more business.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rinus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Los Cocos is easy to find and in a good location - safe for travelers and near businesses, shopping and some local culture (museum, mercado, monuments and a small park). Streets are well-paved with level sidewalks, hilly, but easy to walk. The hotel itself was clean, offering rooms with hot and cold water (and good water pressure), mini fridges, a/c, TV, phone, small table/chairs, closet, room service, etc. There was a pool and jacuzzi in the garden. The restaurant had good food of a nice variety, well plated, tasty, huge portions (the two of us could have ordered only one lunch or dinner item, split it and been stuffed), delicious breakfasts with proper crispy bacon! In every area, the staff were courteous, smiling and helpful. If we reported problems (the TV remote needed batteries, the phone wasn't connected to front desk...) they fixed them right away. Bonus for folks with limited Spanish: the reception and restaurant staff are multi-lingual. There's a terrific service right outside in the loading area of reception where you can rent a car or engage Daniel who will drive you where you want to go or take you on private tours of the city or nearby sites for quite reasonable fees - he gives you value for your money with information about the history and culture en route. He went out of his way to find something we wanted to see and when we got there but it was no longer available, he offered us another choice. We took two trips with him and are very happy with his efforts and the front desk for suggesting him. Things for improvement include: the mini fridge turned into a freezer and we could not get it adjusted - great for ice, bad for insulin. There is no soundproofing – bring earplugs if you cannot stand the noise of a lot of activity all night long. During our stay, there were band students practicing and/or tweens and teens running up and down the halls banging on doors and hollering, blow dryers at 2:00am, people in the pool after midnight and before 8:00am. It’s not Los Cocos’ fault if parents are letting their kids run around all night or adults are partying, you just need to be prepared if you need quiet for sleep. There is a man happily and loudly playing keyboards and singing throughout breakfast, so it is difficult to discuss anything – we didn’t like that, but some must or they wouldn’t keep doing it. We like a little dinner music, but he is not there for other meals. They don't want you to use glass for drinks at the pool (which is great) but they only provide glass in the rooms, so, while in the restaurant, remember to ask for "plastic cups" (which are actually Styrofoam) and hide them in the fridge or drawer (if you leave them setting out, housekeeping will think they are used and toss them). They have signs in the bathrooms about saving water and leaving your towels so they'll know if you will use them multiple days without laundering, but they replace them anyhow, so a nod to their intent, but a nudge to their training. The free WiFi is spotty, you must log in separately for different areas of the hotel and the connections go in and out. I tried to keep up with work emails, but the WiFi would drop the connection every 45 minutes to an hour, so take note. We reserved online, where most of their competitors seem to have updated decor and although it isn't necessary because the hotel is so clean and well laid out, if you want the “spa look”, colonial, or Mayan modern, it won’t be here. Still, all in all, we were comfortable and welcomed for 4 days and would recommend Los Cocos as a great value to people who want this price range and location. Truly, the staff and service are super!

Room Tip: Parking opens on to the garden pool area so has easy access to rooms, but is subject to availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeshatruB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The receptionist was friendly and courteous as they welcomed us to the hotel. The room was clean and nice. It had clean bathroom, a little small but well equipped with closet, blow dryer, clean towels etc. We were two adults and 2 kids and we had 3 beds, There was a little fridge to put our drinks in and a private balcony. The outdoors had lots of flowers around the pool and jacuzzi. Later I met the owner and his wife casually and he offered us 50% discount if we stayed another night. He told us he was the cleaner. I asked the receptionist who he was and he said he is the owner. "Really!" The hotel is also raffling 3 cars in March 2017, and he offered us some tickets to participate. The hotel also has a restaurant so you can eat there as well. The only thing was a set back was we had a long wait for a taxi and it was about 15 minutes from the maull if you want to shop there on your trip. They said it only happens when it rain and it was raining the night when we were trying to get a taxi. The following morning was better. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHylton60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.5 km away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
666 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
112 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#6 of 20 in Chetumal
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
285 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marlon
Hotel Marlon
#10 of 20 in Chetumal
51 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Noor
Hotel Noor
#7 of 20 in Chetumal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Heroes 134 | Center, Chetumal 77090, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range: ₹ 3,333 - ₹ 3,782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cocos 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cocos Hotel Chetumal
Los Cocos Chetumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing