We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Google
Ways to Experience Dzibanche
from US$ 128.21
More Info
from US$ 107.70
More Info
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
182
28
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
182
28
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise ship mayan ruins our tour guide spider monkeys long drive great trip well worth the trip mexican jungle indiana jones the main highway site costa potholes bacalar howlers pyramides uxmal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2020

This is well worth the trip out here. There were only two other visitors and it was so atmospheric. Cash only to get in, but its not expensive. Watch out for tree roots and plaques embedded in the ground when you're walking around looking up at the ruins. I didn't and I had the cuts and bruises to show for it.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank GillJezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2020

We visited independently. The road out there from the main highway is great until the last 6 kms and then it is incredibly potholed and slow going. The site consists of three pyramids which you can climb up set in farmland. We enjoyed it as there were so few people there - ourselves plus 8 others on and off and we could sit and eat lunch at the top of a pyramid undisturbed. It was the first set of ruins we had seen after Tulum so it was a great first experience but doesn't compare to the larger ruins such as Calakmul and Uxmal.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank realtangobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

We visited Dzibanche from a cruise ship parked at Costa Maya. Our tour guide, Danial Lamban, made this one of the highlights of the cruise. Daniel was a nearly full blooded Mayan Indian and gave us a complete history of the Mayans as well as the cultural aspects of the Dzibanche city. His degree in architecture allowed him to provide some unique insights into the city.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank ahaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

Hard to get without a car or organised bus your. For that reason not we were only ones in that ruins. Security guy gave us free tour (Yes! Free in Mexico!). I insisted for a small tip. Ruins are well preserved. Plenty of iguana and monkeys. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank mpiwons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020

This site is a good one, in the Rio Bec group, and is relatively close to several others, so you can easily do 2-3 in a day (Kinichna is very close, and Kohunlich is south by an hour or so.) Start early to avoid crowds. We tried to arrive at as many sites by 8am as possible, which worked well. On Sundays sites are free for locals, so will be more crowded.

I believe this site was one that was very well taken care of by the staff. I also recall seeing Spider Monkeys, but it may not have been here. Do keep on the lookout for them. They are smaller and quieter than Howlers, which are larger, darker, and have a fearsome roaring communication style. They can freak you out if you've not heard them before! We definitely saw and heard them at several sites, I just can't recall which was which.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank 179NancyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews