We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family fun!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent 3 amazing nights and days enjoying this authentic Thai retreat. Our children loved elephant trekking and learned so much from the mahouts. We also ventured to Myanmar and Laos on a day trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide Annan was extremely knowledgeable and took us to many interesting places. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and accommodating. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a true, non commercial Thai experience. April skies are gray and ashy due to crop burning, so you may want to visit during a different month if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamelsnSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 569 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

The resort is beautiful. The location is first class with views over Burma and Laos. As you wake up you can hear the elephants.

It's a proper taste of authentic Thailand in the golden triangle.

The food served was fantastic with plenty of options.

The only two potential downsides were the prices for most things and the rooms weren't large.

The opium museum is brilliant and located just outside the resort gates. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Situated across Burma and Laos, we loved the place. We didn't understand the price they charge for the stay, as the hotel is beautiful but not incredibly amazing. The experience with the elephants was very nice, and even though the organization of our activities was sometimes not very good (they forgot about one of it and tried to put it together, no communication about it, the expert of baby elephants didn't seem to know a lot...) we liked the elephant park and the swim we had with them was super cool. Eventually it was a good experience.
We were traveling with our adult son and were quite surprised to find a camp bed in the room as a second bed. In relation to the price we paid this didn't suit our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninisuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Anantara Golden Triangle resort while filming our TV series Animal Mechanics with the world's only wildlife osteopath, Tony Nevin, treating the elephants at the Golden Triangle Asian Elephant Foundation (GTAEF) and we simply could not have done it without them.
After working hard in high temperatures with huge humidity as the weather teetered on the edge of the 'green season' the hotel was a haven to come back to.
All the staff are real characters and couldn't do enough for us. The views from the hotel are amazing and having breakfast with Meena and her mahout, Lunn, as she visited every morning is an experience non of us will forget.
I thought you may like to see the trailer for our UK TV series it certainly gives you an idea of how loved and cared for the elephants are with vets on site and mahouts who treat them as one of the family.
Look out for Baby Phil.
Thank you Anantara and the GTAEF keep up the wonderful work.
http://youtu.be/8z_-EdiL0X0

Room Tip: If you have problems walking up and incline get rooms in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittensmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Overpriced for mediocre food and location. It's a nice hotel, just not worth what they want to charge for it. Seeing the elephants was really cool however we stayed for 4 nights and it wasn't worth it. We actually left a night early due to the amount of smoke in the area- it was hard to breathe due to farmers clearing their land with brush fires. There isn't much to do outside the hotel so I wouldn't recommend staying for too long. Our room felt old and worn out, and our "3 country view" was nothing special. We would have preferred to stay somewhere else (we thought the Le Meridien was much nicer in Chiang Rai city and a third of the cost).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MultipleMiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
1.4 km away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
12.1 km away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
34.3 km away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0.7 km away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
36.3 km away
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Address: 229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: ₹ 57,992 - ₹ 1,09,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into 160 acres of ancient jungle in northern Thailand, Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort rests on a bluff overlooking the fabled convergence of two rivers and three countries. The region also boasts a rich cultural heritage, as seen in the many hill tribe peoples or at the Hall of Opium Museum. At Anantara Golden Triangle, the natural and cultural merge at our unique onsite Elephant Camp, modelled on traditional mahout villages and home to the resort’s very own gentle giants. Book any of our indulgent All Inclusive Packages and enjoy the following benefits:•Accommodation with daily buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner for every night stayed•Roundtrip transfers from and to Chiang Rai Airport•Beverages (select range of non-alcoholic drinks, house wine, beer and spirits)•Internet access•In-room mini bar•One time visit to the Opium Museum•One activity for every night stayed from a choice of:oElephant Camp ExperienceoLanna Cooking ClassoAnantara Spa TreatmentoGolden Triangle Private ExcursionWhatever the experience, your Golden Triangle story begins with Anantara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Golden Triangle Resort And Spa
Anantara Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Anantara Resort Golden Triangle
Anantara Hotel Golden Triangle
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Chiang Rai Province/Chiang Saen, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing