We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down after being promised a lift - poor attitude to guest safety & risk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Siam Triangle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Chiang Saen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A nice enough hotel, with pleasant and friendly staff, in a position overlooking the river.
I wrote this email to the hotel, which was unfortunately 'bounced':

Dear Sir/Madam,
My wife and I have just returned to the Siam Triangle Hotel after a very pleasant meal in the town. Unfortunately it was spoiled for us due to the difficulty finding safe transport back.
Because of the relatively remote location, past empty areas which have been described as "spooky" and "risky", we were initially reluctant to take a room, and were only convinced by the assurance of the receptionist that transport, both in and out of the town, when needed in the evening, would be provided on request.
The minibus driver brought us into the town, where we ate and had a beer. We had given him a much more than adequate tip to encourage his return when we called later for a lift back. So you can imagine our surprise and disappointment when, on calling the hotel reception, at the relatively early time of 8:01pm, to be told that the driver had finished an hour earlier and that we would have to find our own way back. Then we realized that the receptionist's remark, that we should have driven ourselves in and out, had been meant seriously. As I said at the time, I had no wish to break the law by drinking and driving - which was why we wanted a lift there and back.
After a fruitless search for a tuk-tuk or any other form of transport back to the hotel, in desperation my wife appealed to a bus that had just disgorged its last passengers of the evening and was about to head for home. The charming conductress heard our story and agreed with her driver to bring us to the hotel, remarking along the way how right we were to recognize the risk we would have been exposed to on foot, as we drove through the dark and deserted streets. My wife and I were so delighted to have got back safely in what was probably the biggest taxi in town of the night, and gave them THB200, which we hope cheered them up too.
As an HSEQ Engineer in the UK I am amazed and appalled at the reckless and inconsiderate attitude, of your hotel management and staff to the obvious risk we would have faced had we been forced to walk back to the hotel, and their lack of awarenes or training in such matters. We wouldn't have taken a room here without the specific assurance that suitable transport would be provided, and we were clearly mislead in this regard. It wasn't late when we requested the return lift, nor was it unexpected, as we had made our intentions clear, and your staff would have known that the number of taxis or tuk-tuks available was negligible. Our next stop, should we have been unable to find a suitable lift, as we luckily did, would have been to request a lift from the nearby police station who would have recognized the risks of walking back.
My wife and hope that your website will provide additional opportunity for feedback on this matter, as it is clear that there is little regard for the safety of your guests.
I look forward to your considered response and plan to remedy this most unsatisfactory situation.

Yours
etc

Room Tip: A river view, of course.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misterfloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Siam Triangle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights after travelling for two weeks in Laos. We arrived in Thailand at Chiang Kong border with Laos. We arranged with the hotel by email for them to send a car to pick us up from Chiang Kong and drive us to the hotel. The room was lovely and the views of the Mekong from our balcony and the restaurant were wonderful. The bath tub (and plenty of hot water) were really welcome after two days on a slow boat from Luang Prabang.

It is a nice hotel with a swimming pool. The staff are nice but we agree with the other reviewers that only the front office manager has fluent English. The staff are friendly and the reception staff helped us book a tour of The Golden Triangle which we enjoyed. The coffee at breakfast was really delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Mekong as watching the sunrise is out of this world. It is also a ver...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Beautiful modern hotel but unfortunately there appeared to be only one member of staff who spoke any English. Communication was so bad that some young Aussies staying there ordered club sandwiches for lunch and got spaghetti bolognese. There is nothing of Thailand about this place and the staff are all dressed in black suits (including the female staff). It would have been nice to see some culture and colour of the country we had chosen to visit!
The room was large and had a nice sized balcony so was very acceptable. We had a kettle in the room but nothing to make tea or coffee with (or cups and saucers) except a delivery of hot milk at 9pm each night! None of us staying there (only about 8 of us if you exclude a Thai Tour group for one day) got an explanation for this odd service. However it was only about an hour to the border with Laos and therefore was a good location for our trip from Huay Xai in Laos down to Luang Prabang.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Younger people than us might trek up to the three borders otherwise very little to see and not much in the way of places to eat.

Room Tip: Our balcony was advertised as 'mountain view' and although it was too misty to see much it w...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is a nice hotel with modern rooms, a pool and a location right on the river. It's about an hour north of Chiang Rai, but it's a great location to base yourself when visiting the Golden Triangle and Long Neck tribes, Opium Museum, etc. in that area.

Overall, the hotel was nice and the service from the front desk was extremely helpful. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms are nice, however, some negatives:

1. Service at the restaurant is extremely slow for dinner and many items on the menu weren't available.

2. The bathrooms for some bizarre reason were designed with see-through glass walls that don't shut tight, so whoever you're sharing the room with can basically see/hear you go to the bathroom, take a shower, etc. There's an opaque area in the middle of the glass, but it's just silly- it doesn't do anything for privacy. Not sure what the intention of this glass wall was, but it's definitely a negative even though we did laugh about it.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel and I strongly suggest this as an option when wanting to explore the northern tip of Thailand.

Room Tip: Request a river-facing room, if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelerInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I love the nice view when I sat at the balcony. I also love to sat in their open air restaurant ground floor, watching sun set while drinking a good wine. They also offer hot soy milk complimentary to our room around 8.00 pm. Service is good but the restaurant seems not ready for the guests. Breakfast is simple with ABF, coffee and tea taste bad.
I would like to visit this hotel again during winter in Dec or Jan with hope that they will have better breakfast and fresh brew coffee machine.
Room is modern and clean. We love rain shower in bathroom. Everything in the room is good except a lound noise air condition compresser at the balcony.

Room Tip: river view room is only recommended as the other side room is next to the road.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank jess5549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Saen hotels
10.3 km away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
4.4 km away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
9.5 km away
Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
#1 of 19 in Chiang Saen
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa
9.0 km away
Bansaeo Garden and Resort
Bansaeo Garden and Resort
#5 of 9 in Chiang Saen
1 reviews
11.7 km away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Triangle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Triangle Hotel

Address: 267 Moo 9 | T Wiang, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Saen
Price Range: ₹ 2,184 - ₹ 4,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siam Triangle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriously modern designed accommodations that will fulfill your every desire for pleasure of business stay. Located along the Mekong River, where you can witness a spectacular river view, tasteful decorated in each of our four unique styles to make your stay cosy and comfortable with Superior Room, Deluxe Room, Grand Deluxe Room and Executive Suite Room.With onsite services and facilities equipped with Spa, Fitness Center, Sauna, Swimming Pool and an Auditorium Room to host your grand events, or meetings, which can accommodate for up to 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Siam Triangle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam Triangle Hotel Chiang Rai Province/Chiang Saen, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing