We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bad Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apple Tree Resort & Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

The bad experience began at check-in. My girlfreind had reserved a standard room at 1,800 pesos weeks earlier. When we arrived the front desk asked me to pay for the 3 days in advance which I did by credit card but paused when I saw a total charge of 6,900. When I questioned it they explained that the only room available was a family room at 2,300. I explained that this was not what we reserved. They said there was a seminar going on and theseminar people took all the standard rooms. Obviously they did not honor their reservation. I accepted the room because we had checked out of our last hotel and had plans for a family outing the next day. When the family arrived we were told that both the indoor and outdoor restaurants were reserved and they would have to set up a table outside for us. Not the best experience.
The room was noisy but not because of the karaoke. The pool opens at 6am and there were kids in it at 6am screaming etc. Wi-Fi only available in the lobby and not in the room. Do yourself a favor and skip this place. Overpriced, dirty, noisy and not business like.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
34
29
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed there 5 days in July 2009. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and and the comfort relates to the price. The hotel was often full of seminar-groups, so the individual tourist sometimes felt a little lost....
The food i tried was poor both breakfast and lunch. There is a place near the beach where you can have lunch and breakfast outdoor. You are accompanied by a friendly safety guard, noise from seminar-microphones, some rats and hundreds of annoying blowflies, coming over from the dirty real estate beside.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cagayan de Oro hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

food here is good and the place is relatively clean. the location is by the beach which is good for beach hungry people like us and the place is a short ride from the city which is good becuase you do not need to endure the city noise at night when you are ready to sleep.

needs updating though and repainting. the beach needs regular cleaning as well.!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I have stayed here a few times and for the money its great. The food is good, the staff go out of thier way to be helpfull and make you feel at home. Yes it needs a bit of updating here and there but its very clean. A fridge in the room would help but, I love the place. I will keep on going back whenever I need to be in CDO. Locals in the pool having a great time? yes and its nice to see. Noisy at night? no just once in a while the karaoke way over the back can be heard if the wind is in your direction but its nothing compared to a Spanish disco below your room on the Costa del Sol.
Stay here, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersperfct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We had our lunch at the beachfront while the kids are having fun with in the pool.
The location was acceptable but hotel hospitality does not exist!!
It’s almost like find your own place to eat and hotel staffs were almost missing (oh they were watching TV while thier guest is looking for them).
The reception was dark it seems that they were saving electricity.
The food service was totally a mess, I was trying to convince my Italian guest to try our very own local food “kinilaw” and you know what the additional ingredient was? I’m not going to mention it but all I can say was no proper hygiene at all.
If you need a place to sleep then this is a valid place.
Whew!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macasandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagayan de Oro hotels
5.7 km away
N Hotel
N Hotel
#4 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
9.1 km away
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
Limketkai Luxe Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.7 km away
Country Village Hotel
Country Village Hotel
#26 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Seda Centrio
Seda Centrio
#1 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.8 km away
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
Red Planet Cagayan de Oro
#2 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
9.2 km away
Kingston Lodge
Kingston Lodge
#7 of 32 in Cagayan de Oro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Resort & Hotel

Property: Apple Tree Resort & Hotel
Address: Taboc, Opol Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao 735411, Philippines (Formerly Lauremar Beach Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Misamis Oriental Province > Cagayan de Oro
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Cagayan de Oro
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,878 - ₹ 5,081
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Tree Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Resort and Hotel is a perfect place to escape and restore oneself. And a mix business with leisure. Get away from a hectic day of business, shopping and entertainment in the city. It is along the sandy beach of Opol, Misamis Oriental. About 10 minutes away from bustling Cagayan de Oro City. Restaurant offers fresh grilled food, cool drinks of special concoction and innovative Filipino and Asian Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Tree Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Resort And Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel Cagayan De Oro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing