We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a year end party and a farewell to a good friend, family and colleague”
Review of Balay Dako

Balay Dako
Ranked #10 of 193 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It has always been a dream for the Team to have a year end party in Tagaytay, and finally at last we all had the best time ever at this dream place. We enjoyed good food good company and good music. We catched up, did a lot of chitchats, took a lot of photos and sang to our heart's content♥♥♥ it was a great year for everyone and it was the most unforgettable TA Year End Party

For more photos (coz they have MB limit here) and videos or questions follow and DM me in Instagram @christine.arisola, I make reviews for Cebu (my home town) and Bohol(captured my heart)

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank Christine_Arisola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my third visit and each time we left well-fed and satisfied. This time we had Classic Kare Kare, Sinigang na Gulay, Laing, Bistek Tagalog, Blackened Onions, Turin with Langka, and Coco Panocha with Bilo Bilo, Turon, and Kamoteng Kahoy. Of course, we bought Piaya. Each dish was delicious with flavors just right. I just noticed that some vegetables in the Kare Kare were still tough. The staff were excellent, very quick to respond and friendly too. They didn't have baby squid which we sorely missed but we look forward to having it on our next visit. Make sure to check out their opening hours and be there.early because there is usually a long line of people on the waitlist. There is no reservation, but first come first served basis only. The old world feel and the beautiful view of Taal complete the entire experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 500lij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We ordered for fresh spring rolls( lumpian sariwa ) for our appetizer. It is supposed to be served fresh, but ours had been previously frozen and served to us still half frozen making it solid. We asked the server if this is how they serve it since it says on the menu it should be fresh meaning freshly made served with hot/ warm sauce. He said they serve it like this. Their solution was not to replace it with a fresh dish, instead they put it in a microwave and ended up making the dish even worse. in the end it was inedible and we did not eat it. even so we were still charged full price.

We also ordered the house fried chicken, this chicken is not breaded and fried like regular chicken, it is instead covered in batter before its fried. If the menu had stated it was bettered chicken and not regular fried chicken we would not have ordered it. it is also represented on the menu as a main course dish, yet it is served as a sharing plate without any sides or fries at all.

Their fresh food is served frozen, their fried chicken is abnormal and their menu is misrepresenting of their food items. if you are going to serve fried chicken serve regular fried chicken or otherwise state on the menu it is abnormal and if you are going to freeze all your food then dont advertise your fresh dishes as fresh.

good location, nice staff, but hopeless food

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flyer365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

The restaurant has a great view but unfortunately, it was foggy when we went and did not enjoy the view. The food was great but a little expensive. The service was good, as well. I would still go back to this place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

Nice spacious venue with an interesting selection of food. We liked the location with its perfect view of lake Taal and a very pretty outside terrace! Very nice staff. Only down side was that we weren't all served at the same time and several people had to wait a long time for their meals. But we were given complementary desserts to make up for it. And the staff were lovely.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mllebarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balay Dako also viewed

Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Balay Dako? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing