We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagan Temples

Bagan Temples
Book In Advance
US$ 58.00*
and up
Private City Day Tour of Bagan
Ranked #1 of 86 things to do in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of 42 sq km houses thousands of richly decorated pagodas & temples.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

An amazing historical site which has to be seen to be believed. Jaw dropping - the serenity, calm and don't miss the sunset.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank siewmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,886
    452
    43
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

You need at least two days to see them. it is very impressive and worth a visit to the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PC_expat_in_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Temples of Bagan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

With so many temples spread over a wide area we were glad we opted for an air-conditioned taxi, driven by a typically friendly and helpful local suggested by our hotel. He guided us in visiting a variety of structures and locations from the 3000 temples along the banks of the Irrawaddy River. We also used a horse-drawn cart, but this would have been very slow and hot (37 degrees!) so we would not have seen nearly as much. About $US10 for 5 hours. Great value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zebrasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal NSW
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

One of the wonders of the world. Has to be seen to appreciate the magnitude.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank heat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The journey to ancient world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We arrived in the early morning by night bus from Yangon. While we ride horse-cart from bus terminal to our hotel, it seems bring us to another world. Everything soo peaceful.
We tried to use bicycle for the first day. It is really need your fully stamina. even the area mostly flat, but the atmosphere is really hot and sand road makes the cycling even more hard. After exhausted in the first day, we used horse-cart for the second day.
Try to read the history for each main temples that you visited. It is really amazing to see how they built pagoda without cement.
For the people who are sensitif to dusk, we suggest you to wear masker. To much dusk, especially while car or motorbike just pass you by.
Also don't you shoes, slippers is enough because you need to put off your footwear everytime you entry the pagoda.
Officially there is zone fee that you should pay. In some main pagoda's entrance, sometimes there will be guard who ask you for the ticket. But mostly we can entrance without pay anything. If you paid, keep the ticket carefully so you do not need to pay anymore for the next day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BwSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagan Temples also viewed

Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Bagan Temples? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing