We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Private 5-Day Kashmir Tour Package from Srinagar
1

Book in advance
from
$399.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Gulmarg Gondola
from $399.00
More Info
from $1,066.67
More Info
from $933.34
More Info
Reviews (3,195)
Filter reviews
3,195 results
Traveller rating
1,842
849
296
91
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,842
849
296
91
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car ticket counter per person buy tickets phase ii bad weather online booking in advance long queue the main attraction rope way till phase off season closed due enjoy snow phase ride snow bike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 3,195 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2022

I with my friends and family had taken Gondola ride on 14th June 2022. While the first phase ride was smooth but for the 2nd phase ride we had to wait for more than 3 hours. The que was more than 700 tourists, to our surprise the so called local guides rather goons were hand in glove with the operators and charging Rs. 500/- per person for obtaining the ride out of que. This was horrible because both children and elderly people had to stand in the que. The local guides were very abusive to the tourist who did not hire them. Same was the case in destination above. Its surprising that there is nobody from J & K Tourism office in these places to monitor or look into these issues.

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank RanjuDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 June 2022

our visit was on 2nd June. First and foremost buy online tickets at least 15days earlier.
during May- June absolutely no snow in Phase 1. You must buy tickets for both the phases. Unfortunately we did not get the phase2 ticket. we went to Phase1. still there was no snow and had to take pony ride for about half an hour ( cost 700) and you get to see a water fall beneath there is a snow slide. Again it is not all over the ground. Still ok as you can do skiing, sledge ride ( additional cost). Lot of tents with maggie, coffee, tea and some snacks. worth the visit. enjoyable. Please hire gum boots at the parking.area ( 150) . better to keep rain coats or waterproof jackets. Also hand gloves.

Since it is online. well managed. if you are early, you will pass through the que by 15 mins. do not take help from any middle man. even you can up to the ticket counter ( less than 1 Km)
people who do not have online tickets can still take a pony ride, which is a different route ( 2 hrs.you should negotiate for the ride for price. 2K is ideal).
Best time to see snow in Phase 1 would be March / April

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank BeenaDmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2022 via mobile

Beware of brokers. They promise tickets for two levels, take money and vanish.
Sledge and sking is a scam. Distance covered in very small. Even if u don't do later, they demand money.
Gandola queue is unruly and no order at all.

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank deepak2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2022 via mobile

We had booked 7 tickets for phase 1 & 2 for 11 th May 2022. Due to technical reasons the 2nd phase Gondola was closed, which we were informed after reaching phase 1 and after waiting in queue for almost 2 hours. We were informed that money which amounts to approx 5800 Rs will be auto credited. It's been almost one month now and it hasn't happened yet. Later we were informed that the Gondola phase 2 ride was closed for couple of days, despite that tourists were fooled at the base in buying boots and warm jackets. Kashmiris only think of looting the tourists. We had a very poor experience. I am raising a case against them in consumer forum for refund. If you too have faced same issue will urge to do the same.

Date of experience: May 2022
2  Thank ShivrajK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2022

Gondola ride is in two phases. Poor management of the queue, purposefully will spoil the fun of the ride. Initially though the police controls the entry, but once the first entry point is over, the guides sneek through , minting money (Rs 500 if you give to guide, he will see that your wait time in the queue is reduced to 1hr which else is 4hr)For a 9minute ride, waiting 4 hours and spending ~Rs800 is not worth at all. Instead if you want to cable car ride, here in Kerala at Jatayupara you can very well enjoy with out much trouble.

Date of experience: June 2022
1  Thank Ajithsarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews