We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Gulmarg Gondola
from $299.00
More Info
from $1,066.67
More Info
from $933.34
More Info
Reviews (3,167)
Filter reviews
3,167 results
Traveller rating
1,831
842
294
88
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,831
842
294
88
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car ticket counter per person buy tickets online booking bad weather in advance the main attraction long queue till phase closed due enjoy snow snow bike phase ride taxi stand horse ride gum boots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,173 - 1,178 of 3,167 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Gulmarg Gondola Stage - 2 is an awesome experience.. Points to be noted-
1. Book online tickets for both the Stages.
2. Book early morning slots to avoid traffic while travelling to Gulmarg and queues for the Gondola ride.
3. One can enjoy the walk up to the Gondola point from the parking area.. No need to hire horses or local cabs.
4. Unfortunately getting boarding passes at the Gondola station is a stupendous task.. The queue for issue of boarding passes and that for actual boarding are different and guides and tour operators make it more chaotic.. So we opted for a guide (Rz. 700/- all inclusive for both stages).He arranged for our boarding passes and accompanied us for both Stages..
5. After reaching Stage 1, we immediately opted for Stage 2 to avoid long queues..
6. We enjoyed the snow at Stage 2, we only hired Gumboots.. We went at different points on the sledge. This was the best part of the trip.
7. On our return we spent some time on Stage 1 but not much to see.
There is a good fast food center just near the Gondola station.
Gondola ride upto stage 2 is a must when one visits Kashmir

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Shreeti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

One must not miss the Gondola ride in Gulmarg. After purchasing the ticket (even a e-ticket) one need to get the boarding pass. One can board the Gondola only after getting the boarding pass. There will be queue for boarding pass and local agents will keep breaking the queue. It's good to be at Gondola early (say 9AM). Then you have better chance of cutting the queue.
We were here on 24-May-2016 and had done e-bookings. It took 30-45min to get the boarding pass. It was raining and there wasn't snow at Phase-I so we directly went to Phase-II. Phase-II had tons of snow and we were lucky to get snowfall almost for an hour.

Tips:
1) Do online bookings. When weather starts getting bad the ticket counter gets closed and boarding pass is issued to e-bookings. In worst case even e-booking will not get the boarding pass
2) You definitely need the rubber shoes and snow jackets. Better to get these things before boarding. They are available at Phase-II also but will be costlier.
3) At Phase-II there is room like structure below the Gondola boarding/landing point. If someone feels too cold or if it's raining then can take shelter there.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank JajaborRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We could travel only Phase I, the 2nd Phase was not operational due to fluctuating weather. Still, the activities even at that level were mind-boggling. Rode Snow-bike and at the highest point of the ride, experienced what "serene" means! An absolutely unforgettable experience!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank VinayJog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

While the first phase was ok, the second phase to aparwat was amazing..Be wary of touts who will try to fleece you when you reach the mountain top to do sledging and skiing..Don't pay anything more than 4k for all the stuff there

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Raj_Maverick1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

best gondola in the world, consists of two phases, highest point is at 14000ft, beware of touts and guides because you wont need them at the top, do bargain with horse keepers as they charge high rates at phase 1 for a horse riding trip.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank sunitajain007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews