We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suits are comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulmarg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Highlands Park
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suits are comfortable”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed in a Suit room as I went to meet some clients. rooms are clean, but no internet connection. meeting/living area is too small. But, huge bed.

Room Tip: not much difference in double room and Suits ... better take Suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    99
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
144
67
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Never knew that Indian film BOBBY song "Andar se koi bahar na aa sake" was shot in this hotel. Staff make you feel very comfortable and scenes from the hotel room are just amazing.

Good food. Best service and very cordial and friendly staff. Worth the stay.

Room Tip: This hotel makes u feel that you have come to Europe. Overall must stay for all tourist in GULMARG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The reason for our repeated trip to Gulmarg in winters is this hotel. Inspite of being an old property it still maintains its charm. The snow covered hotel in the peak of winters gives an awesome view of Gulmarg. Hotel staff ensures that enough comfort is provided to guests even in subzero temprature.

Room Tip: It is best to stay in the cottages . They are not the part of the main building .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajivGupta61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Highlands Park completes the trilogy of our Gulmarg hotel stay this year! The hotel is everything that one expects and more...its romantic, classy and luxurious (as per Gulmarg standards) Its not fair to expect a Taj Palace here - though the illustrious clientele list of prime ministers, indian and foreign dignitaries who have visited this place and continue visiting does make it special!

Rooms: The rooms are spacious, furniture dated yet very functional. The bukhari system of heating works beautifully and I was pleasantly surprised at how effective it is. In Gulmarg, where power is a problem, and most hotels are restricted by running generators, the bukhari continues to do its job and how! Brilliantly!! Most rooms have an outer sitting area (like a balcony) which opens onto the most amazing views of the sunshine peak and Mt. Aparhwat! There is a separate dressing area (with a valley view) and a simple yet lovely bathroom (again with a heater and a valley view)!!! Each bathroom has its own huge 70lt boiler which at most times is sufficient to take care of all your hot water needs through the day. The wooden paneling, the wall-to-wall red carpet along with the Kashmiri rugs thrown in give the room the most cozy feeling!! Lighting we felt was a little inadequate especially when the voltage was low. Thanks to the heater in the bathroom which works well during the crucial hours in the morning and in the evening, one can actually brush teeth without dancing and enjoy a warm bath and not shiver thereafter!!! Even though the furniture is dated, both the room and the bathroom are impeccably clean...its like your own home in the mountains...not meant to impress but to make you feel absolutely comfortable. Thanks to the ever burning bukhari + the electrical blankets + the heater in the bathroom, u may never have a cold moment!!!

Service: Outside each cottage, there were always 2-3 attendants present attending to the logs for the bukhari, and any and everything that u may need, whether for housekeeping or in-room dining. One could call room service too, though we rarely landed up calling on the phone. On the very first day I requested for my tea at 7 a.m. (specifying in which manner i wanted it prepared) and sure enough - for all the 6 days of my stay, my tea was waiting for me at 7 a.m.!!! Vow! That's what I call a pampered stay!! Notably, we never locked our rooms even once during our stay. Things would just happen like clockwork and I loved it that way!!! There is even an in-house massage man to provide massage services in the room (with mustard oil in front of the bukhari). My husband tried it out and quite enjoyed it!!! (sorry nothing for the girls here!)

Food: Excellent!!! The best that you would get in Gulmarg - the rishta (don't miss it), goshtaba, yakhni, rajma, chicken kashmiri pulao, chicken kanti....all yummy!!! The gravys are not too oily and well flavoured. The naan and tandoori rotis are to die for! Never had such soft and succulent naans ever! They have a daily a-la-carte for lunch and dinner in the dining room - which works well if u on a long stay. Their lounge is one of the most romantic lounge bars that I have come across. The fantastic view, the mild lighting, the sunk-in sit-out close to the bukhari, beautiful antique furniture and soft old Hindi music all sets the mood for a romantic evening - celebrated my birthday there, and it couldn't be more romantic!!!

Management: Extremely well managed - and apart from the beautiful setting, its the fine management of the hotel that sets it apart from the rest. Mr. Assadullah and his team are doing a brilliant job!!! The staff is well trained, polished and happy to help!

Undoubtedly Highlands Park is the best that Gulmarg has to offer...its in a class of its own!!! And I can assure you...once having stayed here no other hotel in Gulmarg will be good enough!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Highlands Park for a night while on holiday in Kashmir

As you would have read in many other reviews, this is possibly the only decent hotel in Gulmarg. In terms of rating, it would probably be at best a 2 star hotel

The location is very good and its a 20 minute walk to the gondola

The rooms are very very old style but clean. Heating comes from an old fashioned wood burning warmer that they keep topping up through out the day. That is why you are asked not to lock your room

The furnishing of the room is very very basic and there is a strong smell of burning wood all the time. There was an old double bed and a tired set of chairs. An old 14 inch cathode ray tv completes the picture. The cable box does give you all the key channels. Lighting during the night is very very dim

The room does get cold by very late night since the warmth of the heater does not last all night. They do provide electric blankets but you are guaranteed to wake up cold

The bathroom is a pleasant surprise. They are renovated and sparkling clean. But not heated

The restaurant is average and the food is fairly tasty

As someone else mentioned, if the staff get the sense you will tip well, they will fall all over you in their desire to please. Despite our fairly generous tips, when we were leaving, we still had some staff members asking for even more

In short, a very basic hotel that is clean, has decent service and is probably good for just a single night

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.6 km away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
862 reviews
0.5 km away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
653 reviews
1.5 km away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
142 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
230 reviews
0.7 km away
Pineview Hotel
Pineview Hotel
#15 of 17 in Gulmarg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Highlands Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Highlands Park

Property: Hotel Highlands Park
Address: Church Road, Gulmarg 193403, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,508 - ₹ 16,763
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Park is a boutique and heritage property located in the centre of Gulmarg, boasting some of the best views of the Apharwat range and easy access to the Gulmarg Gondola for skiing. The beginners slopes and golf course are right outside the door. Old world charm with modern facilities, the hotel has been extensively refurbished in 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Highlands Park Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing