We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
343
21
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
21
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding coffee plantation bubble bath cape dutch style elewana sky safari rose petals long life the main house spa offering night's dinner drawing room stunning property lovely patio dirt road coffee tour our waiter open fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We stayed at The Manor with our daughter and son in law for a night in late October, which is the beginning of the short rainy season in Africa. On our walk back from (a delicious) dinner in another building, the four of us were attacked by safari ants who apparently often move their nests at this time of year. We were not warned this could happen, the path was not well lit and we were not accompanied by a guard as in other African locations, so we did not see the ants until they were upon us. Safari ants have long pincers that dig into you so we ran back to our room and my daughter and I literally took off our clothes in the bathroom to escape them. We had trouble reaching management on their phone system (a problem) but they eventually sent two housekeepers who killed the ants with an aerosol spray that created flames. We changed rooms and they washed our clothes before we left but the flames also damaged my daughter's jeans. The hotels refused to compensate us for the jeans or reimburse us for part of the cost of our stay because they said it was a "natural occurence". Our NY travel agent rose to the occasion regarding reimbursement but I would NOT stay at this hotel anywhere near the rainy season and don't expect the higher levels (the housekeepers were lovely) to provide good (ie any) customer service if you do have an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Review came a bit late, but shows the power of this beautiful hotel. We spent an excellent 72 hours at this hotel in April 2016. Everything was top notch. Luxury at its finest! Without going into too much detail, extravagant!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HasneinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at The Manor at Ngorongoro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you so much for this glowing review!

We are thrilled you had a lovely time with us and more so, that you chose The Manor to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Perhaps the romantic gardens will be calling you again next year and this will be the start of a wonderful tradition in years to come. It was our absolute pleasure hosting you, and we do hope we get the opportunity to do so again.

Best Wishes,
Richard and the Team at The Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Our large group is well traveled but still was blown away by the beauty and luxury of the Manor. The gardens alone were amazing but then the rooms, the setting, the main house. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcarpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at The Manor at Ngorongoro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for your lovely review!

We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The Manor. Our team works hard to ensure every guest is able to unwind, indulge and enjoy our beautiful property. I will certainly pass along your very kind comments to them. We sincerely hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Richard and the team at The Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

When you are literally paying an arm and a leg it doesn't cost your staff to smile or at least pretend to smile . I realise we were there New Years and surely they were very busy, I don't care though when you're paying big bucks per night. Food was ok, premises are very nice and so is the location. Staff needs some training in being much more hospitable to

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at The Manor at Ngorongoro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Alexis,

I thank you for making the time to write about your experience at The Manor. I am very concerned that the staff did not provide the service that you can expect from us, and can fully understand that you find this unacceptable. As you know from your visits to the other Elewana Collection properties, this is not consistent with the high standards of service and excellence we strive to provide to our guests.

We take all feedback and complaints very seriously and rest assured, this is something we are working on to ensure it does not happen again.

I hope the rest of your Safari was enjoyable and wish you all the very best.

Kind Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This place was a real highlight of our truly wonderful trip with Hoopoe Safaris (the best!). Is outside the park, about an hour to the floor of crater. The setting was spectacular, rooms super deluxe. Designed after a south African wine vineyard. Grounds are really gorgeous. Staff really great. We were lucky to be there for New Years Eve and it was perfect. Food way above average. Lovely pool. They will even do your laundry! Expensive place but totally worth it if you want a splurge. Great place to go at end of safari, or as respite from your adventure. Don't start here, too nice a place, you won't want to leave.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews