We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
the best cia in Moshi

It's very difficult for me to do this review because it's a company that made my dream of climbing... read more

Reviewed today
fe_pena
,
Belo Horizonte, MG
Amazing! Kilimanjaro Lemosho route & Safari short&sweet tour

African scenic safaris is a GREAT choice to do your Kilimanjaro climb and/or your safari tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
X_Kalliopi
Read all 472 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moshi
from US$ 2,564.11
More Info
from US$ 105.00
More Info
from US$ 1,300.00
More Info
from US$ 2,250.00
More Info
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
452
18
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
18
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ngorongoro crater day safari animal behavior guide driver his knowledge spot animals tented camp amazing safari an amazing experience game drives highly recommend this company spotting animals kilimanjaro climb our honeymoon say goodbye kilimanjaro porters walking safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Wow!!! I can’t say enough great things about this company! Shelley was great to work with to help plan our entire trip start to finish! We exchanged multiple emails to get every detail perfect for our honeymoon! She had great recommendations and every things was beyond perfect!

Tom was our driver and I just can’t say enough great things about him! He understands English and American humor so joking with him was so much fun! He was amazing at pointing out alllll the animals and was so joyful the entire day!! He has the best personality and really made us feel so comfortable(my husband and I). We was great about listening to our wants and accommodating them! I loved that he came on our walking safari in the Tarangire National Park! It was nice to have him there while we walked with the ranger! We loved that he can with us on all our game drives as it made the day soooo enjoyable! Tom made the best commentary for our animals videos and one day he had me crying bc I was laughing sooooo hard!!! He was amazing!!!!

10/10 would recommend Shelley and Tom!!!! We can’t wait to come back!!!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank 121lindsayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Lindsay,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review of your safari and beach trip with African Scenic Safaris. It is our pleasure to put together the perfect trip for you so that every detail was suited to your needs and requirements. We believe this is very important in putting together itineraries and hope you enjoyed the accommodation and hotels that we offered.

Tom is a wonderful guide and so happy to hear that he was able to join you on your drives and walks and was able to enhance this experience with his lovely personality and humor. We really feel we have wonderful staff not only in their work ethic but their fun spirits and love for wildlife and nature.

He loves to make people laugh and this makes the whole safari so much fun

We hope to see you again in Tanzania and that you will remember us and your memories of your honey-moon

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

Wow! I can't say enough good things about African Scenic Safaris. Shelley arranged everything for us and was great to work with. She was exceptionally patient with us as we asked her question after question after question. She asked for our input and tailored our trip to be the exact experience we were looking for. There's nothing better than knowing you can trust your transfers are going to be waiting for you at the airport when you land at 10pm and have been traveling for the last 20 hours. Even better, Shelley was quick to respond to our message when we were mid-trip and a question came up.

That was just planning the logistics, so we can't forget about the execution of the plans...which is were our guide, Tom, comes in.

Tom is absolutely incredible. He was a blast to spend time with and went out of his way to ensure we got to see everything we wanted to see. It was particularly nice that Tom had a great understanding of American culture (and English), so we were able to laugh and joke about so many things.

The only thing better than Tom's personality is his endless knowledge about everything you may encounter on your safari. Questions about animals? He's got you covered. Plants? Yup. Maasai culture? Definitely.

He even quizzed us on our Swahili, so we could learn the names of all the animals and be able to interact with all the people we met.

And the only thing better than Tom's safari knowledge is his eyesight. It's inexplicable! I'd literally be looking through binoculars and would barely make out the things Tom would see and describe with his naked eyes. He's basically a super hero without a cape. It was truly impressive.

Lastly, Tom is just a genuine guy that's interested in learning as much as he teaches. We had many long drives and Tom made the time fly by as we shared stories about our respective families and countries and cultures. I feel like we learned so much and we even got to celebrate his birthday with him. It was so great.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank thechrishuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Chris,

It is such a pleasure to read your review of your safari and beach holiday organized by our team at African Scenic Safaris. We have amazing staff who are very passionate about providing the best service before and during the safaris.

We need to make sure all guests like yourself have all the information and knowledge you require so that the trip can be tailored to your needs.

Tom is an amazing guide and a very friendly, funny guy who is also an excellent guide with brilliant knowledge and a lovely sense of humor. He has a nature ability for finding the best spots to see the wildlife and also as you say being able to see them from afar.

He genuine cares about his guests and is willing to share his knowledge as well as being personable and learning things himself.

We are so thrilled you had such an amazing time and that you loved spending time with Tom

Many thanks and hope one day you will come back to Tanzania - maybe to do a Kilimanjaro Climb!!!

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020

My climb with African Scenic Safaris was impeccable and smooth. The guide and the crew were an amazing bunch of people and made the climb an amazing experience. The food was great and was as per my dietary restrictions, i.e. vegetarian. Overall, I would definitely prefer them over other agents as they bring the local knowledge and prioritize safety over anything else.

Date of experience: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank DT112020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear about your climb with African Scenic Safaris and that the team were able to provide and enhance the experience with wonderful food and of course we have no problem in accommodating any dietary needs.

We do have quality equipment and excellent staff as well as making sure the whole experience is safe and particularly care about our staff which is why we are part of the Porters assocaation as the is a tough job and it is important that they are well looked after.

We appreciate all your comments and hope you will come back to Tanzania in the future

Many thanks

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020

I started planning a Kili climb before even booking any actual flights or anything for Tanzania. I started communicating with African Scenic Safaris over email and they were super helpful and responsive. I was umm-ing and ahh-ing over so many different aspects of the climb; what date to go, which route to take, group or solo, how many days, etc. etc. However, they were so accommodating and answered every single question I had and gave me pros and cons of all my options. Once I reached Tanzania and met my guide, any worries I had disappeared. The meals I had on the Kili climb were amazing! I couldn’t believe I was receiving freshly made soup, freshly popped popcorn and meals such as spaghetti bolognaise up a mountain!! The head guide was more than supportive of me; answering all my questions along the way. The summit climb is TOUGH and there are a lot of elements that you don’t think about beforehand. Due to this I had so many emotions making me want to quit but my guide absolutely would not let me. He knew that physically I was able, it was completely mental, due to many conditions including altitude. He pushed me forward and in the end I completed the climb in five days rather than the pre-planned six! I absolutely could not have done it without Joel and the other porters. Can’t recommend them enough!!

Date of experience: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank BeckyW1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Becky,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your climb with the African Scenic Safaris mountain team.

We try to provide as much information and advice as possible before the climb for each guest and make sure you had the knowledge and suitable climb.

Congratulations on making it to the summit and doing it in less time than was planned. We are so happy to hear that Joel and the staff were so supportive and caring during this challenging climb.

The chefs are amazing and can make alot of different food on the mountain to get you eating well to boost your energy.

We very much appreciate your recommendation and that you had the most amazing time.

Hope you will visit us again in Tanzania

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020

If you are strapped for time this is the perfect way to see the best bits of Tanzania. The crew made our trip one I will never forget. Emmanuel was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable about the areas we visited. I also loved his respect for the wildlife, at no point did I feel like we were bothering the animals and they were completely unphased by our presence. At Tarangire we had a massive herd of elephants approaching us and in Serengeti we were able to sit with 2 magnificent lionesses and their cubs while they played until they passed out.
On this safari you will never go hungry if you have Omari as your chef. All our meals were made with love and there was always ALOT of food. I am not sure he actually slept because even on the early morning starts we were treated to a gourmet breakfast.
The campsites chosen were very clean and well maintained as was all the camping gear.
I give African Scenic Safaris an 11/10 ⭐️

Date of experience: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank nikkers762019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Nicole,

We would like to thank you fo your review of African Scenic Safaris and your safari with our team. We try to make sure we respect the wildlife while giving guests goof viewing options.

It is lovely that you came up and close with some of the BIG 5 animals and had such wonderful sightings

We believe we have an excellent team and it is lovely that you were so taken care of with Omari and Emmanuel and that you enjoyed the food and the campsites.

It is important even if guests are doing adventure camping that they are also given the best service and experience

Thank you for the 11 stars this means alot to us and we hope that one day you will return to Tanzania

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews