We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
the best cia in Moshi

It's very difficult for me to do this review because it's a company that made my dream of climbing... read more

Reviewed today
fe_pena
,
Belo Horizonte, MG
Amazing! Kilimanjaro Lemosho route & Safari short&sweet tour

African scenic safaris is a GREAT choice to do your Kilimanjaro climb and/or your safari tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
X_Kalliopi
Read all 472 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moshi
from US$ 2,564.11
More Info
from US$ 105.00
More Info
from US$ 1,300.00
More Info
from US$ 2,250.00
More Info
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
452
18
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
18
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ngorongoro crater day safari animal behavior guide driver his knowledge spot animals tented camp amazing safari an amazing experience game drives highly recommend this company spotting animals kilimanjaro climb our honeymoon say goodbye kilimanjaro porters walking safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020

A group and I recently spent seven days trekking the Rongai Route up Kilimanjaro with African Scenic Safari. It was incredible, Antipas and his team of AMAZING guides took such great care of us - they got to know us and adjusted to make us more comfortable and increase our chances of reaching the summit.

The food was incredible too, and the friendly face of Rafa woke us up each morning with a nice hot ginger tea to get ready for the day.

This experience was incredible and the team really went above and beyond. If you're considering trekking Kili, which I highly recommend too, please choose Africa Scenic! We started as strangers and ended as friends - all the best to the team :)

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank AlyssaM1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear about your Kilimanjaro climb with African Scenic. How amazing to hear that you had such a wonderful climb with the staff who took care of you

It is lovely to hear the climb exceeded your expectations in providing comfort and service and even the tea.

There are a wonderful group of staff and go out of their way to make sure each client feels supported

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and that you can come back again perhaps to do a safari or some other activities

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

Every expectation was far surpassed by our team of guides & staff. I cannot recommend African Scenic and team Antipas enough, if you want an incredible experience on Kilimanjaro-- and if you want to make it to the top.

1. We named ourselves "team turtle" because we were so slow. But slow and steady paid off; it's what our particular group needed as many came from sea level. Every day, other teams would scramble past us quickly, only to have us pass them 4 more times during the day, back and forth, watching them winded and exhausted, as we maintained our slow speed. Obviously this hike is long and tiring in general, but we never lost our breadth and we had strength all the way to the top. Our guides kept us together, organized, and consistent. Most other tours looked like a mess on the mountain, with guides completely separate from the group.

2. The food was incredible. We followed on-line recommendation and packed SO MANY SNACK... but honestly, we didn't need them all (obviously bring some). African Scenic feeds you 3 large meals a day and it's amazing. With the most delicious ginger tea every morning in your tent at wake up call.

3. It takes a team to get you up that mountain. Between gear and food, there were 27 team members for our group of 8-- we saw our entire team daily. If you don't see your entire team daily, you should be concerned. And African Scenics ENTIRE team is there for you. On our last couple days, porters would meet us up the hill, to help carry our gear the final stretch. It's definitely not expected, nor required, but in those moments, we truly cherished their entire team. Not just this, but warm smiles, grabbing chairs for us, and overall helpfulness. They have a tight-knit team; it's obvious from how they interact with Antipas, the head guide, as well as all the assistant guides. They all treated everyone on the team with respect, and they in return, the porters treated us with so much respect.

4. Whatever guides you choose, make sure they're a member of KPAP. African Scenic is, and it was obvious they cared about the mountain and their porters. And they're locally owned! I saw some of the other European based tours, that are far more expensive, and I was not at all impressed with them in action. So do your research on this piece carefully.

5. Our tents and camp gear were great quality. And all of our guides and porters were dressed well for the entire trek (we would see some other porters in sandals and/or even barefoot), with barely any clothes on. That's just not ok. A reputable tour provider will pay their staff well enough to dress properly for their work.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank KGG466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Dear Guest,

It is lovely to read this amazing review of your experience and Kilimanjaro climb with African Scenic Safaris and Antipas and his team. It is good to hear that you took the climb slowly and this paid off for you to be able to reach the top. Congratulations on this - what an achievement !!!

It is good to hear the whole narrative of your climb as well as your impressions of the team, how they behaved and cared for you. It is important that each team member is seen and is able to assist you when you are exhausted. As a company we do care about our staff and it is very important that the crew have the right equipment, that there are enough of them to even out the loads that they carry, they are paid properly and rewarded well for such a tough job. This is why we are a member of KPAP and thank you for pointing this out

We hope that you may come back to Tanzania again and do a safari next time

Thank you for your recommendation and this is very much appreciated

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020

We spent 4 days we’ll always remember in and around Ngorongoro Crater with our guide, Rasheed.

We couldn’t have asked for a better companion - Rasheed tailored the trip to our liking and used his in-depth knowledge of the wildlife and landscape to give us the best experience possible.

Even though some tracks were flooded and we saw other drivers get stuck in the mud, Rasheed never once did.

We saw other drivers scare off animals by driving too aggressively, while Rasheed understood how the animals behaved and positioned us in way that meant they came to us.

Can’t recommend enough!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank maxmsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your safari with African Scenic Safaris. It was a pleasure for us to be able to put together something that was perfect for you. The raining season came early and this as you saw created some challenges for everyone in the parks.

It is extremely important to us that we use the best guides who have years of experience in order to make the best decisions when the roads and conditions are very wet. Rasheed is one of these guides and we know how careful all our drivers are not only having amazing driving ability but also spotting wildlife and knowing and adapting to the animal behavior.

It is wonderful to hear of this lovely safari experience and hope in the future you will come back to Tanzania

Many thanks again

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

African Scenic Safaris were an absolute pleasure in terms of organizing our safari. Me and my wife went on a private 9 day , 8 night safari to Ngorongoro , Ndutu , Serengeti, Lake Manyara and Tarangire national park. Shelley was very patient and customized our trip to our requirements over many weeks including adding Ndutu and a 2 day stay at Osigilai Maasai lodge to our itinerary. She was able to add a 2 day stay at the TanzanianBushCamps in Ndutu while we stayed in public campsites through the rest of our trip.Our guide Grayson was incredibly knowledgeable and can sight an animal a million miles away! Charlie was a fabulous cook and overall we had an amazing safari. It couldn't have gone better. I highly recommend African Scenic Safaris for your safari in Tanzania.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank TkM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to read about your safaris with African Scenic Safaris and so lovely to hear about the different parks you visited.

We are able to provide both tented camps/lodges and camping together and this is a good way to get a diversity of accommodation and experience. Our office staff take pride in provided the best safaris based on your needs and preferences.

We have amazing guides and cooks and we are so happy to hear that both Grayson and Charles took such good care of you. We hope you also enjoyed the Maasai lodge in West Kilimanjaro which has such a wonderful location and staff.

Thank you again for your recommendation, we are so pleased your had such an wonderful tri.

Hope you will come back again to Tanzania

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

I could not possibly recommend African Scenic Safaris enough. From the first time we contacted them, they were attentive and thorough. We were a larger group that had people adding in and dropping out, and they handled that all with precision.

Come climb time, we arrived with a group of women of varying abilities. We couldn’t imagine having a better team of guides, camp staff and porters. Antipas (our head guide) was thorough, happy to adjust our climb to meet our needs and abilities, and always calm, cool and collected. We felt safe and cared for every step of the way. Our assistant guides; George, Emmanuel, and Joshua were fabulous and kept us safe, laughing, and motivated along the way.

Our camp staff could not have possibly been better. They managed to secure us the best spots in every camp, we were fed very well. Multiple course meals 3x a day...and the food was delicious! I have no idea how they managed to cook what they did up on the mountain, but it was always a welcome respite after our day’s trek. Our porters were friendly and always greeted us with huge smiles as we hobbled into camp. We couldn’t so much as drop a trekking pole without one of them rushing to pick it up for us.

Bottom line, we checked out a ton of providers, and landed on African Scenic, and we couldn’t be happier that we did. Do NOT waste your money on international companies. There’s no chance that you’d get better service than you can get with these guys.

To note, they are well-regarded members of KPAP, which means that they treat their porters well. They were all well equipped, and outfitted properly. You’ll see porters from other companies out on the trail who don’t adhere to these standards (we saw one porter in Uggs, and one with bare feet...BARE FEET!), so KPAP membership should be absolutely paramount in your decision.

Thank juliamA7772FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review of your Kilimanjaro climb with the team at African Scenic Safaris.It is wonderful that you felt so cared for and motivated by the team including the guides and the porters and you were well fed as well as getting the best camp positions.

It is great that you felt confident to trust a local operator like ourselves and you were provided with the best service and support during the climb. It is also important that we care for our guides and porters who do such an amazing job in difficult circumstances and this is why we think it is so important to show our gratitude to them by being part of the KPAP Porters Assistant project. As you saw not all companies adhere to this kind of care of their staff. Thank you for recognizing this.

We are so happy you had a wonderful climb and hopefully you will be back to Tanzania in the future

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews