We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
the best cia in Moshi

It's very difficult for me to do this review because it's a company that made my dream of climbing... read more

Reviewed today
fe_pena
,
Belo Horizonte, MG
Amazing! Kilimanjaro Lemosho route & Safari short&sweet tour

African scenic safaris is a GREAT choice to do your Kilimanjaro climb and/or your safari tour... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
X_Kalliopi
Read all 472 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moshi
from US$ 2,564.11
More Info
from US$ 105.00
More Info
from US$ 1,300.00
More Info
from US$ 2,250.00
More Info
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
452
18
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
18
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ngorongoro crater day safari animal behavior guide driver his knowledge spot animals tented camp amazing safari an amazing experience game drives highly recommend this company spotting animals kilimanjaro climb our honeymoon say goodbye kilimanjaro porters walking safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We chose African Scenic Safaris for our Kilimanjaro trekking in august 2019. Since the beginning of our email discussions, the office team has been very responsive and reassuring on every questions we might have. They hold a KPAP licensee, which means they ensure good salaries and well-being of their guides and porters. It is a key criteria when we see equipement of some other porters.
We had an epic arrival, with a delayed flight and a missing bag. They made every efforts to ease the situation and fix the problem, delivering the bag in the mountain in the middle of the week.
We have been impressed by the dedication of the operational team, led by George and Regan. They ensured the perfect conditions to succeed the summit: good food, enough water,  oximeter checks, very warm sleeping bags, private toilets. It is a very demanding trekking, which will change your life, we can only recommend AS Safari to make this dream come true ! NB: walking poles, camel bags, electrolyte tablets, merino layers are good help ;) Also don't hesitate to bring some equipment for the porters, eg old sunglasses.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear Alice,

It was a pleasure to read about your Kilimanjaro climb with African Scenic Safaris Team and we really appreciate your observations and comments. Taking care of our staff and porters is very important to us which is why we are members of the Kilimanjaro Porters Assistance Project.

It is wonderful the team were able to solve your lost baggage problem and that all aspects of your climb were organized for your comfort and safety.

Thank you for recommended some items to bring which is useful for others.

We are delighted to hear that your summited and had such an amazing experience -perhaps you will return again to Tanzania to do a safari

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

We had a great time on our Safari, Victor was a very safe and steady driver and could spot animals in any situation. Sudhi was a great chef, fun guy, and his Swahili beef was delicious. Tents and bedding were in good shape, the Land Cruiser was ok and didnt break down like many others we saw, but the radio and cooler never worked. The cooler especially was annoying because they brought us to a store to load it up and then nothing was ever cold.

They got us everywhere on time and we saw all of the big five, so no major complaints. The Masai village they brought us to seemed very exploitive and I hope they stop bringing people there. Same with the art shops outside Ngororgoro, we found way better and cheaper in other parts of TZ. All the transfers and meetups worked out well overall. I would recommend this outfitter, my wifes Kilimanjaro climb went great and she made the summit so was very happy.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank anonymousor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you writing your thoughts of your safari with African Scenic Safaris and we were interested to hear your comments. We would like to thank you for informing us about the radio and cooler and will definitely take this up with the driver as of course these things should be working and there is no excuse.

Very sorry to hear this. The Maasai village is very commercial and we often do not recommend such visits. This has only really happened in the last year.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and also the professional driving of the guide. We would like to thank you for your recommendation and congratulations to your wife for making it to the summit

We hope you will consider returning to Tanzania in the future

Kind regards

Simbo and African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

We organised a 5 day camping safari through African Scenic Safaris and it was just fantastic. Before the trip the communication was swift and useful in tailoring our trip to times and budget.

We were met by Moses our driver / guide and Goodluck our chef and the four of us drove through Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater for 5 days. The two of them made our trip so memorable; Moses’ expertise and incredible eyesight made sure we saw so many different animals. His friendly nature and good humour made every drive fun and we learnt so much from him. There were a couple of long days of driving down the dustiest of roads but the vehicle and Moses handled the roads like a pro and always made sure we were comfortable.

Going with the more budget option of public campsites meant we took a cook with us. Although the facilities at some of the campsites were pretty basic, Goodluck made dining spectacular and every meal was a three course meal presented on a beautifully laid table by Goodluck in his chefs hat and apron. His pride in his cooking made every meal special.

We couldn’t have asked asked for a more fantastic experience and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the company to anyone looking to organise their safari. Wish we could do it all again!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read your review of your camping safari with African Scenic Safaris and so lovely to hear you had such a wonderful time and Moses and Goodluck took such good care of you. It is truly amazing what the cooks can prepare and cook in the bush and so pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service.

We are also happy to hear that Moses navigated the roads professionally and was friendly and knowledgeable

I hope you will return to Tanzania in the future and thanks again for trusting the team here

Kind regards,

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019

We did a 10 days Safari plus 2 days in Zanzibar, and we had an incredible and amazing trip with African Scenic.

First Shelley was very helpful organizing our trip, adjusting it to our interests, and answering our questions.
Then during the Safari, Rasheed our guide was an excellent driver and a very knowledgeable guide, and Omar our cook was just the best, I could have not imagined how good the food was going to be. Both of them were great trip companions.

We loved the nature, the scenary, the wildlife throughout the journey. Places not as famous as Ngorongoro or Serengueti such as Lake Natron or Maasai lodge Osiligilai were a very nice surprise.
We did 4 days in public campsites, which were ok (of course it is the most basic option), and 5 in tented camps, which were just amazing.

Only thing to comment is that, although we were told in advance that we should tip our guide and cook and how much, we had to also tip other 4 local guides as well that we were not told about. We were only advised for Mt. Oldoinyo climb, which we did not do it, but not for Ngorongoro Rim walk, lake Eyasi hunting walk, Lake Natron waterfalls and Maasai morning walk.

Overall we would totally recommend African Scenic Safaris for anyone that wants to do Safari and more things on the side!!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear Rodriquez,

It was lovely to read your review on trip advisor and wonderful to hear about your safari with African Scenic Safaris. It was great you had such a good time with Rasheed and that you enjoyed Omar's food so much. We are happy you enjoyed the off the beaten track places and that everything was an adventure.

We thank you for highlighting the issue about trips. It is mentioned on the itinerary about tipping of walking rangers at Ngorongoro and at Lake Natron but this often gets missed and is totally at your discretion. We as a company need to to make sure that guests are aware that there could be extra for tipping of other guides and rangers

Thank you for the the recommendation and we hope you will return to Tanzania in the future

Kind regards

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

My boyfriend and I just returned from an unforgettable, six-day Kilimanjaro climb along the Lemosho route and we cannot speak highly enough of our guides (Antipass and Emmanuel), the cook, and the 10 porters who accompanied us along the way to our goal. Although we’re both young (in our early 30’s) and relatively experienced hikers, this was the most epic climb either of us had ever attempted and we were anxious in the days leading up to our departure.

From the moment we met Antipass, at our pre-climb briefing, we were relieved and knew immediately that we were in good hands. His professionalism, experience and calm demeanor were evident from the offset. He instilled us with confidence and the anxiety gave way to excitement.

Additionally, it was extremely important to us that the porters on our expedition were treated well (and frankly it should be to you as well). We chose African Scenic because they are one of the minority of companies that works with the Kilimanjaro Porters Assistance Project (KPAP) to ensure that porters are fed three meals a day, are not carrying duffels that exceed the weight limit regulations, and receive fair wages. These KPAP accredited companies are generally more costly, and they should be. This climb SHOULD be costly. The porters are lugging up your luggage, tent, sleeping bags, food, snacks and more up steep trails at incredible altitudes for days on end. At each lunch stop and campsite the porters set up a makeshift home for us, complete with a dining room tent where we enjoyed our delicious hot meals, coffee and ginger tea at a table with a tablecloth, a much-appreciated relief after hours of hiking.

Following days of hiking along beautiful trails and learning about the mountain’s flora, fauna and history from Antipass and Emmanuel, at long last, it was summit night. Due to the altitude, the cold, the dark and the unknown, the summit was the hardest physical feat either of us have ever accomplished in our lifetimes. But Antipass and Emmanuel wouldn’t let us give up. Before heading out they motivated us with reassuring reminders of their faith in us. On the way up they checked in regularly and Antipass transformed into the father figure I needed to reach my goal, trading gloves with me, zipping up my jacket, making sure I didn’t fall asleep at our various rest points, and requiring that I eat my snacks. Reaching the summit was one of the most rewarding, emotional, incredible moments in my life that words really cannot describe (go see for yourself!). I sobbed my eyes out. Despite the overwhelming sense of accomplishment, I did not do well with the altitude and was suffering pretty badly. On the way down both Antipass and Emmanuel literally held my hands, making sure I was safe. And together we finished the climb, exhausted but proud.

We recommend African Scenic Safari and their guides, cook and porters from the bottom of our hearts. Thank you, thank you, thank you, may we one day meet again!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank devonkwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenicsafaris66, Director of Sales at African Scenic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear Devon,

We are so thrilled to receive this review of your Kilimanjaro climb with Antipass and Emmanuel and their team of porters. Congratulations for making the top and achieving your goal. We are so pleased to hear that felt so well supported and cared for during your climb and all the assistance they provided. This is a difficult challenge but we know our professional team can help assist all clients to make it to the summit.

As part of the Kilimanjaro Porters Assistance Project & the International Mountain Explorers Connection, this means we are one of the leading companies in providing fair treatment and conditions for our porters. We pay them great salaries and ensure they have adequate clothing/sleeping conditions etc. In return, they love working for us and they are totally dedicated to providing you with a fantastic climb. It is lovely to hear you understood how tough this job is and how it is better to support and provide them with value and worth for such work.

Many thanks for recommending our company and we hope in the future you might consider coming back to Tanzania

Kind regards,

Simbo and the African Scenic Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews