We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$ 35
eDreamsUS$ 28
Agoda.comUS$ 35
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
107
34
8
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
34
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big kitchen tour company great stay stayed here for one night breakfast was delicious hot springs other travelers felt safe hot shower kilimanjaro trek day safari alfred hostels serengeti
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2020

Rafiki backpackers if perfect palace to stay,before and after climbing Kilimanjaro very clean, friendly stuff and good location with nice view of kilimanjaro at the roof top, it was my second time staying with them.

Room tip: privet rooms
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alinamL5808WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2019 via mobile

Very nice hostel. Well kept rooms and bathrooms. Beautiful communal space and big kitchen with a rooftop hangout spot with the perfect view of Mt Kilimanjaro. Very friendly staff who are warm and helpful ar fulfilling all needs. Breakfast is free- eggs, toast and coffee or tea. The reason Im giving 4 instead of 5 is for two reasons: 1. the hot water heaters are very small and are barely enough to handle one shower. this normally wouldn't be an issue for me except after climbing mt. kilimanjaro I was really looking forward to a hot shower. and 2. they advertise as having a restaurant but the only thing i was able to actually order were the chicken and fries and samosas which came out of the freezer. I came during a slow off-season week so perhaps they are more fully stocked and operational during the busy months. The hostel is a bit out of the way of downtown and off a main road so there aren't many nearby food options which is why I was disappointed with their "restaurant." These are all in all very small complaints compared to the bigger picture and I would still recommend this hostel to other travelers, just make sure you stop at the market on the way there

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Traveler_684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

A group of friends and I stayed here for one night after a one day Kilimanjaro hike. We then headed to the hot springs the next day. We got in late after dinner and were able to settle into the room. I have stayed in a variety of hostels and this one is on par with many you'd find in Europe. It was clean (although I always travel with my own sleeping bag liner sheet) and we absolutely felt safe. The next morning we headed upstairs to see what breakfast would look like and were pleasantly surprised to find that a lovely woman was there making eggs to order, toast, and fruit for each person. We were the only ones at that time and so we did not have to wait very long at all for our food. The breakfast was delicious! It completely exceeded expectations and we were only sad that we could not see Kilimanjaro from the roof because it was cloudy. Other than that the 5 of us had a great one night stay.

Room tip: We bought out a room for 6 people for the 5 of us so that we would not have one random stranger with us.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannahst3in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Rafiki backpackers if perfect palace to stay, very clean, friendly stuff and good location with nice view of kilimanjaro at the roof top, they also organise the tour, during my stay two years ago i got to know they had a tour company, beginning of this year i decided to book the Kilimanjaro trek for october. i will come back again

Room tip: stayed in privet room
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sbhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafikibackpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Thank you so much, we appreciate your kind words.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Asante sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

The stay was great. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was superb and having morning coffee with a clear view of Mt Kilimanjaro was a plus. If you're looking to find budget accommodation in Moshi, Rafiki is worth it and exceeds expectations

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nigell623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafikibackpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Thank you so much, we appreciate your kind words.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Asante sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews